SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8637 (Misses' Skirt And Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 774 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/10 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, what an amazing skirt! Your choice of fabric is perfect for the draping of the many interesting tucks and pleats. I think your change in the length makes it very flattering. Great work!
3/14/10 3:53 PM
Patti B said...
I love this skirt on you (and the Jalie top too). Nice to know how to select the size; you would have swum in the 'right' size.
3/14/10 6:17 PM
marthamyers said...
Great review. Thanks so much. It is so helpful to see a picture of the finished garment on you. I was intrigued by the design and your result has inspired me to actually make it. I do have a question though - why is yours ankle length? I do love it that length but I don't completely understand why yours was longer than shown in the pattern envelope. Do you think you would have liked it shorter also?
3/14/10 7:33 PM
DorothyK said...
Martha, actually my skirt is mid-calf length. It started out longer because I forgot to shorten the pattern before cutting the pieces. I ended up shortening it from the waist and also taking deep tucks at the hem, so now I'm happy with the length. I don't think I would like it shorter on me.
3/14/10 7:55 PM
MaryDB said...
You carry this skirt very well; nice work, lovely piece.
3/14/10 11:05 PM
fryman said...
A real nice job and it looks good on you but I can see from your photo that it would not look good on this body, regardless of how well I did my sewing. Good for you!
3/15/10 10:03 AM
dwindy said...
Thank you for the review. I have the pattern and was wondering what it looks like on a real person. Thanks also for the size and shortening tips.
3/15/10 11:07 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous, Dorothy! I was just contemplating making the pants from this pattern and was looking it up. Your skirt is so cute and looks great with that Jalie top. Even cuter than the pattern!
3/16/10 11:33 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review. I like this.
3/22/10 11:27 AM
Ann Smith said...
Such a great skirt. I love mine too. Oops, I think I forgot to review it.....
3/26/10 0:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Merckwaerdigh BHST2

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
McCall's 6273

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now