SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8637 (Misses' Skirt And Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/10 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said... (3/26/10 0:37 AM) Reply
Such a great skirt. I love mine too. Oops, I think I forgot to review it.....
bananaoil said... (3/22/10 11:27 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I like this.
sfshaza said... (3/16/10 11:33 AM) Reply
Gorgeous, Dorothy! I was just contemplating making the pants from this pattern and was looking it up. Your skirt is so cute and looks great with that Jalie top. Even cuter than the pattern!
dwindy said... (3/15/10 11:07 AM) Reply
Thank you for the review. I have the pattern and was wondering what it looks like on a real person. Thanks also for the size and shortening tips.
fryman said... (3/15/10 10:03 AM) Reply
A real nice job and it looks good on you but I can see from your photo that it would not look good on this body, regardless of how well I did my sewing. Good for you!
MaryDB said... (3/14/10 11:05 PM) Reply
You carry this skirt very well; nice work, lovely piece.
DorothyK said... (3/14/10 7:55 PM) Reply
Martha, actually my skirt is mid-calf length. It started out longer because I forgot to shorten the pattern before cutting the pieces. I ended up shortening it from the waist and also taking deep tucks at the hem, so now I'm happy with the length. I don't think I would like it shorter on me.
marthamyers said... (3/14/10 7:33 PM) Reply
Great review. Thanks so much. It is so helpful to see a picture of the finished garment on you. I was intrigued by the design and your result has inspired me to actually make it. I do have a question though - why is yours ankle length? I do love it that length but I don't completely understand why yours was longer than shown in the pattern envelope. Do you think you would have liked it shorter also?
Patti B said... (3/14/10 6:17 PM) Reply
I love this skirt on you (and the Jalie top too). Nice to know how to select the size; you would have swum in the 'right' size.
Barbara V said... (3/14/10 3:53 PM) Reply
Dorothy, what an amazing skirt! Your choice of fabric is perfect for the draping of the many interesting tucks and pleats. I think your change in the length makes it very flattering. Great work!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Pattern Details
Butterick 5932

photo
by: AmberSage

Review