Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8637 (Misses' Skirt And Pants) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 767 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR
About DorothyKstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/10 2:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, what an amazing skirt! Your choice of fabric is perfect for the draping of the many interesting tucks and pleats. I think your change in the length makes it very flattering. Great work!
3/14/10 3:53 PM
Patti B said...
I love this skirt on you (and the Jalie top too). Nice to know how to select the size; you would have swum in the 'right' size.
3/14/10 6:17 PM
marthamyers said...
Great review. Thanks so much. It is so helpful to see a picture of the finished garment on you. I was intrigued by the design and your result has inspired me to actually make it. I do have a question though - why is yours ankle length? I do love it that length but I don't completely understand why yours was longer than shown in the pattern envelope. Do you think you would have liked it shorter also?
3/14/10 7:33 PM
DorothyK said...
Martha, actually my skirt is mid-calf length. It started out longer because I forgot to shorten the pattern before cutting the pieces. I ended up shortening it from the waist and also taking deep tucks at the hem, so now I'm happy with the length. I don't think I would like it shorter on me.
3/14/10 7:55 PM
MaryDB said...
You carry this skirt very well; nice work, lovely piece.
3/14/10 11:05 PM
fryman said...
A real nice job and it looks good on you but I can see from your photo that it would not look good on this body, regardless of how well I did my sewing. Good for you!
3/15/10 10:03 AM
dwindy said...
Thank you for the review. I have the pattern and was wondering what it looks like on a real person. Thanks also for the size and shortening tips.
3/15/10 11:07 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous, Dorothy! I was just contemplating making the pants from this pattern and was looking it up. Your skirt is so cute and looks great with that Jalie top. Even cuter than the pattern!
3/16/10 11:33 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review. I like this.
3/22/10 11:27 AM
Ann Smith said...
Such a great skirt. I love mine too. Oops, I think I forgot to review it.....
3/26/10 0:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3253
photo
Review by Reedy on 3/24/05
Read Review

McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6935 Pattern
Burda 6935 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8202
photo
Review by lilhoney57 on 1/13/06
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us