SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8598 (MISSES' SHIRT)

6 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:kidmd
photo

 
 
About kidmdstarstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 276
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/10 8:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Your shirt is really pretty~I read your blog, and saw the pictures. My first thought on the fit is that you definitely need to go down at least one size! It fits well in the back overall, but there is way too much fabric in the upper chest area (as you noted). I always have to go way down in size to fit the neck/upper chest too. Then I do a massive FBA, LOL! I hope you give it another try-it'd make a great TNT. Even with the fitting woes, it still is really cute.
3/15/10 9:28 AM
Beek said...
Great shirt. In my experience, I always size up 4 sizes from my RTW size. For example, I buy a size 8 off the rack at Neimann's so I sew a size 12 in Vogue, McCalls, Butterick, etc.
3/15/10 10:17 AM
Christas said...
Was your high bust a 12? From the pics you do look like you need to go down a size and then do an FBA. This blouse has such cute style details. You can tell that you have sewn it so nicely.
3/15/10 11:41 AM
janet said...
You do beautiful work and look lovely in your blouse.
3/20/10 6:24 PM
Finicky Petite said...
Very cute blouse! I love the sleeves, but I can see what you mean about the fitting. I don't understand sizes at all, because according to the size chart, I should be cutting one or two sizes larger than what actually works for me. One quick question about the sleeves... the two photos that are provided at the Vogue website http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v8598-products-10474.php?page_id=259 make the sleeves look like they impede arm movement. Neither of the models looks like she could raise her arm any higher than it is in the picture. Do you have that experience with your blouse?
11/5/10 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-10

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now