SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5885 

2 more reviews
Viewed 361 times 
Reviewed by:Longarm
photo

 
 
About Longarm
USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/10 1:09 PM
Last Updated:3/17/10 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
db1 said...
I agree with the other commenters -- I think the top came out great in terms of color, print and drape. And it suits you!
4/7/10 0:09 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
That is you and you look adorable in it! Keep it, I'd say, too.
3/18/10 6:56 PM
sewnsew43 said...
I think this top is great on you. My first reaction was how cute it is and the print is not really bold. The soft fabric makes it drape nicely. Keep it!!!!
3/18/10 4:26 PM
petro said...
I also like this top on you in this fabric, its very pretty. I think the fabric adds interest, and no way does it come across as too bold.
3/18/10 3:34 PM
mpbh said...
I am shocked that you are unhappy with this top. When I looked at your photo, I was so impressed with your fabric choice. I think you look FABULOUS. It is perfect for you!
3/17/10 9:12 PM
newmama said...
My first thought when I saw the picture larger was "What a cute top!". I love the ruffles and the shape of the sleeves and neckline, and the cuffs on the sleeve. So I was really surprised when I started to read your review and found out it didn't work for you! I really like it. I am not very daring in my clothing choices, and I thought the print was just the right amount of interest. The only reason I wouldn't copy your fabric is because I can't pull off brown :) I'd take it in blues or pinks though! I'm actually adding this pattern to my wishlist right now...
3/17/10 9:02 PM
wendlesue said...
So cute - especially the fabric! Much better than the boring white on the pattern envelope!
3/15/10 10:59 PM
Historylover said...
I don't think the polka-dot fabric is too bold for you or this top. If you had orange and lime green polka dots on a purple background--now that WOULD be bold! It also appears that this fabric has a really nice drape. I think it's a keeper!
3/15/10 8:38 PM
Longarm said...
Amazed at the positive comments! Well, I have not thrown it away yet. Maybe I am going through a low self-opinion week? Another thing is that I seldom wear prints and this bold print is just pretty shocking to my system. Your feedback puts a smile on my face.
3/15/10 8:18 PM
Christas said...
Poor choice of fabric?! I LOVE the fabric! I clicked on your photo in the gallery because the fabric looked so cute sewn in your pattern. I think you have made a REALLY cute top! I would TOTALLY copy it: fabric and pattern!
3/15/10 5:19 PM
Historylover said...
For what it's worth, I really like this top on you. It's very feminine. The neckline is just right and the three-quarter sleeves balance everything very nicely.
3/15/10 3:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-15

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info