SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 955 times 
Reviewed by:EleriFloats
photo

 
 
About EleriFloatsstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/3/10
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/10 2:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pixie Helen said...
it's gorgeous you did a great job!
3/15/10 2:19 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
You are just a vision of springtime! Love the dress!
3/15/10 2:31 PM
Lori V said...
Great dress.
3/15/10 2:40 PM
mollyshark said...
You're a natural. Sounds like you did an underlining which is a great way to do a dress like this.
3/15/10 3:01 PM
LynnG said...
Very becoming. You did a great job. Congratulations on figuring out your alterations. You'll be a pro in no time.
3/15/10 3:23 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good job and a really cute dress.
3/15/10 3:35 PM
kes said...
Super cute!! I have been debating whether or not to buy this pattern, and your post convinced me! I really like the addition you did of tucks at your waist. I find dresses like this look like a sack on me, but I'm going to try your tuck idea!Thanks for the review!
3/15/10 3:58 PM
Christas said...
No one would ever think this was your second thing sewn. You have done a beautiful job on this. It is obvious you have natural talent. Fantastic job!
3/15/10 5:14 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That came out great!
3/15/10 5:47 PM
French.Seam said...
Great dress. Knits are easy, and the fit is more forgiving (not that you need that). You'll do fine
3/15/10 5:52 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress, you did a great job of altering this to get the look and fit that you wanted.
3/15/10 6:00 PM
newmama said...
What a flattering fit! You did a great job, and I like the idea of adding shape to your hips with the pockets. If only subtracting from my hips was that easy!
3/15/10 6:46 PM
xenaprincesslawyer said...
Great dress, great first review, and smart alterations -- every D cup learns that lesson the hard way at least once!
3/15/10 6:46 PM
valerie sews said...
Great dress and I love the material. You did a great job of altering it to suit your body. I agree - you are a natural.
3/15/10 6:47 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely wonder construction and beautuful dress. Does not look like a beginner made this dress.
3/15/10 6:55 PM
persevering said...
I am so impressed! Your dress is adorable (and practical). And you are so ingenious to get it to look this good!
3/15/10 8:15 PM
Lili123 said...
your dress is so nice and trendy, i love everything about it, it fits you perfectly.
3/15/10 8:17 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice dress! Great job - you look like a model!
3/15/10 8:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
it looks like a sack on the envelope but you look amazing!!!
3/16/10 2:36 AM
kerrynw said...
Super cute dress! For the second item you have sewn you have done a fantastic job!
3/16/10 4:18 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful dress and awesome fabric!
3/16/10 4:43 AM
AuntieShel said...
Are you sure this is only the second item you've made? It is awe inspiring. Of course, the cute model helps :) !!! This pattern just move up to the top of my pile.
3/16/10 8:27 AM
becca a said...
Great looking dress! You did a great job on your alterations.
3/16/10 10:50 AM
EleriFloats said...
It's been thanks to your wonderfully supportive sewing community here on pattern review that I got the confidence to start sewing! Let's hope the next dress turns out this well. Cheers!
3/16/10 11:35 AM
jso4fun said...
Wow! You did a great job! I am a D cup, too, and I would never have chosen this pattern, for fear of the tent look, but you really saved it and made it a wonderful fit. Plus I love the pockets, and how you re-arranged them so artfully. Well done!
3/16/10 10:31 PM
jso4fun said...
Wow! You did a great job! I am a D cup, too, and I would never have chosen this pattern, for fear of the tent look, but you really saved it and made it a wonderful fit. Plus I love the pockets, and how you re-arranged them so artfully. Well done!
3/16/10 10:42 PM
janet said...
Incredible fit--you look wonderful in your very sophisticated dress!
3/20/10 6:30 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
I love the print you chose! Excellent job on tweaking the fit. I absolutely love how you placed the pockets, and as a fellow straight-hip gal, I plan on doing the same thing when I sew this pattern. Thanks for the great review!
9/9/10 11:48 AM
VioletRuby said...
Fantastic! I am starting to work on this pattern this week and hope it looks as beautiful as your dress.
10/16/11 7:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8659

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now