Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4139 (Glinda-Wizard of Oz Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 247 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:SewPoco
photo
About SewPocostar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/11/10
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/10 11:31 PM
Last Updated:3/29/10 12:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSho said...
Amazing dress!! She looks a dream! My DD's Bday is coming up so I've been looking at these types of pattern, gr8 review thanks!
3/18/10 11:47 PM
paulakiss said...
What a beautiful job you did! Her costume looks amazing! I love the handsewn details. So pretty.
3/19/10 2:10 AM
arianamaniacs said...
wow, your daughter is very lucky!
3/19/10 4:19 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The most beautiful children's costume I've ever seen (and I made them). Maybe you should be working for Simplicity! Your good little witch is just beautiful. She will be the envy of all her friends and I'll bet all the mothers will want you to make one for their kids. Too bad!
3/19/10 4:54 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Amazing! Your attention to detail was right on the mark! Wonderful review. Beautiful little girl.
3/19/10 6:27 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your costume is so pretty! You did an awesome job!
3/19/10 8:39 AM
pterion said...
Your little Glinda looks PERFECT! Great work, nice review, and the pattern looks like a winner.
3/19/10 11:42 AM
Mirakel said...
Wow, amazing! I like the changes that you made and your daughter looks adorable! Great job!!
3/19/10 12:02 PM
fourkid said...
This is soooo cute - it looks amazing. Congratulations on your first review!
3/19/10 12:52 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful job and beautiful daughter. The dress and crown are amazing!!!
3/19/10 4:17 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
3/22/10 9:44 AM
Izzie said...
Fantastic dress! You did a wonderful job on this and all your changes really make it special. What a lucky daughter!
3/29/10 12:58 PM
melaniejade31 said...
how cute!!!!!
3/29/10 9:34 PM
reaton said...
Your dress is amazing. I love love love it! You have inspired me to create one for next halloween.
4/3/10 10:40 AM
oldcarz said...
I am working on this pattern currently and am having trouble finding materials for the crown. It calls for acetate? You said you used plastic sheeting with organza overlay? What thickness sheeting and where did you buy it from? Also, how did you attach the organza? Glue? Thanks!
10/5/11 4:48 PM
dorothyn said...
I just stumbled on this. I LOVE the Wizard of Oz. What a lucky, lucky little girl to have such a magnificent Halloween costume. Beautiful job!
10/25/11 6:19 AM
heemee said...
I made this costume for my step-daughter and yours looks much nicer. I had a day or so to make mine, (that's what happens when you put things off). I know what you mean about the crown. The four prongs bugged me too, even though I forced myself to do it that way.
3/6/12 8:45 AM
highCsoprano said...
Great job! I made the dress myself before looking it up here, and I made some of the same changes you did--esp. the crown with 5 points. I made my crown out of stencil blanks (3-pack from JoAnn, pieced together with double-sided tape), decorated it with glitter-glue rays, assorted rhinestones, sequin trim, and a sponge-painted layer of iridescent crystal-glitter paint. I love your idea of stuffing the sleeve puffs and wish I'd thought of it! I also ditched the appliques from the pattern--too big and ugly. I did glitter-glue stars all over the tulle instead. Wish I'd gone ahead with extra tulle, as I'd toyed with way back when we first considered the costume, but I forgot by the time I bought fabric. Looks fabulous with the extra! By the way, the pattern sizing works well for northern Halloweens--my daughter was able to wear a sweater, my old wedding crinoline hiked up to her armpits, and a long-sleeved pink tee under the dress. For once she was warm enough without a coat!
10/31/13 10:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Self Drafted Pattern 33015-1000
photo
Review by FrenchColl... on 5/1/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2460
photo
Review by shannonsew... on 2/5/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3728 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3728 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Paris Jacket Pattern
Loes Hinse Paris Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us