Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2009-118 (Flounce Front Blouse w/Sleeves) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 386 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/10 10:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Thanks so much for doing such a thorough job of reviewing this. I have been eying this pattern for some time. I do think that your blouse looks very pretty on you. I will have to check back on this review when I finally get around to making mine.
3/19/10 10:37 AM
katlew03 said...
Thanks for all the details. Beautiful blouse.
3/19/10 10:50 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great job on sleeves, I will definitely consider that when I get around making this, thanks a lot!
3/19/10 11:37 AM
crazygrad said...
Cute blouse. I bet it would look good without the sleeves. And I love your printed skirt.
3/19/10 11:40 AM
Gecko said...
Great review- thanks for all the good info! I like the idea of using the decorative button on the outside. Looks great!
3/19/10 2:56 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it's lovely (although more successful tucked in than untucked) and not too baggy at all. Do it again sleeveless for summer in a lovely print.
3/19/10 4:59 PM
Mufffet said...
Very pretty.
3/19/10 5:37 PM
Berniejh said...
I think it's the dropped shoulders, they don't really give your sholders any shape. When you compare (even they are two totally different garment styles) how this one looks to the Shirtdress you just made the definition of the shoulder on the dress looks much better on you.
3/19/10 11:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a most helpful review.
3/21/10 8:21 AM
Robin Denning said...
very pretty blouse.
3/21/10 8:25 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I'm with Berniejh on this one. I too am drawn to the flounce, not the rest of the garment. How about grafting the ruffle onto a blouse with armholes in the normal position. I'm unsure about what to do with the billowyness of the top...
3/22/10 8:40 PM
Petite Josette said...
I just posted a review for this pattern. Thanks for your review. I thought the flounce problems I was having (namely, it laying way too flat) was because of my fabric choice, but from what you're saying you had the same problam with silk. I also ended up adding a pleat at the top to give it more shape...
12/20/10 3:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6559
photo
Review by lizzieblat... on 1/22/14
Read Review

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2408 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by javamommyo... on 6/8/10
Read Review

New Look 6144 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6144 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1298 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1298 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us