SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-118 (Flounce Front Blouse w/Sleeves)

2 more reviews
Viewed 388 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/10 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Petite Josette said...
I just posted a review for this pattern. Thanks for your review. I thought the flounce problems I was having (namely, it laying way too flat) was because of my fabric choice, but from what you're saying you had the same problam with silk. I also ended up adding a pleat at the top to give it more shape...
12/20/10 3:41 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I'm with Berniejh on this one. I too am drawn to the flounce, not the rest of the garment. How about grafting the ruffle onto a blouse with armholes in the normal position. I'm unsure about what to do with the billowyness of the top...
3/22/10 8:40 PM
Robin Denning said...
very pretty blouse.
3/21/10 8:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
As always a most helpful review.
3/21/10 8:21 AM
Berniejh said...
I think it's the dropped shoulders, they don't really give your sholders any shape. When you compare (even they are two totally different garment styles) how this one looks to the Shirtdress you just made the definition of the shoulder on the dress looks much better on you.
3/19/10 11:11 PM
Mufffet said...
Very pretty.
3/19/10 5:37 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it's lovely (although more successful tucked in than untucked) and not too baggy at all. Do it again sleeveless for summer in a lovely print.
3/19/10 4:59 PM
Gecko said...
Great review- thanks for all the good info! I like the idea of using the decorative button on the outside. Looks great!
3/19/10 2:56 PM
crazygrad said...
Cute blouse. I bet it would look good without the sleeves. And I love your printed skirt.
3/19/10 11:40 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great job on sleeves, I will definitely consider that when I get around making this, thanks a lot!
3/19/10 11:37 AM
katlew03 said...
Thanks for all the details. Beautiful blouse.
3/19/10 10:50 AM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for doing such a thorough job of reviewing this. I have been eying this pattern for some time. I do think that your blouse looks very pretty on you. I will have to check back on this review when I finally get around to making mine.
3/19/10 10:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now