SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6198 (Making History)

Viewed 1395 times 
Reviewed by:yarnivore
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About yarnivorestar
CA United States
Member since: 11/23/03
Reviews: 4 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/04 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/28/04 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTabby said... (3/29/04 12:00 PM) Reply
Very nice, Yarnivore! I don't know how you put in your grommets, but after much trial and error I found that the best way for me is to use an x-acto knife with a brand new blade to make small X cuts where you want the grommets to go. The blade will slice through multiple layers of fabric, interfacing, and lining, and you have a perfect opening to insert the grommet. Again, really nice job-corsets are challenging!
Ann C said... (3/29/04 8:46 AM) Reply
Looks very nice. I remember putting a blouse and skirt like this together for a medeival costume I did a few years ago. (Luckily for me, the corset part wasn't requested.) Anyway, yarnivore, you're right about the seemingly ridiculous amounts of fabric.
Karen Bowers said... (3/29/04 8:22 AM) Reply
wow! what a great outfit! the style is very flattering on you. good for you to persist and overcome a difficult pattern.
SewingSusan said... (3/29/04 6:00 AM) Reply
Your outfit looks wonderful. I have this pattern and would love to make it for ren faire this summer. Thanks for this helpful review!
Tini said... (3/29/04 1:09 AM) Reply
You look faboulus! I made a similar Simplicity pattern once, but without knowing that the seamallowance is included in american patterns, it came out waaaay to big. I really love your costume!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-121

photo
by: HawkeMorni...

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Pattern Details