SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6198 (Making History)

Viewed 1385 times 
Reviewed by:yarnivore
photo

 
 
About yarnivorestar
NY USA
Member since: 11/23/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/04 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/28/04 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tini said...
You look faboulus! I made a similar Simplicity pattern once, but without knowing that the seamallowance is included in american patterns, it came out waaaay to big. I really love your costume!
3/29/04 1:09 AM
SewingSusan said...
Your outfit looks wonderful. I have this pattern and would love to make it for ren faire this summer. Thanks for this helpful review!
3/29/04 6:00 AM
Karen Bowers said...
wow! what a great outfit! the style is very flattering on you. good for you to persist and overcome a difficult pattern.
3/29/04 8:22 AM
Ann C said...
Looks very nice. I remember putting a blouse and skirt like this together for a medeival costume I did a few years ago. (Luckily for me, the corset part wasn't requested.) Anyway, yarnivore, you're right about the seemingly ridiculous amounts of fabric.
3/29/04 8:46 AM
SewTabby said...
Very nice, Yarnivore! I don't know how you put in your grommets, but after much trial and error I found that the best way for me is to use an x-acto knife with a brand new blade to make small X cuts where you want the grommets to go. The blade will slice through multiple layers of fabric, interfacing, and lining, and you have a perfect opening to insert the grommet. Again, really nice job-corsets are challenging!
3/29/04 12:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now