Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3738 (Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 751 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/10 9:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Ahhhh! It is just BEOOOOOOOOOTIFULLLLLLL! The color is gorgeous, and those buttons are PERFECTIMUNGO! Of course, Anna Ruth LOVES it; she would be CRAZY if she didn't! I love your reviews so much. I am so glad you are able to fit some sewing in these days.
3/19/10 10:06 PM
Terri A said...
Wow great job! I always wondered about Dharma Trading for silks - thanks!
3/19/10 10:17 PM
Elona said...
You are a saint to sew things like this for your Aunt Ruth, but my gosh, this is a lovely piece! It is so much more charming than the pattern photo would illustrate. Really delightful!
3/19/10 10:58 PM
sewing for fun said...
Okay, my adjectives are woefully insufficient! I love the jacket, the color and the buttons. Excellent workmanship and wonderful detailed review!!
3/19/10 11:18 PM
MaryDB said...
Wonderful jacket, great review! Thanks so much for calling my attention to this pattern.
3/19/10 11:29 PM
Dynamo said...
Lovely jacket! Such a gorgeous colour. I'm sure your Aunt must be thrilled to receive such a wonderful gift.
3/19/10 11:39 PM
Patti B said...
This is just a beautiful jacket and what a great niece you are to make it for your aunt. Love your attitude too! BTW, I just reviewed Roberta Carr's book -- we must be channeling her!
3/20/10 0:20 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful jacket and gorgeous fabric choice!
3/20/10 0:26 AM
Athene said...
This is a gorgeous jacket and the buttons are so fabulous. Aunt Anna Ruth sure is one lucky lady to have you sewing for her.
3/20/10 0:53 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Lucky Aunt to receive such a beautiful jacket!! I love that gorgeous shade of blue.
3/20/10 1:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
Absolutely gorgeous, and a superb piece of work.
3/20/10 1:39 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Hey Annette, I haven't shouted out to you for a long while. This looks great. I love all your Anna Ruth projects - she's a hoot and a half - or maybe even three quarters? Thanks for yet another terrific review.
3/20/10 5:10 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Duplicate due to our downsizing of broadband.
3/20/10 5:21 AM
tess said...
I don't blame her for liking it it looks absolutely beautiful! Thank you for such an in depth review, really helpful!
3/20/10 5:39 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely gorgeous and a wonderful review as always.
3/20/10 6:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Another beautiful jacket from the "Jacket Queen". She will love this and its gorgeous color.
3/20/10 8:02 AM
Catbird said...
The only thing better than this would be to be able to SEE it on Aunt Anna Ruth! I'm really swooning over the deep Caribbean blue and the sheen of the silk -- it's incredibly stunning and vibrant. What a beautiful gift you've given her, and her note in return is priceless. And p.s., I love that PEPLUM!
3/20/10 8:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
A beautiful review and I feel a bit smitten with your dear auntie. I bet your family reunions are a hoot and a half. Great looking jacket.
3/20/10 8:28 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Wow! And more Wow! That is a beautiful jacket! Anna Ruth is one lucky chic!
3/20/10 9:13 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
AGAIN, you'rea a HOOT, Annette!! Beautiful!! NO ONE but "toi" would make "such a project" for someone else ;). It's gorgeous!! DO make one for yourself, eh--purrrfect for curvy gals!! ;)
3/20/10 9:14 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I love this color and the style is very nice. Do you have any photos with it on you? Great review.
3/20/10 10:02 AM
marjenann said...
Mouthwatering!!!!
3/20/10 10:29 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! What a stunning jacket. And the care that you put into this with the hand basting shows how much your Aunt is loved! Love the buttons too. Just perfection!
3/20/10 10:33 AM
cmarie12 said...
I'm so glad that she liked it because it is beautiful! I have some of that silk crepe still hiding out in my fabric collection and you've inspired me to go and pet it! :) Glad you are feeling well enough to do some sewing!
3/20/10 10:56 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful jacket and that color is just stunning!!! I know this has to be a favorite of the things you send Aunt Anna Ruth and I so agree with her about the queen's handbags!!! This review "sounded" just like the reviews that have come to be your trademark style. It has "Annette1" stamped all over it and that is a good, good thing!!!
3/20/10 10:56 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow Annette, another lovely garment for lucky Aunt Anna Ruth and she is so thrilled with it too! You give so much attention to detail along the way with results no less than perfect! I love this style and have a similar pattern from another company. I hope it turns out as fabulous as yours. Great job!
3/20/10 11:01 AM
DaisyEsq said...
The jacket is beautiful. I especially like the silhouette. I'm so glad that you are doing something you love for someone you love.
3/20/10 11:22 AM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful jacket and a helpful review. Quite a compliment to you from your aunt. I hope she gets asked out soon ;-)
3/20/10 11:53 AM
Karendee said...
Oh Jacket Queen, Jacket Queen! You have done it again!!! This cerulean blue silk jacket has stolen my heart and I'm just green with longing (not quite envy.) Of course Anna Ruth loves such an amazing ensemble and it is sewn to perfection!!! To have made this outfit during the last few months is absolutely amazing; ;you are truly my hero!!!
3/20/10 12:40 PM
Renren said...
Annette, you are averaging 10 comments per row in the gallery!!! And no wonder!
3/20/10 1:14 PM
mssewcrazy said...
The thank you response was wonderful as is the jacket. I think even the queen's purse couldn't spoil the look of this one.
3/20/10 2:03 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful !!!!!!!!! So chic and sleek. As usual a piece of art.
3/20/10 3:17 PM
susiestitcher said...
Your jacket is lovely. The color, the buttons, the workmanship -- all quite inspiring. Your auntie must be a special lady to merit your talents. Wonderful review.
3/20/10 4:32 PM
Riesie said...
What a beautiful color! Don't you just love peplums - they make for a happy jacket, I think. Always makes me smile to see one.
3/20/10 4:52 PM
elsew said...
What an entertaining and most informative review of this pattern that resulted in an absolutely gorgeous garment. You should be soooo proud of yourself. I would not have thought to use the techniques that you implemented in the construction of this garment in the fabric that you chose. A gold star to you for a stellar review and project.
3/20/10 5:05 PM
Kay Y said...
Fabulous dressy jacket!
3/20/10 5:06 PM
callmeRuth said...
Oh, Annette, I envy your jacket sewing skills. This one is gorgeous!!!
3/20/10 6:33 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"(What must it be like to go through life looking at your reference books BEFORE you start your project? I'll never know.)" Dear Annette!! That lil comment just "saved" my ongoing project!! Hip Hip Hoorah for Sandra B!! ;)
3/20/10 7:13 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I annoint you as the Queen of Jackets. Your jackets always turn out so nice. I love this fabric and the look of the jacket is just gorgeous. Glad your Aunt liked it.
3/21/10 9:38 AM
Margaret said...
Absolutely lovely jacket -- so kind of you to make it for your aunt -- and thanks for your wonderful review! I just love the color and the buttons too!
3/21/10 12:17 PM
mleclair said...
It's beautiful! I have this pattern and am glad to know it is well drafted. Thanks for a great review. Bless you for sewing for your Aunt. :)
3/21/10 7:53 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You are too sweet for words. This jacket is a fabulous gift for anyone. Couture is really the word. Love it.
3/22/10 10:02 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
The jacket is stunning! I see why your aunt was so pleased! I think you chose the perfect fabric, in a sumptuous color, and the perfect, dressier buttons to complement the style of this oh-so feminine jacket. I, too, am glad that you felt up to sewing. Thinking about you often, Annette! BTW, I just toured your beautiful home via Flickr! You have quite an eye for decorating, and it's evident that your collections of lovely objects tie in one way or another to the special people in your life.
3/22/10 11:28 AM
o3b said...
I'd been away for a while and was wondering if you've been posting reviews, so I found this recent one! I'm glad to see you were up to sewing. That jacket is beautiful. And of course your review is so entertaining, as usual. Humor runs in your family, no?
3/24/10 1:47 AM
rose4524 said...
GORGEOUS jacket - what craftsmanship! Thank you for the detailed review. Your aunt is very lucky!
4/10/10 11:35 PM
callmeRuth said...
I've been looking through some of your past reviews, and I love, love, love this jacket!!!!
4/20/10 10:54 AM
valerie sews said...
I'm coming in late here but...I LOVE this jacket. I love the pattern and will be buying it. Loved your review and was impressed by your labor of love. PS I have found a universal needle at the appropriate size and correct sewing machine tension is my fallback for sewing just about anything. Sounds contrary I know but it works.
5/28/10 6:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us