Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6950 (Misses Separates) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 331 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/10 2:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Your neckband really needs to be curved. To fix this one, why don't you put in grommets or buttonholes and thread a ribbon through. Then it would look like a design element.
3/21/10 4:39 PM
no7262 said...
Andrea, you got a great fit in the body, so I think that it would be worth it for you to figure out the neck band. Nora :)
3/21/10 4:51 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I agree that the body fit is great. Maybe if you used rib knit for the neck band it would lie flat? It's weird that the piece is a rectangle and not a curve.
3/21/10 5:55 PM
colorkitten said...
I agree, it looks great other than the neckband, I would try and fix it! a user (newmama) is making the same top in the mini-wardrobe contest, and she said when she realized you were supposed to pull it further down on the shoulders it make the wavy neckband lay flat. Also, it may need to have been stretched more - my raglan tees use a rectangle shape neckband and I just stretch them like crazy to make them lay flat.
3/21/10 6:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top! It fits very nicely after your alterations, with lots of shape. Pity about the neckline. :( I really like your hair too.
3/21/10 6:37 PM
newmama said...
Hi! As colorkitten mentioned, I made a muslin of the top and had the same problem. If you pull the neck to the edge of your shoulders, almost off them, it should straighten out. The line drawing does show the neckline being wide, I just didn't realize how close to off the shoulder it was intended to be. I was going to try to extend the tops of the front/back/sleeves in order to make the neckline narrower, but I'm sitting in my muslin right now looking at yours, haha, and I think I can just reshape the neckband a bit instead. The front/back/sleeves obviously don't suffer from being pulled up a little higher than intended. I'll give it a try and let you know how it goes!
3/21/10 7:26 PM
Andreahg said...
hmmm, pulling the neck wider makes sense, but the edges are already at my bra strap. This wouldn't be as versatile a pattern if I need a special bra or had to constantly pull at my straps.
3/22/10 8:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 5081
photo
Review by Denny1600 on 4/17/07
Read Review

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hailey Ruffled Up Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by born2bead on 7/31/08
Read Review

Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1378 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4020 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us