Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 121 (09-2009 121) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 313 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/10 12:56 PM
Last Updated:3/24/10 12:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Cute and well-fitted on you. Did you use size 38 without adjustments?
3/24/10 2:17 PM
Elke said...
Looks great & I like the pleats!
3/24/10 2:59 PM
Miss33 said...
very cute!I like the pleats too!
3/24/10 3:07 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Sorry! I forgot to mention the size. Yes, I did a 38, but ended up taking it in about 1/2 inch on each side. That may have been from my linen stretching a little bit...or maybe it's meant to sit a little lower on the hips.
3/24/10 3:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
A nice skirt. I like the look of this pattern myself.
3/24/10 5:13 PM
ClaireEmily said...
The soft linen is perfect for the knife pleats. Looks great with your boots!
3/24/10 5:51 PM
ClaireEmily said...
sorry double post
3/24/10 5:52 PM
Patti B said...
What a fun skirt. I love the mixing of different types of pleats. It will be delicious in a soft wool too.
3/24/10 7:42 PM
Patti B said...
duplicate
3/24/10 7:43 PM
Patti B said...
oops
3/24/10 7:43 PM
Patti B said...
oops
3/24/10 7:43 PM
Patti B said...
gosh I didn't think I clicked it this many times!
3/24/10 7:43 PM
Patti B said...
oops
3/24/10 7:47 PM
Patti B said...

3/24/10 7:47 PM
zazzie said...
Patti B clealy loved your skirt ! ;-) I love it too, by the way !
3/24/10 8:03 PM
busymomof3 said...
I too love your skirt! Looks great on!
3/24/10 9:06 PM
busymomof3 said...

3/24/10 9:07 PM
busymomof3 said...
I too love your skirt! Looks great on!
3/24/10 9:07 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic skirt.
3/24/10 9:08 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That skirt is soooooo cute!! I didn't pay much attention to it in the magazine but after seeing yours I just love it!! By the way, did you make the jacket?? If so what pattern is that?
3/25/10 0:05 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Heidi, did not make the jacket, sorry! That came from an Athropologie sale years and years ago. The skirt is only two pattern pieces. If you have a serger, you could slap this thing together in just a couple of hours.
3/25/10 7:14 AM
donna mel said...
i'm not usually a skirt person, but this is going into the 'make it' pile. i just love it in linen!
3/25/10 8:07 AM
becca a said...
Lovely skirt! I will have to look again at this pattern.
3/25/10 9:14 AM
Deb Thompson said...
I passed right over this skirt without giving it a second look but after seeing yours, I'm so pulling that issue back out and making it!!! bravo - excellent job!
3/25/10 9:26 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I'm glad this inspired other people, because this happens to me all the time -I pass over so many Burda magazine patterns and don't give them a second glance. Then someone makes a fabulous garment and puts a whole new spin on a hidden gem. I'm glad I could give back.
3/25/10 10:47 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great skirt - love the style, fabric - everything!!
3/25/10 12:17 PM
persevering said...
Thanking you for responding with your sizing clarification. And glad to read that others commented positively about your skirt too.
3/26/10 0:11 AM
PhillyUK said...
Really love this skirt & your zip is sooo neat!
11/2/11 6:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 3197 Shirt
photo
Review by chesneykat on 4/18/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 93540-1000
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 7/18/12
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us