SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6044 (MEN'S SHIRTS)

35 more reviews
Viewed 282 times 
Reviewed by:sydney800
photo

 
 
About sydney800star
TX
Member since: 2/13/10
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/10 10:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dragon10 said...
I've been looking for something like this to sew for my husband. Thanks for the review. The shirt looks great.
3/22/10 11:58 PM
susiestitcher said...
Nice shirt. Great sewing!
3/23/10 7:09 AM
voet said...
Thanks for the good review. Your shirt really turned out nicely. As a man who makes many shirts, may I offer a few comments about shirts without back yokes? The most expensive RTW shirt I own is an Italian handkerchief linen shirt that does not have a back yoke. I did not notice this feature when I purchased it. I think it makes the shirt look cheap. After hanging this shirt the ends of the hangar always end up creating points on it. A back yoke gives a shirt more stability and wear. Another advantage is that it allows for additional ease in the shirt back, since backs usually have pleats or gathers. I have used a yokeless design for a shirt I made for a woman from a print with a really large repeat. It would have taken a lot of additional fabric to match that pattern if I had used a yoke. But, except in rare instances, I prefer a back yoke. Just my two cents.
3/23/10 9:17 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Thanks for this review..the shirt looks good. As a professional shirt-maker and Tailor for well over 20 years, I agree with what Voet said, above. Another reason that a "back yoke" is important is that it is also is part of "the front" :) It extends over the natural shoulder-line and that extension becomes part of the shirt front. This part that extends to the front is important for the front of the shirt to hang straight, to keep the button extensions (plackets) from "twisting", and to support the pocket so that it doesn't look "droopy". Having a back yoke is also important for adding enough ease to lay smoothly over the shoulder blades *and* so that the shirt does not get "hung-up" at the waist or hips. The ease needed to prevent these stress lines is virtually invisible when the back is drafted with a curved upper edge, that is then carefully eased into the straight lower edge of the back yoke. This way, you can still have a smooth back with no pleats or gathers, because all the ease in incorporated into the curved edge of the upper back. When a menswear shirt is drafted without a back yoke, there is no way to add the necessary ease, aside from making the back wider at the side seams. When ease is added that way, you often see bunching at the armscye and the upper sleeve. But despite the simple draft of this pattern, yours turned out well...good job !
3/23/10 11:44 AM
sydney800 said...
Thanks so much for the comments, and for the tips to voet and Pam- I didn't think much about the yoke issue, and now I can see it's even more important than I realized. I'll keep looking for a better pattern!
3/24/10 11:17 PM
JanieBee said...
Try McCall's 2447. It seems to have all the important men's shirt design elements.
3/29/10 8:49 AM
sewsewboy said...
Agree with Voet and Pam-Off the Cuff. Have made shirts with and without yokes. The yoked versions have the ease across the back for a bit of give andthe yoke usually adds stability to the shoulder and collar area. Have made shirts with large repeats and do not use yokes. Tried it once and it wasted a ton of fabric. Like the review, will try this one next.
6/29/10 9:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6110

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now