Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6044 (MEN'S SHIRTS) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 282 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sydney800
photo
About sydney800star
TX
Member since: 2/13/10
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/10 10:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dragon10 said...
I've been looking for something like this to sew for my husband. Thanks for the review. The shirt looks great.
3/22/10 11:58 PM
susiestitcher said...
Nice shirt. Great sewing!
3/23/10 7:09 AM
voet said...
Thanks for the good review. Your shirt really turned out nicely. As a man who makes many shirts, may I offer a few comments about shirts without back yokes? The most expensive RTW shirt I own is an Italian handkerchief linen shirt that does not have a back yoke. I did not notice this feature when I purchased it. I think it makes the shirt look cheap. After hanging this shirt the ends of the hangar always end up creating points on it. A back yoke gives a shirt more stability and wear. Another advantage is that it allows for additional ease in the shirt back, since backs usually have pleats or gathers. I have used a yokeless design for a shirt I made for a woman from a print with a really large repeat. It would have taken a lot of additional fabric to match that pattern if I had used a yoke. But, except in rare instances, I prefer a back yoke. Just my two cents.
3/23/10 9:17 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Thanks for this review..the shirt looks good. As a professional shirt-maker and Tailor for well over 20 years, I agree with what Voet said, above. Another reason that a "back yoke" is important is that it is also is part of "the front" :) It extends over the natural shoulder-line and that extension becomes part of the shirt front. This part that extends to the front is important for the front of the shirt to hang straight, to keep the button extensions (plackets) from "twisting", and to support the pocket so that it doesn't look "droopy". Having a back yoke is also important for adding enough ease to lay smoothly over the shoulder blades *and* so that the shirt does not get "hung-up" at the waist or hips. The ease needed to prevent these stress lines is virtually invisible when the back is drafted with a curved upper edge, that is then carefully eased into the straight lower edge of the back yoke. This way, you can still have a smooth back with no pleats or gathers, because all the ease in incorporated into the curved edge of the upper back. When a menswear shirt is drafted without a back yoke, there is no way to add the necessary ease, aside from making the back wider at the side seams. When ease is added that way, you often see bunching at the armscye and the upper sleeve. But despite the simple draft of this pattern, yours turned out well...good job !
3/23/10 11:44 AM
sydney800 said...
Thanks so much for the comments, and for the tips to voet and Pam- I didn't think much about the yoke issue, and now I can see it's even more important than I realized. I'll keep looking for a better pattern!
3/24/10 11:17 PM
JanieBee said...
Try McCall's 2447. It seems to have all the important men's shirt design elements.
3/29/10 8:49 AM
sewsewboy said...
Agree with Voet and Pam-Off the Cuff. Have made shirts with and without yokes. The yoked versions have the ease across the back for a bit of give andthe yoke usually adds stability to the shoulder and collar area. Have made shirts with large repeats and do not use yokes. Tried it once and it wasted a ton of fabric. Like the review, will try this one next.
6/29/10 9:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used Skirt09 Skirt09
photo
Review by keelyb1 on 2/19/09
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Barcelona Dress
Barcelona Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Alice Wang on 4/19/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us