SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5402 (Connie Crawford Jeans Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/10 6:36 PM
Last Updated:3/25/10 6:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Hey Jan, thanks for the information. I just bought this pattern last month and it was on my short list. I will check out all the things you mentioned before cutting and probably do a muslin. And here I was hoping it would be an easy fit.
3/25/10 7:40 PM
Renren said...
Looks like you are off to a good start. Why don't you email Butterick or C, Crawford and ask if there could be an error in printing. Remember we have seen errors with patterns from Sandra Betzina and Marcy Tilton with Vogue. Maybe these special pattern designers don't have a perfect interface with the Big 4 pattern companies--something gets lost in translation. Good luck salvaging the sleeves on this muslin. Will be awaiting . . . the rest of the story.
3/25/10 7:48 PM
jillnjosh said...
Jann - is it possible that all of that room in the armscye is a dart that was rotated there? Would it be possible, by dart manipulation, to add another seam to the outside of the princess and rotate the dart into that seamline? Just a thought.
3/26/10 8:18 AM
jannw said...
I have taken Renren's advice and written to Butterick regarding the shoulder size and amount of space in the back shoulder area. I will update when I receive an answer.
3/26/10 8:26 AM
jannw said...
To Jillnjosh..I'm not sure about that..it may be beyond my skill level. The extra space is in the back yoke. After that seam, the back princess seams are ok. I've thought about recutting the yoke or adding a horizontal dart there. I'll have to experiment.
3/26/10 9:30 AM
Mc Donna said...
Sorry, this didn't work out for you. I'll be rethinking this one on my shopping list for sure. Maybe you can work something out with the yoke as you mentioned, and then change the sleeve head to match, as well as fixing the width to suit you. Good luck!
3/27/10 0:03 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry this didn't work out. About the back yoke length -- maybe the pattern's meant to have really forward shoulder seams? (i.e. if you lined up the hemlines and flattened the jacket out upward, would the shoulder seams move forward? 3" seems like an awful lot, though.) It's odd how extended the shoulder is; I usually find that goes along with a loose body and sleeves, and it doesn't sound like this pattern has those. It might be fixable by copying the shoulder width from another pattern, but then the sleeve cap might have to be changed too. It's really disappointing the pattern doesn't match any of the drawings. :( If you do decide to work on this further, I hope it goes well! The design details do look very nice.
3/27/10 11:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: Cynbular

Review
HotPatterns 1144

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now