SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Peony & Poppy Vest (Poppy Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1595 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/04 8:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful vest - I made the other vest in this pattern which is much more conservative. However, after seeing yours, I want to try it. I will make the angle less obvious, the front longer and the back shorter. I made the Cascade dress once out of a beautiful sheer wool and wore it to a major function. Not one person commented (which is bad because everyone knows I sew and are usually very effusive in their remarks) and I felt uncomfortable in it. I never wore it again. I love SW patterns in general but veer towards a less dramatic look in my everyday wear.
6/15/04 9:06 PM
busy91 said...
It looks too advanced for me, perhaps some day, but your version is very nice.
4/20/04 2:21 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Kathi S - I have to agree - not for a short person. I use the Purrfection/PawPrints Pelle Paints.
4/2/04 6:56 AM
Ann C said...
Londa, wonderful work as always. As for the "too fashion forward for central Illinois" part, I know what you mean, believe me. Well . . . let's work on that!
4/1/04 8:47 AM
kathi s said...
I love this pattern, but it may not be right for my short stature. The stencils are wonderful. What sort of paint did you use?
4/1/04 8:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Stencil work is really lovely! Looks good
4/1/04 5:54 AM
SJB said...
I would never have considered sewing this pattern (tho I love Sewing Workshop) based on their drawings. I'm reconsidering. You've done an extremely sophisticated version and if I lived in central Illinois I'd wear it with pride!
3/31/04 8:15 PM
retiredpagirl said...
Beautiful vest! If it's "too fashion forward" for you, I'll be glad to take it off your hands! :) LOL I, too, love their patterns.
3/31/04 7:53 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I like the use of the stencils to coordinate the colors from the back section.
3/31/04 9:31 AM
Liana said...
Very nice, Londa. The stencils are so neat with this. This pattern is intriguing me more and more!
3/31/04 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6520

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review

Pattern

Other Composite review

photo
by: Jessica De...

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

More Info