SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2559 (Women's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 500 times 
Reviewed by:esspee
photo

 
 
About esspee
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/10 0:10 AM
Last Updated:3/27/10 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I can't believe this is the first pattern you have reviewed - GREAT job. I especially liked hearing how responsive the people at Jalie were when you hit a trouble spot. That says a lot about Jalie. Your jacket is beautiful. I look forward to reading more of your reviews!
3/27/10 0:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You did a great job. Well done!
3/27/10 2:06 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Nice job. This is a beautiful jacket.
3/27/10 2:16 AM
LynnRowe said...
Your first lined jacket, and you went with linen, one of the most difficult fabrics! And it turned out wonderfully, well done, you fearless sewer you!
3/27/10 2:27 AM
Oziroo said...
Goodness, what a great job you've done. I have this pattern and am a Jalie fan so now I must get on and make it!
3/27/10 7:17 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket.
3/27/10 11:33 AM
redhead said...
This is really nice. Your topstitching and welt pockets look great.
3/27/10 11:43 AM
Second Avenue said...
Excellent work! Your welt pockets look great and it fits you nicely.
3/27/10 1:55 PM
Patti B said...
Wonderful jacket -- especially for a first lined garment! Congratulations. I love the fit of this jacket. When I sewed it for a friend, I took at least an inch out of the sleeve length. In my case, I shortened it in the armscye (because I had taken a tuck mid-armscye front and back) and further down on the sleeve. I also sewed 7/8 inch seams on the sleeve to remove some of the excess. Hope this helps. Isn't it great to have such a flattering, classic jacket pattern in your repetoire?
3/27/10 4:23 PM
moushka said...
Gorgeous jacket! So nice to read another positive Jalie review. How did you cope with the seams coming into where you slash the welts? That's one sewing step that I've never gotten to look good. Any hints would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
3/27/10 4:48 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Fantastic looking jacket. You did a great job!!
3/27/10 11:10 PM
paulakiss said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Your jacket looks beautiful and what a great fit! I didn't even notice the longer sleeves. I notice some of the younger crowd wearing longer sleeve in the long tshirts, sweaters, and sweatshirts. It's kinda cute imo.
3/28/10 2:24 AM
tess said...
Beautiful jacket, it looks very professional and I love the colour of the linen, good review, thank you!
3/28/10 7:58 AM
JEF said...
That looks just great.
3/28/10 8:13 AM
barbcl said...
Terrific looking jacket in a nice Spring color.
3/28/10 1:45 PM
waltzqueen said...
What a great fit! You've made a very beautiful jacket.
3/29/10 6:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Kwik Sew 3740 Knit Cowl

photo
by: krazyknit

Review
McCall's 6608

photo
by: sewtofit

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now