Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2559 (Women's Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 486 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:esspee
photo
About esspee
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/10 0:10 AM
Last Updated:3/27/10 11:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I can't believe this is the first pattern you have reviewed - GREAT job. I especially liked hearing how responsive the people at Jalie were when you hit a trouble spot. That says a lot about Jalie. Your jacket is beautiful. I look forward to reading more of your reviews!
3/27/10 0:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You did a great job. Well done!
3/27/10 2:06 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Nice job. This is a beautiful jacket.
3/27/10 2:16 AM
LynnRowe said...
Your first lined jacket, and you went with linen, one of the most difficult fabrics! And it turned out wonderfully, well done, you fearless sewer you!
3/27/10 2:27 AM
Oziroo said...
Goodness, what a great job you've done. I have this pattern and am a Jalie fan so now I must get on and make it!
3/27/10 7:17 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket.
3/27/10 11:33 AM
redhead said...
This is really nice. Your topstitching and welt pockets look great.
3/27/10 11:43 AM
Second Avenue said...
Excellent work! Your welt pockets look great and it fits you nicely.
3/27/10 1:55 PM
Patti B said...
Wonderful jacket -- especially for a first lined garment! Congratulations. I love the fit of this jacket. When I sewed it for a friend, I took at least an inch out of the sleeve length. In my case, I shortened it in the armscye (because I had taken a tuck mid-armscye front and back) and further down on the sleeve. I also sewed 7/8 inch seams on the sleeve to remove some of the excess. Hope this helps. Isn't it great to have such a flattering, classic jacket pattern in your repetoire?
3/27/10 4:23 PM
moushka said...
Gorgeous jacket! So nice to read another positive Jalie review. How did you cope with the seams coming into where you slash the welts? That's one sewing step that I've never gotten to look good. Any hints would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
3/27/10 4:48 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Fantastic looking jacket. You did a great job!!
3/27/10 11:10 PM
paulakiss said...
Thanks for the helpful review! Your jacket looks beautiful and what a great fit! I didn't even notice the longer sleeves. I notice some of the younger crowd wearing longer sleeve in the long tshirts, sweaters, and sweatshirts. It's kinda cute imo.
3/28/10 2:24 AM
tess said...
Beautiful jacket, it looks very professional and I love the colour of the linen, good review, thank you!
3/28/10 7:58 AM
JEF said...
That looks just great.
3/28/10 8:13 AM
barbcl said...
Terrific looking jacket in a nice Spring color.
3/28/10 1:45 PM
waltzqueen said...
What a great fit! You've made a very beautiful jacket.
3/29/10 6:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used none body pillow
photo
Review by maria 6705 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by Happy go l... on 6/26/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )
Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us