Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2621 (16th C Corset) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 502 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/10 12:21 PM
Last Updated:4/8/10 1:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
They look beautiful!
3/27/10 5:16 PM
Elona said...
In the tiny photo, it looks like a pretty bodice, but the image is so small that no details are visible. Could you make the image clickable so it can be enlarged?
4/4/10 11:48 AM
dfr2010 said...
The pic was v1.0 (blue) and the larger pic was fuzzy as well. Once the sun moves I'll put up the new pic (v2.1 is cream and beige - so folks can keep track!). Standby ... ETA: WOOHOOO! I figured out how to link the thumbnail to the bigger pic! V2.1 pic is posted!
4/4/10 12:07 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Well, it doesn't look at all comfortable! It does look great. I enjoyed the article on using cording instead of boning. What a neat thing. It looks like a great technique for modern applications. Thanks!
4/4/10 3:30 PM
Mary Reed said...
excellent review, thank you.
4/4/10 3:39 PM
dfr2010 said...
Michele, it actually *is* comfortable ... gives me a lot of back support and eliminates bouncing in front. Both take pressure off my bad back. ;-) Plus I'll need it for my Elizabethan outfit ...
4/4/10 3:52 PM
jannw said...
an interesting project..theylook great and I will look forward to seeing the entire outfit. thanx for the links..
4/4/10 4:44 PM
Renren said...
I actually have a Sandra Betzina pattern in mind which I think the hemp cord will work for so thanks for that info! Love all those perfectly aligned rivets--I would say the alignment either makes or breaks the corset and you've done just a fabulous job. I bet the more rivets you have installed on a garment like this the pressure to do the next one perfectly mounts. Will definitely be watching as the project progresses.
4/5/10 0:09 AM
Margaret said...
Looks great! I like all the eyelets too. The article on cording was very interesting -- thanks for linking. I have a couple of Past Patterns early 19th century corset patterns that look like they could be corded similarly.
4/6/10 7:15 PM
2mulie said...
Never thought of using cording instead of boning, how clever! Thanks for the tip!
4/7/10 9:59 AM
Sandi S said...
Wow - great idea about the cording as boning
4/8/10 9:42 PM
dfr2010 said...
Just to reiterate ... the cord idea isn't mine. I would love to shake her hand, as comfortable as it is!
4/8/10 10:16 PM
MCBurbage said...
For what it's worth, I think the point of the tabs is to help the skirt stand out a little at the waist. I don't know how well that actually works, but that's what I've read in a couple of books and most of the pictures I've seen do have tabs. Of course, someone else might be able to reference pictures without tabs. Is front-lacing correct for this period?
4/9/10 5:29 AM
dfr2010 said...
MCBurbage - First, this corset was made on a machine, rendering the "Is it period?" question completely moot for this garment ... that said, there was a an art trend from around 1560-1590 where artists sketched and painted the "common folks" and those sketches and paintings show the lower classes having front laced corsets. As for the present ... front lacing is period for anyone who doesn't have a dressing servant LOL. My hubby is very hesitant to touch the back lacing so I dress myself. Re: tabs, yes that is part of what functional tabs do along with supporting the weight of bumroll, farthingale, petticoats, heavy skirts ... but the Simplicity pattern tabs don't look like they will do that IMO. If you look at the original corset worn by Queen Elizabeth I those were boned tabs that were cut as part of the corset body ... that's my idea of functional tabs. I have seen examples of extant period corsets that left the tabs off as well, so it could have been a matter of personal preference or one of economics as I imagine the boned tabs were pricier. (edited to try to sound less confrontational)
4/10/10 7:00 AM
guillorypr said...
I have this pattern, but I was only going to use it for the farthingale and maybe the bum roll, although I already have a pattern for that. On the page you link to, there are very good instructions on making a corset. I have made a pretty good mockup of it. :)
4/20/10 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 1228 misses dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/9/11
Read Review

Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3939 Bark Avenue
photo
Review by lauramae on 11/2/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us