SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5454 (Misses' Dress)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:kristinlala
photo

 
 
About kristinlalastar
TX USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/10 3:13 PM
Last Updated:3/27/10 3:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fattyboomboom said...
That fabric is stunning and very well sewn!
4/22/10 5:44 PM
sewinfrance said...
Your dress is beautiful on you. pattern matching isn't easy, but you were right to go more for colour matching on the sleeves, it would have been difficult with your print. With the skirt it is more important to match the pattern. You did a great job.
4/1/10 3:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
stunning! wow you are 5'10? I will follow your stuff. I'm almost 5'9 and have to make tall alterations all the time.
3/31/10 9:53 PM
Blooms said...
That is a fabulous dress. I love the fabric too. I have just bought this pattern, as I liked it better than the famous Vogue 8379, and I am delighted to see that it looks so good on you. I hope it works out so well for me.
3/30/10 7:11 AM
SheTee said...
Wow, just fantastic! You did such a great job using the border print, and it's incredibly flattering on you. Wonderful!
3/29/10 10:31 AM
Sew tell me said...
Very pretty.
3/28/10 8:17 PM
busymomof3 said...
Your dress turned out beautiful!! It looks great on. I've got to try sewing with knits!!
3/28/10 2:17 PM
becca a said...
Great dress! I love your use of the border print.
3/28/10 10:42 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooh, this is beautiful!!!
3/28/10 10:06 AM
kerrynw said...
I Love your dress, especially your print placement, wonderful result!
3/28/10 8:52 AM
CreativeDiva said...
Very nice. Love the way you manipulated the fabric.
3/28/10 8:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress, lovely fabric
3/28/10 8:06 AM
kristinlala said...
Thanks everyone! As far at the ITY- I used narrow zig zag on the inside hems and that was no problem...it was the double stitching that was hard..sometimes they were wobbly. I finally fixed that, etc, but after I had taken out those stitches I think the material was a little stretched (neckline and down the front of the wraps) I think using hem tape/facing stuff is the way to go with the ITY for me next time!!! :)
3/27/10 11:39 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great looking dress. I ove the print! Funny though I like working with ITY a lot. Maybe it depends on your sewing machine??
3/27/10 11:25 PM
julie w said...
The effort you put into pattern matching really paid off, your dress is just gorgeous!
3/27/10 8:39 PM
Christas said...
Oooooh, love the print for your dress. It looks so nice on you!
3/27/10 7:49 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely dress!
3/27/10 6:14 PM
newmama said...
Looks great! I really like how the colors ended up--they look very balanced and interesting! And I didn't realize you were so tall :)
3/27/10 5:20 PM
zazzie said...
That's a great pattern (and nice pattern placement), and you definitely have the shape and height to pull it off !
3/27/10 4:33 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely dress. I like your pattern placement. I wonder if using spray starch or Sew Perfect on the seam areas would make it any easier to sew?
3/27/10 4:26 PM
kidmd said...
Yay!! This turned out so well!! It looks great on you. Nice work!
3/27/10 4:22 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful dress!
3/27/10 3:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delightfully gorgeous dress! That's it, you and Zazzie convinced me to GET this pattern!
3/27/10 3:47 PM
homejewel said...
Ok, I see that "edit comment" now means you get an extra post. Sorry about that!
3/27/10 3:33 PM
homejewel said...
Your dress is so cute. I love the border print and it's funny that we both chose the same word in all caps "PAIN" in working with ITY fabric (in my recent review). Great dress on you!
3/27/10 3:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now