Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8594 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 901 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Catherine Daze
photo
About Catherine Dazestarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/10 5:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress
3/27/10 8:52 PM
homejewel said...
Wow, you sure put a lot of effort into this dress. You do beautiful work - great dress.
3/27/10 10:19 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job, very nice dress!
3/28/10 8:11 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely dress!
3/28/10 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
This is beautiful, so glad you persevered and got such a gorgeous result. The fit is the reason I have avoided this pattern, even though the style looks like it was made for me. Love all those seams, but would have no clue how to go about altering. You did a wonderful job!!
3/28/10 9:51 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! You did a fantastic job matching everything up, and those seams are such a great design feature. With such good seam matching, I think it's time to upgrade your level to advanced beginner.
3/28/10 10:28 AM
whirrclunk said...
Lovely! All the seams match perfectly - sounds like a lot of work. I like the fabric too, looks great.
3/28/10 12:06 PM
pammieh said...
This is adorable on you - I know what you means re: Catalogue of Disaster - I'm in the middle of a project and if I don't finish soon . . I'm tired of "red-doing" everything - I hope my result is as good.
3/28/10 12:41 PM
rozzybabe said...
You did a great job considering you're a beginner! To help with the darts, stitching right to the point of the dart, & then literally off the fabric without back stitching should help in smoother, no ripple darts! Just tie off the threads to lock in the stitching. Keep up the good work!
3/28/10 4:04 PM
MareeH said...
Thanks for the tip re sizing. The pattern comes in two size ranges but it sounds like going for the smaller one will be my best option. Don't class yourself as a beginner any more after completing this dress!
5/27/10 8:49 PM
Gendun said...
Excellent pointers - thanks! And yes, a great job puzzling out the issues - I for one learned a lot! Thanks so much. :)
5/28/12 11:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by CMae on 5/14/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5559 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by Sixtiesgir... on 11/25/13
Read Review

McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us