SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6866 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 372 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/10 3:55 AM
Last Updated:3/28/10 4:39 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Thank you everyone for your comments--they are so very much appreciated!!! @jgmafpw, I used 4 mil plastic which I bought at Home Depot in the paint department. You can see through it, write on it with Sharpies, and as I did overlay the actual pattern for modifications. I actually read about it here at PR. Some people use it to trace off Burda World of Fashion patterns, and that is how I heard about it. The only drawback to it is it doesn't drape really well. However, there is another product Karla Kizer mentions--something to do with sewer/septic applications--which I have not been able to find that she prefers. If you would like to see how 4 mil plastic is used to copy Burda WOF patterns, I describe how I did it in the last paragraph of this review: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=40599
3/29/10 9:41 AM
jgmafpw said...
excellent review! I've attended classes at FIT and other schools and this is one of the best explanation's I have seen. Question, what did you use for your see thru "pattern muslin"?
3/29/10 9:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
A nice dress, Renren. Your efforts and persistence have paid off. Drawing a box around the darts and shifting it downwards is a good idea; I must try it next time. (I've just manipulated the dart with my fingers to move the apex downwards rather than altering the tissue.)
3/29/10 3:06 AM
TracyB said...
Very well written review with the best pictorial explanation of the FBA I've ever seen.
3/29/10 1:40 AM
AuntieShel said...
Great looking dress, love the fabric. Great work on the alterations.
3/28/10 7:30 PM
katlew03 said...
Your dress looks great. This pattern is on my short list. Yours looks so comfortable and perfect for warm weather. You did a great job and now have a TNT dress pattern.
3/28/10 2:40 PM
jannw said...
Great review and a very good look for you..I'm so glad the darts worked correctly...
3/28/10 1:56 PM
Barbara V said...
You have created a wonderful dress with all of your detailed alterations. It looks like you have the bust adjustments mastered. Very nice work. Your dress looks nice on you and I bet you will really enjoy wearing it!
3/28/10 11:11 AM
newmama said...
Thank you for all FBA/dart change photos! Your descriptions/pictures for each step make it look so easy! I have yet to need one, but then again I have made two tops for myself and they are both knits :)
3/28/10 7:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

HotPatterns Bad Witch/Good Witch Hat

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 3784-1000

photo
by: gabrielle ...

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

More Info
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

More Info