SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5221 

3 more reviews
Viewed 457 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/10 2:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
You can take even a most basic pattern and provide so much helpful information in a review! Thanks for the idea for the cotton batiste underlining. I am going to do that on my next linen pair of pants. I hope your gray striped linen pants soften up.
3/28/10 2:53 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, Thanks so much for the wonderful review with all that excellent information. After reading your reviews, I always feel as if I could beautifully make any pattern successfully. BTW, all three pr. of pants and wonderful, but of course I like the taupe linen ones best (the last pr.) You have really mastered the fit of these pants and you look so trim and neat in each pair. At least you'll have 3 sharp pair of new pants to wear this week. Wonderful, wonderful looking pants.
3/28/10 3:04 PM
Catbird said...
This just makes me wish I could wear this style of pant with the same aplomb as you do. I love the way they look! The fit is PERFECT, the mock fly is PERFECT, and the way they hang is so flattering and slimming. The little washers at the hem are a great idea! I love your reviews. These pants are excellent.
3/28/10 3:40 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Annette, do they EVER fit nice!! Bravissimo!! (So THAT's where my cutting board washers went ;) )
3/28/10 4:49 PM
Mermie said...
Great looking pants. They look great on you. As usual, your review is excellent.
3/28/10 5:01 PM
Christas said...
You manage to turn your reviews into wonderful tutorials. I love the washer idea for the pant's hems. You did a beautiful job on ALL THREE pairs! I do love the last pair the best. GORGEOUSIMO!!! Everything looks all nice and neat on the insides too, of course!
3/28/10 6:17 PM
Riesie said...
That is the best fitting pants back I've seen on these boards in a long time. All our tushies should look so nice in the pants we make, LOL!!
3/28/10 6:39 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Hey LadyBug, Once again a great review and I love the color of the pants too.
3/28/10 7:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Who would have thought that washers worked as weights--why you of course! It's such a fantastic idea. I love the pants.
3/28/10 8:18 PM
becca a said...
Wonderful pants! They are quite flattering, and look so comfy, too.
3/28/10 8:52 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thanks so much for the review. Your pants are beautiful and the fit can't be beat.
3/29/10 1:17 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thanks so much for the review. Your pants are beautiful and the fit can't be beat.
3/29/10 1:17 AM
marjenann said...
Patience, skill, and perseverance, no wonder those pants fit like a glove and look so terrific on you!!!
3/29/10 7:59 AM
carolynw said...
Looks TERRIFIC on you - funny how the weight (drape) of afabric can make such a difference. Great review as always
3/29/10 10:13 AM
cmarie12 said...
I have to remember the cotton batiste underlining. What a wonderful tip...I've used rayon bemberg to do this but this seems like it would be even more comfortable. Glad you finally got a pair that you like from the three you made!
3/29/10 11:54 AM
Terri A said...
You did a perfect job on these pants and this review:-)
3/29/10 12:33 PM
RLL said...
Do those pants make your butt look great? Oh hell yea! Wonderful review as usual.
3/29/10 2:42 PM
CathrynR said...
Nice pants. Thanks for reviewing.
3/30/10 6:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Nobody works a wide-legged pair of pants better than you. I sure wish I was taller because I envy your style. These pants look fantastic on you.
4/10/10 6:40 AM
MNBarb said...
Beautiful job! I am looking for a pattern that will work for some linen I ordered. I'm just not sure if I'm up for this much altering/fine tuning. You have achieved the perfect fit for you.
4/18/10 10:04 PM
Athene said...
Very good looking pants - your results are always so good.
4/22/11 4:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-113

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now