Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5221 - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 455 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/10 2:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
You can take even a most basic pattern and provide so much helpful information in a review! Thanks for the idea for the cotton batiste underlining. I am going to do that on my next linen pair of pants. I hope your gray striped linen pants soften up.
3/28/10 2:53 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, Thanks so much for the wonderful review with all that excellent information. After reading your reviews, I always feel as if I could beautifully make any pattern successfully. BTW, all three pr. of pants and wonderful, but of course I like the taupe linen ones best (the last pr.) You have really mastered the fit of these pants and you look so trim and neat in each pair. At least you'll have 3 sharp pair of new pants to wear this week. Wonderful, wonderful looking pants.
3/28/10 3:04 PM
Catbird said...
This just makes me wish I could wear this style of pant with the same aplomb as you do. I love the way they look! The fit is PERFECT, the mock fly is PERFECT, and the way they hang is so flattering and slimming. The little washers at the hem are a great idea! I love your reviews. These pants are excellent.
3/28/10 3:40 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Annette, do they EVER fit nice!! Bravissimo!! (So THAT's where my cutting board washers went ;) )
3/28/10 4:49 PM
Mermie said...
Great looking pants. They look great on you. As usual, your review is excellent.
3/28/10 5:01 PM
Christas said...
You manage to turn your reviews into wonderful tutorials. I love the washer idea for the pant's hems. You did a beautiful job on ALL THREE pairs! I do love the last pair the best. GORGEOUSIMO!!! Everything looks all nice and neat on the insides too, of course!
3/28/10 6:17 PM
Riesie said...
That is the best fitting pants back I've seen on these boards in a long time. All our tushies should look so nice in the pants we make, LOL!!
3/28/10 6:39 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Hey LadyBug, Once again a great review and I love the color of the pants too.
3/28/10 7:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Who would have thought that washers worked as weights--why you of course! It's such a fantastic idea. I love the pants.
3/28/10 8:18 PM
becca a said...
Wonderful pants! They are quite flattering, and look so comfy, too.
3/28/10 8:52 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thanks so much for the review. Your pants are beautiful and the fit can't be beat.
3/29/10 1:17 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thanks so much for the review. Your pants are beautiful and the fit can't be beat.
3/29/10 1:17 AM
marjenann said...
Patience, skill, and perseverance, no wonder those pants fit like a glove and look so terrific on you!!!
3/29/10 7:59 AM
carolynw said...
Looks TERRIFIC on you - funny how the weight (drape) of afabric can make such a difference. Great review as always
3/29/10 10:13 AM
cmarie12 said...
I have to remember the cotton batiste underlining. What a wonderful tip...I've used rayon bemberg to do this but this seems like it would be even more comfortable. Glad you finally got a pair that you like from the three you made!
3/29/10 11:54 AM
Terri A said...
You did a perfect job on these pants and this review:-)
3/29/10 12:33 PM
RLL said...
Do those pants make your butt look great? Oh hell yea! Wonderful review as usual.
3/29/10 2:42 PM
CathrynR said...
Nice pants. Thanks for reviewing.
3/30/10 6:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Nobody works a wide-legged pair of pants better than you. I sure wish I was taller because I envy your style. These pants look fantastic on you.
4/10/10 6:40 AM
MNBarb said...
Beautiful job! I am looking for a pattern that will work for some linen I ordered. I'm just not sure if I'm up for this much altering/fine tuning. You have achieved the perfect fit for you.
4/18/10 10:04 PM
Athene said...
Very good looking pants - your results are always so good.
4/22/11 4:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us