SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8559 ( Marcy Tilton)

10 more reviews
Viewed 852 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/10 11:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
I absolutely LOVE the vision you had, the changes you made, and the fabric(s) you used! I just got this pattern, and you've definitely inspired me!
9/4/10 4:01 AM
Ann Smith said...
Susan, my fabric has no stretch but it works because I left off the sleeves. If you want to adapt the pattern for a woven with the sleeves you would probably need to go up a size or two or add some extra ease across the upper back and sleeve for comfort. Thanks for the compliment!
5/14/10 12:05 PM
Susan Chesney said...
This jacket is beautiful. I'm curious about the fabric. Does it have any stretch? Cross wise stretch? The pattern calls for a knit, I think.
5/13/10 2:02 PM
DorothyK said...
This vest is fantastic, as are the other versions. It's a great use of the fabric. I love the way you finished the edges with the ribbon. Very clever.
4/7/10 6:31 PM
Winifred said...
Ann, I'm thrilled to see this made up as I was there at Puyallup when you bought it Yay !! My PC has brought the fabric up much too light so if anyone else has found that , the fabric is almost black Ann? And the colours are so vibrant. I love this on you - you are one clever lady !!
4/7/10 6:15 PM
CynthiaSue said...
How darling and fun! Awesome, tasteful stylish fabric as always!
4/7/10 0:03 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I really enjoy seeing what you make Ann. It's always an inspiration.
4/6/10 9:07 PM
Christas said...
Wow! So pretty on you ..... super stylish!
4/6/10 4:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Well, this is "double drool" creation! I drooled over this gorgeous fabric when you bought it and drooled over the vest when I saw you first wear it. It turned out beautifully especially your artistic use of interesting selvage edge. I really like your lacy knit vest too!
4/6/10 11:39 AM
sewtime said...
Very pretty, love the fabric!!
4/6/10 10:02 AM
Patti B said...
No wonder you bought this fabulous fabric! This is a perfect pattern for it too and, as usual, looks great on you. Keep sewing and inspiring us!
4/6/10 9:39 AM
Jane S said...
As always, Ann, you are chic and stylish in each new garment. Love how you took advantage of the fabric drape and colors.
4/6/10 9:18 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Special fabrics made into stunning garments! I adore how you stylishly accessorize your ensembles. Excellent review.
4/6/10 8:48 AM
beth5646 said...
I always love to read your reviews. I would like to have a few days just to spend in your closets. Once again you have made more beautiful garments and put your own special spin on them. Thanks for the very helpful review. You are an inspiration to me.
4/6/10 2:20 AM
Athene said...
All your versions are lovely. I find the ribbon fabric and the lacey brown fabric both very interesting and pretty.
4/5/10 11:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used

photo
by: HatBuddy

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

More Info
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Stretch & Sew 200

photo
by: Graca

Review