SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3377 (Tunics)

3 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/10 8:29 PM
Last Updated:4/8/10 8:15 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cherylz said...
This must be an early KS design, I recently did a jacket that had 5/8" seam allowances. Whatever, I agree that 1/4" is quite skimpy-- my Elna serger takes up a fat 1/4", I'd call it 3/8". And for French seams you need at least 3/8", 1/2" is safer, before you trim to 1/4 turn and sew a seam enclosing the 1/4". I have heard its an industrial habit, to save fabric, etc but I guess I need to visit an industrial sewing factory to appreciate how such a skimpy allowance is going to work out well.
8/4/13 0:44 AM
Paisley said...
This is the most entertaining and well-written review I've ever read on PR. Very helpful, too! I'm on a multi-year quest to become my own salwar kameez tailor, so I value your fitting suggestions.
9/28/12 1:28 PM
Izzie said...
I love both of your tunics and both fabrics are gorgeous! Thanks for the excellent review.
4/8/10 11:16 PM
Margaret said...
Excellent review -- the fabric looks perfect for this pattern, and thanks for pointing out the gusset construction!
4/8/10 2:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Your lovely fabric and pattern fit nicely into your ethnic clothes project. I agree, it's really difficult to cut those tiny seam allowances unless one is very sure of the fit. Your solution worked well and it looks great on you!
4/8/10 12:44 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, "Tunics are my only hope." Perhaps my new motto? Very nice fabric and top. I am reading Nancy Zieman's "10-20-30 Minutes to Sew," and she has you interface both top and bottom of the collar, too. I think she says it looks better, and I believe that was her only reasoning.
4/8/10 1:49 AM
jannw said...
very nice top..thanx for the heads up about the seam allowance for those of us without sergers. Beautiful fabric and thank you for the link.
4/8/10 1:21 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for those lovely compliments. Claire Emily, my understanding of the seam allowance question is that wider allowances are more old-fashioned and geared to finishes like zigzagging; turning the seam allowance under and stitching down; and flat fell or french seams. Narrow seam allowances are geared to serging (overlocking), which is used in industry and by tailors and dressmakers. There is no need to trim excess fabric afterwards so narrow seam allowances supposedly save fabric because a garment can be squeezed out of a smaller piece.
4/8/10 1:03 AM
fourkid said...
Lovely - I just love looking at your projects - they are always so clever and beautiful.
4/7/10 11:41 PM
Christas said...
What a pretty pattern! The fabric is gorgeous!
4/7/10 10:56 PM
katlew03 said...
Looks great on you. Both tops are very pretty.
4/7/10 10:45 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a nice review of this pattern. I love that fabric!
4/7/10 10:12 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Very nice! I love both of your 'kurta' tunics - and now I have learnt something too. Amazing fabrics as usual, and I think these styles are perfectly appropriate for urban wear. I had always thought that 6mm seam allowances were for the benefit of people without sergers as, to my mind, that is the perfect width for a zig-zag finish with no trimming. I actually find sewing 6mm seams on my serger almost impossible and end up using a machine zig-zag instead! (but am a beginner sergist).
4/7/10 10:09 PM
persevering said...
How lovely the fabric and style looks on you! Thanks so much for bringing this pattern to our attention.
4/7/10 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now