Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3377 (Tunics) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 486 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/10 8:29 PM
Last Updated:4/8/10 8:15 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
How lovely the fabric and style looks on you! Thanks so much for bringing this pattern to our attention.
4/7/10 9:35 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Very nice! I love both of your 'kurta' tunics - and now I have learnt something too. Amazing fabrics as usual, and I think these styles are perfectly appropriate for urban wear. I had always thought that 6mm seam allowances were for the benefit of people without sergers as, to my mind, that is the perfect width for a zig-zag finish with no trimming. I actually find sewing 6mm seams on my serger almost impossible and end up using a machine zig-zag instead! (but am a beginner sergist).
4/7/10 10:09 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a nice review of this pattern. I love that fabric!
4/7/10 10:12 PM
katlew03 said...
Looks great on you. Both tops are very pretty.
4/7/10 10:45 PM
Christas said...
What a pretty pattern! The fabric is gorgeous!
4/7/10 10:56 PM
fourkid said...
Lovely - I just love looking at your projects - they are always so clever and beautiful.
4/7/10 11:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for those lovely compliments. Claire Emily, my understanding of the seam allowance question is that wider allowances are more old-fashioned and geared to finishes like zigzagging; turning the seam allowance under and stitching down; and flat fell or french seams. Narrow seam allowances are geared to serging (overlocking), which is used in industry and by tailors and dressmakers. There is no need to trim excess fabric afterwards so narrow seam allowances supposedly save fabric because a garment can be squeezed out of a smaller piece.
4/8/10 1:03 AM
jannw said...
very nice top..thanx for the heads up about the seam allowance for those of us without sergers. Beautiful fabric and thank you for the link.
4/8/10 1:21 AM
Renren said...
Hmm, "Tunics are my only hope." Perhaps my new motto? Very nice fabric and top. I am reading Nancy Zieman's "10-20-30 Minutes to Sew," and she has you interface both top and bottom of the collar, too. I think she says it looks better, and I believe that was her only reasoning.
4/8/10 1:49 AM
Barbara V said...
Your lovely fabric and pattern fit nicely into your ethnic clothes project. I agree, it's really difficult to cut those tiny seam allowances unless one is very sure of the fit. Your solution worked well and it looks great on you!
4/8/10 12:44 PM
Margaret said...
Excellent review -- the fabric looks perfect for this pattern, and thanks for pointing out the gusset construction!
4/8/10 2:27 PM
Izzie said...
I love both of your tunics and both fabrics are gorgeous! Thanks for the excellent review.
4/8/10 11:16 PM
Paisley said...
This is the most entertaining and well-written review I've ever read on PR. Very helpful, too! I'm on a multi-year quest to become my own salwar kameez tailor, so I value your fitting suggestions.
9/28/12 1:28 PM
cherylz said...
This must be an early KS design, I recently did a jacket that had 5/8" seam allowances. Whatever, I agree that 1/4" is quite skimpy-- my Elna serger takes up a fat 1/4", I'd call it 3/8". And for French seams you need at least 3/8", 1/2" is safer, before you trim to 1/4 turn and sew a seam enclosing the 1/4". I have heard its an industrial habit, to save fabric, etc but I guess I need to visit an industrial sewing factory to appreciate how such a skimpy allowance is going to work out well.
8/4/13 0:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us