Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1016 (Guy Laroche Designer Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 988 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo
About noodlesewstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/10 5:59 AM
Last Updated:5/1/10 6:05 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Wow, sounds like you have a lot of work into this (not to mention fabric) and it didn't work out. I am sorry about the neckline, I would have that problem too. Maybe someone here might have suggestions so all that doesn't go to waste.
4/4/10 10:12 AM
whirrclunk said...
I'm sorry that this dress didn't work out, looks so promising... Maybe you'll get some ideas with time on how to fix it. Thank you for the really clear review.
4/4/10 4:13 PM
Lynn67 said...
Thanks for the really helpful review. Any chance we could get a pic? I wondered what a "peanut look" was, and whether this would work on my figure or not (flat bony chest with large hips). Sorry you put all that work into it!
4/5/10 8:10 AM
Lynn67 said...
Oops - found the pics - sorry. It looks like it would be very elegant, but not for my figure either!
4/5/10 8:13 AM
petro said...
Sorry you're having problems - its a lovely dress. Have you thought about making an underbodice with channelled boning and a back fastening so you're not dependent on the bra fit?
4/5/10 9:49 AM
noodlesew said...
I'm not sure of the best approach to make the upper bodice work for me. So much drama for my Easter weekend project! Not only are the bust points too close to the neckline, at 23 cm apart, they are too wide as well. Maybe I should do something with ruffle like the pink dress in Vogue V8288 or a chiffon cover like Butterick B5182. I'll investigate the underbodice idea as well. I don't look like a model, but with good sewing skills and selecting the right pattern, we can feel like the model on the envelope :)
4/6/10 4:12 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Could you meld the skirt portion on to a better suited bodice pattern of your liking? the drape of the back is pretty nifty! Thank for the informative review... neat design, fun to see a real person tackle such an involved project and so sad it is not working for you at this moment... Maybe someone here on PR will post the perfect solution... I have my fingers crossed for you.
5/1/10 8:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2633
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/20/10
Read Review

Burda 7111 Pattern
Burda 7111 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6079 Vintage 6079
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 9/2/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us