SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1016 (Guy Laroche Designer Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1017 times 
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo

 
 
About noodlesewstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/10 5:59 AM
Last Updated:5/1/10 6:05 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Could you meld the skirt portion on to a better suited bodice pattern of your liking? the drape of the back is pretty nifty! Thank for the informative review... neat design, fun to see a real person tackle such an involved project and so sad it is not working for you at this moment... Maybe someone here on PR will post the perfect solution... I have my fingers crossed for you.
5/1/10 8:58 AM
noodlesew said...
I'm not sure of the best approach to make the upper bodice work for me. So much drama for my Easter weekend project! Not only are the bust points too close to the neckline, at 23 cm apart, they are too wide as well. Maybe I should do something with ruffle like the pink dress in Vogue V8288 or a chiffon cover like Butterick B5182. I'll investigate the underbodice idea as well. I don't look like a model, but with good sewing skills and selecting the right pattern, we can feel like the model on the envelope :)
4/6/10 4:12 AM
petro said...
Sorry you're having problems - its a lovely dress. Have you thought about making an underbodice with channelled boning and a back fastening so you're not dependent on the bra fit?
4/5/10 9:49 AM
Lynn67 said...
Oops - found the pics - sorry. It looks like it would be very elegant, but not for my figure either!
4/5/10 8:13 AM
Lynn67 said...
Thanks for the really helpful review. Any chance we could get a pic? I wondered what a "peanut look" was, and whether this would work on my figure or not (flat bony chest with large hips). Sorry you put all that work into it!
4/5/10 8:10 AM
whirrclunk said...
I'm sorry that this dress didn't work out, looks so promising... Maybe you'll get some ideas with time on how to fix it. Thank you for the really clear review.
4/4/10 4:13 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, sounds like you have a lot of work into this (not to mention fabric) and it didn't work out. I am sorry about the neckline, I would have that problem too. Maybe someone here might have suggestions so all that doesn't go to waste.
4/4/10 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Ollie Tunic

photo
by: mudcat

Review