SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1016 (Guy Laroche Designer Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1067 times 
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo

 
 
About noodlesewstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews: 51 (patterns: 50)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/10 5:59 AM
Last Updated:5/1/10 6:05 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 
Review Rating:
Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Swim Style Patterns


Swimwear Gymwear Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Nancy Rhodes said... (5/1/10 8:58 AM) Reply
Could you meld the skirt portion on to a better suited bodice pattern of your liking? the drape of the back is pretty nifty! Thank for the informative review... neat design, fun to see a real person tackle such an involved project and so sad it is not working for you at this moment... Maybe someone here on PR will post the perfect solution... I have my fingers crossed for you.
noodlesew said... (4/6/10 4:12 AM) Reply
I'm not sure of the best approach to make the upper bodice work for me. So much drama for my Easter weekend project! Not only are the bust points too close to the neckline, at 23 cm apart, they are too wide as well. Maybe I should do something with ruffle like the pink dress in Vogue V8288 or a chiffon cover like Butterick B5182. I'll investigate the underbodice idea as well. I don't look like a model, but with good sewing skills and selecting the right pattern, we can feel like the model on the envelope :)
petro said... (4/5/10 9:49 AM) Reply
Sorry you're having problems - its a lovely dress. Have you thought about making an underbodice with channelled boning and a back fastening so you're not dependent on the bra fit?
Lynn67 said... (4/5/10 8:13 AM) Reply
Oops - found the pics - sorry. It looks like it would be very elegant, but not for my figure either!
Lynn67 said... (4/5/10 8:10 AM) Reply
Thanks for the really helpful review. Any chance we could get a pic? I wondered what a "peanut look" was, and whether this would work on my figure or not (flat bony chest with large hips). Sorry you put all that work into it!
whirrclunk said... (4/4/10 4:13 PM) Reply
I'm sorry that this dress didn't work out, looks so promising... Maybe you'll get some ideas with time on how to fix it. Thank you for the really clear review.
Re Becca said... (4/4/10 10:12 AM) Reply
Wow, sounds like you have a lot of work into this (not to mention fabric) and it didn't work out. I am sorry about the neckline, I would have that problem too. Maybe someone here might have suggestions so all that doesn't go to waste.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Sew Simple brigitte dress

photo
by: allwrapped...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8965

photo
by: SemJo

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details