Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-108 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 418 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/10 2:48 PM
Last Updated:4/4/10 3:56 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Could you post a pic of the dress as it appears in the magazine, for those of us without Burda?
4/4/10 3:18 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Cute dress!
4/4/10 3:24 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, I liked this style in the magazine so it is great to see a review of it. I love the print you have used.
4/4/10 3:27 PM
Nan Kay said...
I was think about making this, and am curious if you used the zipper, I can't tell from the picture if it is needed! I like what you did with the sleeve, I am a little mature for puffy sleeves. Your print is great.
4/4/10 4:32 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Nan Kay, yes, I did use a zipper in the back. This dress is somewhat fitted, so you NEED a zipper in the back if you're using woven fabric!
4/4/10 5:03 PM
Nan Kay said...
Thanks, I should have mentioned I am planning to make it out of ITTY! I have a border print that needs a straight hem line!
4/4/10 5:40 PM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful. I've been looking at this pattern. Did you raise the neckline? It looks like it might be a little low for my taste.
4/4/10 6:48 PM
1betsy1 said...
What a beautiful dress. This is on my "Next to Sew list". Thank you
4/4/10 7:34 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Billie Jean, I did not raise the neckline. It's a bit low and shows a little cleavage (if you have it, and I don't have much), so you might want to think about raising the neckline.
4/4/10 8:46 PM
Kim12469 said...
I almost traced this but was worried about the front pleats adding volume to the tummy area. Does it? Your version is so cute it really makes me want to make it!
4/5/10 8:15 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
I don't think the pleats add too much volume to the tummy area . . . give it a shot!! I think you'll like the dress . . . I do!
4/6/10 8:01 PM
katharin said...
Thank you for this review. I was wondering about this dress, now I really want to make it. I love all your dresses.
4/23/10 9:26 AM
gsp1066 said...
I am planning a trip to Tanzania in Dec 2010 and I was looking at this dress, too. Thanks for the review and I will definitely try this pattern. Where did you go and where did you buy fabric?
5/12/10 7:09 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
GSP, I attended a conference in Arusha, Tanzania and bought fabric in the marketplace in town. It was QUITE the experience dealing with the vendors, but it was just amazing to see the different fabrics. If you go to Arusha, take cash . . . hardly anyplace (except the hotels) take credit cards!
5/13/10 7:35 AM
sewslow67 said...
Allyn, I always appreciate your reviews as you get the point yet give enough information to be most helpful. Your dress (as are all of your other garments) is beautiful and looks lovely on you. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your projects that inspire us all.
7/17/10 2:31 PM
sewslow67 said...
I can't seem to figure out which issue of Burda Style this pattern came from. Would you please clarify? Thanks.
7/17/10 7:01 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
This pattern came from the April 2010 Burda Style.
7/18/10 6:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other LL014
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 6/1/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5199
photo
Review by suzikabloo... on 3/1/06
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us