SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-108 

2 more reviews
Viewed 421 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/10 2:48 PM
Last Updated:4/4/10 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Could you post a pic of the dress as it appears in the magazine, for those of us without Burda?
4/4/10 3:18 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Cute dress!
4/4/10 3:24 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, I liked this style in the magazine so it is great to see a review of it. I love the print you have used.
4/4/10 3:27 PM
Nan Kay said...
I was think about making this, and am curious if you used the zipper, I can't tell from the picture if it is needed! I like what you did with the sleeve, I am a little mature for puffy sleeves. Your print is great.
4/4/10 4:32 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Nan Kay, yes, I did use a zipper in the back. This dress is somewhat fitted, so you NEED a zipper in the back if you're using woven fabric!
4/4/10 5:03 PM
Nan Kay said...
Thanks, I should have mentioned I am planning to make it out of ITTY! I have a border print that needs a straight hem line!
4/4/10 5:40 PM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful. I've been looking at this pattern. Did you raise the neckline? It looks like it might be a little low for my taste.
4/4/10 6:48 PM
1betsy1 said...
What a beautiful dress. This is on my "Next to Sew list". Thank you
4/4/10 7:34 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Billie Jean, I did not raise the neckline. It's a bit low and shows a little cleavage (if you have it, and I don't have much), so you might want to think about raising the neckline.
4/4/10 8:46 PM
Kim12469 said...
I almost traced this but was worried about the front pleats adding volume to the tummy area. Does it? Your version is so cute it really makes me want to make it!
4/5/10 8:15 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
I don't think the pleats add too much volume to the tummy area . . . give it a shot!! I think you'll like the dress . . . I do!
4/6/10 8:01 PM
katharin said...
Thank you for this review. I was wondering about this dress, now I really want to make it. I love all your dresses.
4/23/10 9:26 AM
gsp1066 said...
I am planning a trip to Tanzania in Dec 2010 and I was looking at this dress, too. Thanks for the review and I will definitely try this pattern. Where did you go and where did you buy fabric?
5/12/10 7:09 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
GSP, I attended a conference in Arusha, Tanzania and bought fabric in the marketplace in town. It was QUITE the experience dealing with the vendors, but it was just amazing to see the different fabrics. If you go to Arusha, take cash . . . hardly anyplace (except the hotels) take credit cards!
5/13/10 7:35 AM
sewslow67 said...
Allyn, I always appreciate your reviews as you get the point yet give enough information to be most helpful. Your dress (as are all of your other garments) is beautiful and looks lovely on you. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your projects that inspire us all.
7/17/10 2:31 PM
sewslow67 said...
I can't seem to figure out which issue of Burda Style this pattern came from. Would you please clarify? Thanks.
7/17/10 7:01 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
This pattern came from the April 2010 Burda Style.
7/18/10 6:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

StyleArc Ollie Tunic

photo
by: mudcat

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now