Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Duvet Cover (Duvet Cover) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1050 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Donnamae
photo
About Donnamaestar
CO USA
Member since: 3/20/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/04 9:01 PM
Last Updated:4/4/04 9:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
The cats had to make certain to get their fur on it! Wow, 10 yards. I can see someone using this in multiple fabrics to reduce their fabric stash. :p
4/5/04 8:18 PM
JDpenelope said...
Donnamae, where did you get your instructions? I know what you mean about the time and expense of making one of these! But, problem is, it's difficult to find exactly what you want sometimes. Now that it's done, it's worth it, don't you think--even if you wouldn't do it again! I like your button idea and agree about the ties. You remind me that I really *must* make the 2nd of two matching fleece covers. I used a print and plain fabric (for framing borders). I added panels at the top and bottom, which increased the complexity of the math logarithmically!
4/6/04 8:24 AM
Donnamae said...
Penelope, the link to the directions is the pattern photo. You are right about getting exactly what you want by making it yourself. I am happy with the results.
4/6/04 12:00 PM
Annette H said...
Donamae, I went through a phase of making artistic duvet covers. With panels of Indian sari fabric , with stripes on one side and hearts on the other - I had a lot of fun. But double-bed size really is a lot of fabric to handle. I'm about to make a single size in a natural linen - I also make the pillow cases to mix and match. People love them!
4/6/04 4:52 PM
JDpenelope said...
Donnamae, Oh thanks for the link. I will study it and compare with my instructions. I have also used velcro for keeping the insides from shifting. I read somewhere about adding a ruffle around the bottom of the cover, in case the cover isn't big enough to mask all of the mattress and springs. Another option that I have done: Sew a coordinating ruffle to a mattress cover, then install it on top of the springs (and under the mattress). This also hides any unslightly mattress/springs box stuff.
4/10/04 9:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Downloadable 10003 Twister Dress
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 1/30/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by KarlaB on 1/26/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us