Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design Magazine: 03-2009-35 (Eliza Dress) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 185 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/10 5:46 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I adore this dress. It hangs beautifully on the lovely Jenna, and it's a perfect style for her age. Love the pleated details and the perfectly stitched pink bow. The dress is expertly made, which is evident even from the wrong side! Now that you've traced all of those fiddly pieces and are a pro at seaming it together, I certainly hope to see another version of this gorgeous dress!
4/6/10 6:30 PM
ClaireEmily said...
This dress is beautiful. Your daughter looks lovely!
4/6/10 7:03 PM
Annette1 said...
I agree with Anne Marie, you MUST make another of these little jewels. After all, you've done ALL that tracing and marking, so it will go SOOOOOOOO much faster this time. (Okay, maybe not, but I'm still voting for another one.) THIS one is just BEAUTIFUL, as is Miss Jenna wearing it. PERFECT-ISIMO!
4/6/10 8:45 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
;) Happy daughters, happy mums!!
4/6/10 8:48 PM
Peggy L said...
This is such a great dress on Jenna! The fabric is perfect even though it was fiddley (is that a word:) Even before I read the comments, I was going to say the same thing - you have spent so much time tracing you really should make a second one. Great job on this one!!!
4/6/10 11:23 PM
michalklimer said...
it looks so pretty!
4/6/10 11:40 PM
Renren said...
Oh, so beautiful! I love those dainty little pleats and the pink bow. She looks so pleased and pretty in her new dress!
4/7/10 3:59 AM
eugenia123 said...
Oh my, this dress is so beautiful and Jenna looks so pretty in it! I love that fabric and the bow and pleats are wonderful. The result is well worth all your effort!
4/7/10 7:29 AM
carolynw said...
Not only do you make beautiful dresses you are soooo lucky to have all these beautiful daughters to make them for - color me green - two sons and three grandsons - not a girl in sight!! Great work as always and Jenna looks beautiful
4/7/10 9:30 AM
Barbara V said...
You must work well under pressure...14 pattern pieces, Burda instructions, the night before Easter....you pulled it off beautifully! I love Jenna's dress and how pretty she looks in it. The lovely fabric combined with your attention to detail make this an exquisite creation.
4/7/10 9:36 AM
Catbird said...
I can see why Jenna loves this dress -- it's absolutely beautiful and she looks as pretty as a flower in a garden. It's so interesting about the intricacy of the pattern pieces needed to create something that looks effortless and lighter than air! I love the design. This is a perfect Easter dress that she can wear all spring and summer. Your girls are so lucky.
4/7/10 12:18 PM
morzel said...
Your daughter looks great in her new dress. Thanks for the hint on time-management.
4/7/10 3:44 PM
Karendee said...
This lovely linen dress is just perfect for Jenna's age and style. She looks beautiful in the cool looking spring frock and I can see why another dress has been requested. After seeing the close-up of the front detail, I see why it was more difficult to construct. Would it be necessary to line a more opaque fabric? Perhaps try that. Anyway, I'll await part 2; dress #1 turned out perfectly.
4/7/10 5:03 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is so pretty! i totally agree that it is a great "tweenish" dress. it does have an effortless look to it, which is tough when no lay person could tell how much work it was! but great job as always-
4/7/10 8:49 PM
alviana said...
adoreable!!! u did a great job! she looks soooo cute!
4/7/10 9:21 PM
Mahler said...
Lovely and so romantic. Bravo madame !
4/8/10 1:05 PM
Mahler said...
Grr I got a double comment sorry... Well I think twice what I wrote in the previous comment ;-)
4/8/10 1:05 PM
callmeRuth said...
I agree that this style is perfect for a girl of Jenna's age. The dress is absolutely beautiful, and you did a great job sewing it.
4/11/10 11:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used SiovhonCouture
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 4/7/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4440
photo
Review by emo on 9/10/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 302 Pattern
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us