Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Controlled Exposure: 55 (Mountain Pants) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 569 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/10 4:00 AM
Last Updated:4/27/10 8:13 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Very impressive!!! I'll be following your progress.
4/7/10 4:02 AM
Sharonspils said...
Wow, you are doing a great job and I am very interested in the seam sealing.
4/7/10 4:24 AM
pterion said...
Really interested in hearing about your experience with this pattern! It looks great so far. I've been looking at skiwear patterns and technical fabrics. What were your sources for the fabric and special notions?
4/7/10 9:21 AM
Christas said...
Wow! You have done a wonderful job on these! I am sure your DH will be so proud of his new ski pants.
4/7/10 9:30 AM
jannw said...
Great job..will look forward to the second installment!
4/7/10 10:32 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for you review. It's great to see someone who likes to sew technical apparell! Compared to the cost of buying, considering technical materials are expensive, do you figure it's worth it?
4/7/10 12:09 PM
velosewer said...
Wow. Waterproofing is a skill I'd love to learn. Good job.
4/7/10 6:11 PM
o3b said...
Great review so far! I always read your reviews b/c they are so detailed and fun. They are also unique.
4/8/10 1:17 AM
SusiM said...
Thank you for sharing your experience with this pattern so far. Especially about the taping. I'd always wondered how well that works for the home sewer. Looking forward to the rest!
4/10/10 1:08 AM
Sharonspils said...
Wow you have done a fantastic job and DH is such a good sport modelling them for us.
4/27/10 1:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I'm super impressed! Excellent job. Thanks for the helpful review too.
4/27/10 3:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very impressive. Well done.
4/27/10 4:59 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, you did a great job! Very impressed with your courage in all those technicalities. So tell me, now that he's had time to test these thoroughly, do the water-resistant zippers make a huge difference? And how did you manage taping around the zippers? Thanks :-)..
4/27/10 6:54 AM
Sarsez said...
Your pants are so impressive, I've dragged my DH over for a look. He's sold! Did you line them? I've looked up the pattern and it calls for lining.
4/27/10 8:32 AM
RLL said...
Yea, I'm impressed!
4/27/10 9:14 AM
Renren said...
You've brought it on home! Great finish to what looks like a really detailed, complicated project. The pants are not only super functional, they look super nice!
4/27/10 9:56 AM
katlew03 said...
Very good review with lots of details. The results look great.
4/27/10 11:33 AM
homejewel said...
This is just amazing. Think of the savings over the years because of your efforts. Great job. Rose City Textiles in Portland, Oregon specializes in activewear-type fabrics. My head spins when going in there - I don't know what it all is, but Annette does. Their website may be lacking. If you want, PM me and I will call Annette and ask specific questions for you. She ships internationally.
4/27/10 12:35 PM
jannw said...
wonderful job!! so glad to see the finished project. The next pair will go faster and those savings will mount up. Thanx for posting the costs..I found that interesting
4/27/10 10:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
These are SO impressive! They look fantastic. I was shocked at how much a very basic pair of unlined ski pants cost and these are SO much better. Such amazing work!
4/28/10 4:48 AM
Skymom said...
Fantastic pants, and excellent, helpful review. I checked your other reviews and was delighted to see you'd made gaiters. My Boy Scout son needs some, and I wanted to make them--will try to emulate your success in technical outerwear sewing!
4/28/10 12:16 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow!! These look fantastic!! It's great that all of your effort paid off with such a result. Thank you for the excellent review.
4/28/10 3:49 PM
gunnawunday said...
Way way cool!
6/10/10 2:17 AM
Bushbunny said...
Thanks for writing such a thoroughly descriptive review. Now I must make a pair ;-)
9/5/10 1:01 PM
Janine S said...
Great work
10/1/10 3:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick B4332 Winter Hat
photo
Review by SandraKay1 on 3/8/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8534 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 3/30/09
Read Review

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us