SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2497 (C. Rowley Ruffle Neck Dress)

59 more reviews
Viewed 1139 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/8/10 9:40 AM
Last Updated:9/6/11 2:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nan Kay said...
Wonderful dress, it looks very expensive!!
4/8/10 9:49 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Lovely dress! You look FAB : )
4/8/10 9:51 AM
Gelbean said...
So glad you were able to save the VW fabric. The dress is so pretty.
4/8/10 10:07 AM
michababy said...
You hit this one out of the park! You look so beautiful - strike that, amazing...nice work. You should be happy about this one, it looks like it was made for you - a true ultimate accomplishment in the world of sewing!
4/8/10 10:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Really, really nice style and you look lovely in it.
4/8/10 11:10 AM
quixoticpixels said...
That turned out fantastic! Now I know what to do with some not-so-pretty slipper satin I have...I'm going to dye it too. Kudos on the fantastic dress
4/8/10 11:39 AM
SueV said...
cute! I have this on my sewing table ready to cut; your review is timely! I'm thinking this may be my "cocktail" dress for Montreal.
4/8/10 11:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
I'm pretty sure the people who complimented you actually liked the dress. It is so cute and stylish. The ruffled neckline is very flattering.
4/8/10 12:21 PM
MaryDB said...
Very nice! Looks terrific and you did a wonderful job. I have had this pattern in the queue with the same fabric for some time now; thanks for the nudge to get going on it.
4/8/10 12:33 PM
Riordan said...
Darling dress, and you look lovely!! The color is very pretty on you, too.
4/8/10 12:38 PM
Ann Smith said...
I think it looks fantastic. The color is exceptional on you.
4/8/10 12:38 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Stunning . . . what a GREAT color! I think it looks very flattering on you!
4/8/10 1:09 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Beautifully done. I love the color on you.
4/8/10 1:46 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress, beautiful color, amazing job, looks great on you! :)
4/8/10 2:00 PM
Mufffet said...
Great looking dress - very chic!
4/8/10 2:11 PM
Mirakel said...
It turned out great and the color is beautiful on you. I hope to make this dress one day, when I'm a little more experienced. Thanks for the helpful tips!
4/8/10 3:19 PM
carolynw said...
Looks lovely - great save of the fabric. Elegant and so stylish. If i ever make this will use your suggestion of moving the zipper to center back.
4/8/10 5:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! It's absolutely stunning. Well done.
4/8/10 5:21 PM
Christas said...
Very nice! Lovely color!
4/8/10 6:02 PM
Jatman said...
So beautiful! And what a great color for you!
4/8/10 6:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous dress! Love the colour and the style on you. It looks perfect for the wedding you attended, and I know those compliments were all sincere. How could they not be with such a gorgeous dress?
4/8/10 7:19 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful dress that's quite flattering on you. The reason your friends offered compliments about your dress is because it is stunning and looks couture!
4/8/10 8:05 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Looks great and that's a super photo, too.
4/8/10 8:19 PM
poplin said...
Wow... comments with photos!

You look amazing in that dress. Wonderful color. Very flattering neckline.
4/8/10 9:27 PM
Terri A said...
Cute! Nice save on the fabric too. It looks vibrant.
4/8/10 9:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress! I really love this color on you.
4/9/10 0:04 AM
DebJ said...
Wonderful as usual. Beautiful colour and thanks for such a thorough review with pictures. It looks terrific on you.
4/9/10 7:45 AM
SaraDK said...
The dress looks stunning! I'm going to make the same one for a wedding in May in a similar color and really appreciate the detailed review!
4/9/10 1:20 PM
waltzqueen said...
Ooooouuu - you made THE DRESS! I've been drooling over it for months but I don't think it would work on me. You look sensational in that style and that color is fabulous with your coloring. No wonder you were drowning in compliments.
4/9/10 4:31 PM
Secretsugar said...
This is the first time I've seen this dress where I actually liked it. I don't think your fellow wedding guests were trying to be nice--it looks great on you and highlights your face nicely. I agree with other commenters, too--the color is fantastic with your coloring!
4/9/10 8:36 PM
senaSews said...
Unfortunately, i wasn't able to leave a comment on your blog lately. So i will do it here: This version of the dress is adorable. So cute and so you! I wish you a happy belated birthday!
9/6/11 2:50 PM
Aixoise said...
Clearly this pattern was designed just for you. Great dresses, lovely work, very helpful review(s).
9/6/11 3:22 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Both dresses looks adorable on you!!!
9/6/11 3:59 PM
halleyscomet said...
So cute! Boy that collar looks like a challenge!
9/6/11 4:44 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Both dresses are winners. I think the skirts fit so well, when they could have been poofy front or back. Good job.
9/6/11 6:37 PM
Deepika said...
There is so much good info in this review. I am making this dress next so your tips will really be helpful. Thanks for reviewing it. I love both your versions.
11/30/11 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1008

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: staymay

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now