Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8607 (Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1594 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:eodwif
photo
About eodwif
UT USA
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/04 10:19 AM
Last Updated:4/5/04 10:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your pants look great! I must have skipped over this one in the catalog. Sometimes I can make the same pattern,no changes, but with a different fabric get an entire different look...and fit! We are all in the same boat! :)
4/5/04 10:38 AM
CarrieA said...
Oh boy, can I relate to choosing the right fabric! I think I'm about 50/50 when it comes to that. My wadders are usually due to fabric choice, not so much construction, so I totally agree that a class in that makes great sense. If we analyze your fabric choices, did the green have more body (or less drape) than the red?
4/5/04 11:34 AM
Mini said...
This look like another excellent Burda pants pattern that I will have to try. Fabric does make a difference! Usually, I find that a smooth fabric is more slimming, and a napped (fuzzy) surface adds visual weight. But if you wear the red pair with a longer smooth fabric top, the pants will look slimmer. Sometimes you can test for "fat" or "skinny" fabric in advance just by draping the intended fabric on your figure and taking a candid look in the mirror.
4/5/04 3:52 PM
Hilary said...
Cute pants! I agree fabric choices make a huge difference, and it does take some practice (I think a class would be great for new sewists) I always had trouble with that and just recently started getting better results~ Mini's idea is a good one~I always take a potential fabric to the mirror and drape it over myself to see if I like it. Since I started doing that I have actually been able to (happily) wear the things I make :o)
4/5/04 5:32 PM
MsConnie said...
Your pants look great! I have made these pants 4 times myself & I love love love them! The pattern photo looks very low cut, but they fit me perfectly. I shortened the length about 1" & it was all they needed. All of them are from fairly drapey fabric - the linen pair is too large, so I'll need to adjust them before wearing this year. My least favorite choice was the "muslin" I made from a Hawaiian printed sheet - a little too stiff! And I've been sewing over 40 years, so it's an ongoing process to get the perfect match!
4/19/04 10:00 PM
cynthia w said...
I am a fellow Utahan. Do you live in Utah County, like I do? If so, tell me your favorite place to buy fabric. It is slim-pickins here in Provo except for Joann's. Email me at applejacks26@yahoo.com
5/3/04 2:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us