SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8607 (Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1594 times 
Reviewed by:eodwif
photo

 
 
About eodwif
UT USA
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/04 10:19 AM
Last Updated:4/5/04 10:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Your pants look great! I must have skipped over this one in the catalog. Sometimes I can make the same pattern,no changes, but with a different fabric get an entire different look...and fit! We are all in the same boat! :)
4/5/04 10:38 AM
CarrieA said...
Oh boy, can I relate to choosing the right fabric! I think I'm about 50/50 when it comes to that. My wadders are usually due to fabric choice, not so much construction, so I totally agree that a class in that makes great sense. If we analyze your fabric choices, did the green have more body (or less drape) than the red?
4/5/04 11:34 AM
Mini said...
This look like another excellent Burda pants pattern that I will have to try. Fabric does make a difference! Usually, I find that a smooth fabric is more slimming, and a napped (fuzzy) surface adds visual weight. But if you wear the red pair with a longer smooth fabric top, the pants will look slimmer. Sometimes you can test for "fat" or "skinny" fabric in advance just by draping the intended fabric on your figure and taking a candid look in the mirror.
4/5/04 3:52 PM
Hilary said...
Cute pants! I agree fabric choices make a huge difference, and it does take some practice (I think a class would be great for new sewists) I always had trouble with that and just recently started getting better results~ Mini's idea is a good one~I always take a potential fabric to the mirror and drape it over myself to see if I like it. Since I started doing that I have actually been able to (happily) wear the things I make :o)
4/5/04 5:32 PM
MsConnie said...
Your pants look great! I have made these pants 4 times myself & I love love love them! The pattern photo looks very low cut, but they fit me perfectly. I shortened the length about 1" & it was all they needed. All of them are from fairly drapey fabric - the linen pair is too large, so I'll need to adjust them before wearing this year. My least favorite choice was the "muslin" I made from a Hawaiian printed sheet - a little too stiff! And I've been sewing over 40 years, so it's an ongoing process to get the perfect match!
4/19/04 10:00 PM
cynthia w said...
I am a fellow Utahan. Do you live in Utah County, like I do? If so, tell me your favorite place to buy fabric. It is slim-pickins here in Provo except for Joann's. Email me at applejacks26@yahoo.com
5/3/04 2:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now