Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1140 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 363 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:AZTempest
photo
About AZTempest
AZ USA
Member since: 9/7/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/10 3:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
This looks like a very pretty top and sorry to hear about your problems with the pattern. I wonder what the pattern companies would say to mistakes in their patterns?
4/10/10 8:54 AM
elsew said...
It is reviews like yours that make Patter Review so very valuable to all of us and I thank you so much for your very detailed review of the problems of this pattern. It just makes us aware that the written instructions on the pattern guidesheets are not always so and that to go with our gut instincts from past sewing projects is sometimes the very best way to approach the construction of a given garment. Thanks again for your help to me...to all of us!
4/10/10 3:42 PM
TJSEWS said...
I notice that this pattern is a Sandra Betzina pattern. I recently worked on a Sandra Betzina pattern (Vogue 1036 - I did a review) and it was full of problems and there was a major mistake on the sleeve. I wrote to Vogue and they thanked me for my concerns and said they were working on correcting the sleeve measurement. But I think they should have done more....like send an email out or put an alert on their website so people know. Well, this is where PR comes in - we are lucky to have this forum to discuss these types of issues. Thank you for your honest review!
4/10/10 6:36 PM
cleverclogs said...
I've just done the muslin for this and you are quite right about the placket and band instructions. It spoils a rather pretty pattern. I also found it a bit hard to interpret the drawing and instructions for attaching the upper pieces with the sleeves – the drawing should make clearer that you are to butt the front and back sleeves. The side seams were pretty much OK on me –basically they only needed to come in little at the bottom. So this might be an issue of individual shape rather than a pattern problem? Like the other commenters, I really appreciate your drawing attention to the problem.
2/10/11 9:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

No Pattern Used Sewing machine cover
photo
Review by Nessa09 on 4/12/10
Read Review

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3601
photo
Review by mhoutz on 8/4/13
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us