SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8600 (MISSES' JACKET)

7 more reviews
Viewed 664 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/10 11:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
It sure looks good in spite of it all. Hate those annoying fabrics. I have this on my list of jackets to make so I love your testing it for me. A fashionable rain jacket for sure!
4/12/10 0:03 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh how I hate those fabrics. Your jacket ended niceless despite the headaches. I hope it rains soon so you get to wear it. :)
4/12/10 0:54 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a beautiful jacket! Enjoy wearing it.
4/12/10 1:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your jacket looks fantastic. And you get an A+ for perseverance.
4/12/10 6:27 AM
Jane S said...
You fought the fabric and you won! Your jacket looks fantastic, despite the technical difficulties.
4/12/10 7:58 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
there is always the shower in the bathroom option in case you have not been able to try it out yet. . . . Well done in spite of the trials the VW techno put you through.
4/12/10 8:47 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Nice jacket! I have this pattern, but keep wondering if it is too arty- yours looks fabulous! Guess I have my answer.
4/12/10 8:53 AM
MaryDB said...
Love the jacket, thanks for the review - of the fabric, too. Nice work.
4/12/10 9:46 AM
snuzal said...
Love this! I may just have to have it
4/12/10 10:23 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jackets looks beautiful! With the challenging fabric, you did an EXCELLENT job. Even though a hassle, this is the type of fabric that gives the jacket a really unique look. If it's not raining in your area, come to central California.....we're in our second day of rain here!
4/12/10 10:26 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Love this. I almost bought this pattern many times but other reviewers said it wasn't as curved (more boxy) as it looked, but yours looks just right. What do you think of the fit?
4/12/10 12:37 PM
SueV said...
Christine 99: You asked about the fit: I like the fit. It's an outerwear jacket, so I would not want it tight or too fitted. I like the tucks and think it gives it enough fit to nip in the waist without it being tight. It looks like rain today, so I wore it! Love it! thanks
4/12/10 1:24 PM
EveS said...
Sue, I ADORE this jacket! What an upgrade from the plain ol' slicker...I'd want rain every day!! And I think your choice of fabric totally removes any "arty"ness the pattern had (like Connie mentioned) and gives it a serious edge. As much as you say you hated the fabric I'm wishing I had it! I have some of the VW techno, but not the satin. This is cool looking stuff! (sorry for your pain, tho...I admire your perseverance) This jacket rocks! :)
4/12/10 2:49 PM
Kathi R said...
Sue, you are the fastest reviewer in the west....I wish I had the discipline to write the review as soon as the proejct is finished....and I think I see the floor in your sewing room, good for you! Nice jacket, you will be well dressed for rain.
4/12/10 7:14 PM
Byrdie said...
Wow! I wouldn't have thought to do this pattern as a rainwair piece- but it looks awesome! Even though your fabric was troublesome, it came out great!
4/12/10 8:55 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket! It would make me like the rain so much more if I had such a pretty jacket to wear! You did a very nice job of sewing this.
4/13/10 0:16 AM
Terri A said...
Very nice jacket!
4/14/10 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-141

photo
by: Renren

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2460

photo
by: JennaF

Review