Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8600 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 662 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/10 11:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
It sure looks good in spite of it all. Hate those annoying fabrics. I have this on my list of jackets to make so I love your testing it for me. A fashionable rain jacket for sure!
4/12/10 0:03 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh how I hate those fabrics. Your jacket ended niceless despite the headaches. I hope it rains soon so you get to wear it. :)
4/12/10 0:54 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a beautiful jacket! Enjoy wearing it.
4/12/10 1:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your jacket looks fantastic. And you get an A+ for perseverance.
4/12/10 6:27 AM
Jane S said...
You fought the fabric and you won! Your jacket looks fantastic, despite the technical difficulties.
4/12/10 7:58 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
there is always the shower in the bathroom option in case you have not been able to try it out yet. . . . Well done in spite of the trials the VW techno put you through.
4/12/10 8:47 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Nice jacket! I have this pattern, but keep wondering if it is too arty- yours looks fabulous! Guess I have my answer.
4/12/10 8:53 AM
MaryDB said...
Love the jacket, thanks for the review - of the fabric, too. Nice work.
4/12/10 9:46 AM
snuzal said...
Love this! I may just have to have it
4/12/10 10:23 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jackets looks beautiful! With the challenging fabric, you did an EXCELLENT job. Even though a hassle, this is the type of fabric that gives the jacket a really unique look. If it's not raining in your area, come to central California.....we're in our second day of rain here!
4/12/10 10:26 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Love this. I almost bought this pattern many times but other reviewers said it wasn't as curved (more boxy) as it looked, but yours looks just right. What do you think of the fit?
4/12/10 12:37 PM
SueV said...
Christine 99: You asked about the fit: I like the fit. It's an outerwear jacket, so I would not want it tight or too fitted. I like the tucks and think it gives it enough fit to nip in the waist without it being tight. It looks like rain today, so I wore it! Love it! thanks
4/12/10 1:24 PM
EveS said...
Sue, I ADORE this jacket! What an upgrade from the plain ol' slicker...I'd want rain every day!! And I think your choice of fabric totally removes any "arty"ness the pattern had (like Connie mentioned) and gives it a serious edge. As much as you say you hated the fabric I'm wishing I had it! I have some of the VW techno, but not the satin. This is cool looking stuff! (sorry for your pain, tho...I admire your perseverance) This jacket rocks! :)
4/12/10 2:49 PM
Kathi R said...
Sue, you are the fastest reviewer in the west....I wish I had the discipline to write the review as soon as the proejct is finished....and I think I see the floor in your sewing room, good for you! Nice jacket, you will be well dressed for rain.
4/12/10 7:14 PM
Byrdie said...
Wow! I wouldn't have thought to do this pattern as a rainwair piece- but it looks awesome! Even though your fabric was troublesome, it came out great!
4/12/10 8:55 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket! It would make me like the rain so much more if I had such a pretty jacket to wear! You did a very nice job of sewing this.
4/13/10 0:16 AM
Terri A said...
Very nice jacket!
4/14/10 12:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6571
photo
Review by MiamiNice on 10/15/08
Read Review

Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6292
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 7/17/12
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us