Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2003-117 (pull on flared pant) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1344 times
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/04 2:08 PM
Last Updated:8/19/04 9:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattiK said...
Thanks for your review. I too have been intimidated by BWOF but with your review I'm very tempted to make something and see how it works. Can't wait to see a picture.
4/6/04 3:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Congratulations on your success! I can't wait to see what you do with the formal outfit. I have a WOF pull-on pants pattern that's on my list to try too.
4/6/04 8:03 PM
sewsue said...
Great fitting pants Lorna. I have not tried these Burda magazine patterns that you guys talk of, I don't even know if I can get them here in Tasmania. I will have to investigate. If anyone knows where I can get one please email me to tell me! Thanks for a thorough review with good fitting tips.
8/20/04 4:34 AM
sewsue said...
Great fitting pants Lorna. I have not tried these Burda magazine patterns that you guys talk of, I don't even know if I can get tham here in Tasmania. I will have to investigate. If anyone knows where I can get one please email me to tell me! Thanks for a thorough review with good fitting tips.
8/20/04 4:37 AM
cindyann said...
Nice looking pants!
8/20/04 7:09 AM
Mini said...
Lorna, congrats on your first Burda WOF pattern. I am sure you will be hooked now:). Regarding the elastic being too big, some elastics stretch more than others, but all will stretch somewhat when they are first applied. Steam will sometimes help shrink it back to the size you measured. I have had good luck with the waistband elastic sold by Stretch and Sew, which doesn't stretch out very much when applied. The Sewing Place has quality elastic too, but I am sure you can find something closer to home that will be as good. Sometimes doing a little sample elastic application on a swatch of your fashion fabric can help predict whether it will stretch out too much.
8/20/04 3:02 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Thanks fo rthe tips, Mini. I always shake my head when I measure and take off an inch or more and it still ends up being too big! I may have to resort to mail order as I have the local Wal-Mart or an hour's drive to the nearest chain store!
8/20/04 4:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1756 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by sewmytime on 10/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-120
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 5/11/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us