Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2010-147 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 620 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 6:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
The dress is lovely! The story about having to seam rip yourself out of it is too funny. Thanks for the review and the laugh. :)
4/13/10 6:37 PM
Barbara V said...
This is totally gorgeous on you Annie. LOL about the seam ripper escape. Once you make the lavender crepe version you will have two choices to wear to the wedding! I agree with you..it is a stunning design.
4/13/10 6:46 PM
Christas said...
Now that's a new way to get out of a dress - just get your seam ripper!!! LOL! The dress looks very lovely on you!
4/13/10 7:02 PM
SueV said...
really cute. I love the dress with this fabric!
4/13/10 7:25 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the darling review.
4/13/10 7:44 PM
marec said...
Hot dress! I had to laugh at your seam ripper story.
4/13/10 7:56 PM
moushka said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress on you! Well worth the (too funny) seam ripper fiasco. Can't wait to see the lavender one. Please post a pic when it's done. You'll look fabulous at the wedding.
4/13/10 8:06 PM
Nursebennett said...
Lovely dress and a great job. Thanks for the laugh about the try on. I've not managed that particular feat.........yet. :)
4/13/10 8:20 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I'd never have thought that navy techno taffeta could look so good! Nice job, pretty dress, and lol on the seam ripper escapade.
4/13/10 9:24 PM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress. I love navy dressy-dresses but I can't wait to see the lavender one. I totally understand having to deconstruct to get out of a dress - it has happened to me too. Couldn't get it above or below my more-than-ample boobs.
4/14/10 0:24 AM
Mary Nanna said...
wow that looks fantastic .. I am a huge fan of making garments twice rather than muslining the first one - why do all that work and not be able to wear it afterwards? Your first version is just gorgeous and I will use it to vindicate my laziness!
4/14/10 2:09 AM
o3b said...
I love your seam ripper story. It's very helpful for fitting/fabric info. It was good to read you are making one for a wedding. When I saw the photo (and thus had to come read your review), my first thought was "that would be great for a wedding".
4/14/10 2:22 AM
susiestitcher said...
Whoah! Your muslin could be the actual dress for the wedding. You look gorgeous in it. I am certain the next one will also be a stunner. Love the seam ripper story, as it is exactly something that would happen to me!
4/14/10 7:21 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Very funny about seam ripping your way out of the dress. It looks great now and thanks for the heads up about using stretch fabric for this dress.
4/14/10 8:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
YOu story is so hysterical, and since your dress looks so sophisticated one would never guess what a pickle you were in!!!
4/14/10 9:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the helpful information! Yikes, I don't know how you remained calm (if you did) while snipping your way out of a dress. Just thinking about it gives me claustrophobia. Eek! You look FABULOUS in this dress, by the way.
4/14/10 1:31 PM
frame said...
Pretty dress. Funny review. :)
4/14/10 6:38 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice and, I have to admit, I've had to do the same thing! My husband laughed and did not help me one bit. He did not score points for that one.
4/25/10 0:54 AM
beesknees said...
How does the Burda Style number (427) translate to the pattern number you'd find in the store? Thanks.
5/3/10 10:58 PM
brissie71 said...
The dress looks gorgeous, and the review made me LOL. I also love your accessories with this outfit. Very stylish. Luckily, I'm making mine in a stretch cotton (purely by accident. I just really loved the print) so, hopefully, will have extra wiggle room through the hips.
2/7/12 10:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Kwik Sew 2774
photo
Review by Heidi H on 1/14/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Padded Camera Bag Digital Patterns
Blank Slate Padded Camera Bag Digital Patterns

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5471
photo
Review by annie11 on 4/17/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6184 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6184 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Monaco Shell
Monaco Shell

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us