SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2010-147 (Dress)

Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 174
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 6:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
The dress looks gorgeous, and the review made me LOL. I also love your accessories with this outfit. Very stylish. Luckily, I'm making mine in a stretch cotton (purely by accident. I just really loved the print) so, hopefully, will have extra wiggle room through the hips.
2/7/12 10:35 PM
beesknees said...
How does the Burda Style number (427) translate to the pattern number you'd find in the store? Thanks.
5/3/10 10:58 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice and, I have to admit, I've had to do the same thing! My husband laughed and did not help me one bit. He did not score points for that one.
4/25/10 0:54 AM
frame said...
Pretty dress. Funny review. :)
4/14/10 6:38 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the helpful information! Yikes, I don't know how you remained calm (if you did) while snipping your way out of a dress. Just thinking about it gives me claustrophobia. Eek! You look FABULOUS in this dress, by the way.
4/14/10 1:31 PM
MamaSewing said...
YOu story is so hysterical, and since your dress looks so sophisticated one would never guess what a pickle you were in!!!
4/14/10 9:41 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Very funny about seam ripping your way out of the dress. It looks great now and thanks for the heads up about using stretch fabric for this dress.
4/14/10 8:36 AM
susiestitcher said...
Whoah! Your muslin could be the actual dress for the wedding. You look gorgeous in it. I am certain the next one will also be a stunner. Love the seam ripper story, as it is exactly something that would happen to me!
4/14/10 7:21 AM
o3b said...
I love your seam ripper story. It's very helpful for fitting/fabric info. It was good to read you are making one for a wedding. When I saw the photo (and thus had to come read your review), my first thought was "that would be great for a wedding".
4/14/10 2:22 AM
Mary Nanna said...
wow that looks fantastic .. I am a huge fan of making garments twice rather than muslining the first one - why do all that work and not be able to wear it afterwards? Your first version is just gorgeous and I will use it to vindicate my laziness!
4/14/10 2:09 AM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress. I love navy dressy-dresses but I can't wait to see the lavender one. I totally understand having to deconstruct to get out of a dress - it has happened to me too. Couldn't get it above or below my more-than-ample boobs.
4/14/10 0:24 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I'd never have thought that navy techno taffeta could look so good! Nice job, pretty dress, and lol on the seam ripper escapade.
4/13/10 9:24 PM
Nursebennett said...
Lovely dress and a great job. Thanks for the laugh about the try on. I've not managed that particular feat.........yet. :)
4/13/10 8:20 PM
moushka said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress on you! Well worth the (too funny) seam ripper fiasco. Can't wait to see the lavender one. Please post a pic when it's done. You'll look fabulous at the wedding.
4/13/10 8:06 PM
marec said...
Hot dress! I had to laugh at your seam ripper story.
4/13/10 7:56 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the darling review.
4/13/10 7:44 PM
SueV said...
really cute. I love the dress with this fabric!
4/13/10 7:25 PM
Christas said...
Now that's a new way to get out of a dress - just get your seam ripper!!! LOL! The dress looks very lovely on you!
4/13/10 7:02 PM
Barbara V said...
This is totally gorgeous on you Annie. LOL about the seam ripper escape. Once you make the lavender crepe version you will have two choices to wear to the wedding! I agree with you..it is a stunning design.
4/13/10 6:46 PM
Gelbean said...
The dress is lovely! The story about having to seam rip yourself out of it is too funny. Thanks for the review and the laugh. :)
4/13/10 6:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4273

photo
by: Silk Chall...

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now