SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2010-147 (Dress)

Viewed 623 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 6:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
The dress is lovely! The story about having to seam rip yourself out of it is too funny. Thanks for the review and the laugh. :)
4/13/10 6:37 PM
Barbara V said...
This is totally gorgeous on you Annie. LOL about the seam ripper escape. Once you make the lavender crepe version you will have two choices to wear to the wedding! I agree with you..it is a stunning design.
4/13/10 6:46 PM
Christas said...
Now that's a new way to get out of a dress - just get your seam ripper!!! LOL! The dress looks very lovely on you!
4/13/10 7:02 PM
SueV said...
really cute. I love the dress with this fabric!
4/13/10 7:25 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the darling review.
4/13/10 7:44 PM
marec said...
Hot dress! I had to laugh at your seam ripper story.
4/13/10 7:56 PM
moushka said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress on you! Well worth the (too funny) seam ripper fiasco. Can't wait to see the lavender one. Please post a pic when it's done. You'll look fabulous at the wedding.
4/13/10 8:06 PM
Nursebennett said...
Lovely dress and a great job. Thanks for the laugh about the try on. I've not managed that particular feat.........yet. :)
4/13/10 8:20 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I'd never have thought that navy techno taffeta could look so good! Nice job, pretty dress, and lol on the seam ripper escapade.
4/13/10 9:24 PM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress. I love navy dressy-dresses but I can't wait to see the lavender one. I totally understand having to deconstruct to get out of a dress - it has happened to me too. Couldn't get it above or below my more-than-ample boobs.
4/14/10 0:24 AM
Mary Nanna said...
wow that looks fantastic .. I am a huge fan of making garments twice rather than muslining the first one - why do all that work and not be able to wear it afterwards? Your first version is just gorgeous and I will use it to vindicate my laziness!
4/14/10 2:09 AM
o3b said...
I love your seam ripper story. It's very helpful for fitting/fabric info. It was good to read you are making one for a wedding. When I saw the photo (and thus had to come read your review), my first thought was "that would be great for a wedding".
4/14/10 2:22 AM
susiestitcher said...
Whoah! Your muslin could be the actual dress for the wedding. You look gorgeous in it. I am certain the next one will also be a stunner. Love the seam ripper story, as it is exactly something that would happen to me!
4/14/10 7:21 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Very funny about seam ripping your way out of the dress. It looks great now and thanks for the heads up about using stretch fabric for this dress.
4/14/10 8:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
YOu story is so hysterical, and since your dress looks so sophisticated one would never guess what a pickle you were in!!!
4/14/10 9:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the helpful information! Yikes, I don't know how you remained calm (if you did) while snipping your way out of a dress. Just thinking about it gives me claustrophobia. Eek! You look FABULOUS in this dress, by the way.
4/14/10 1:31 PM
frame said...
Pretty dress. Funny review. :)
4/14/10 6:38 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice and, I have to admit, I've had to do the same thing! My husband laughed and did not help me one bit. He did not score points for that one.
4/25/10 0:54 AM
beesknees said...
How does the Burda Style number (427) translate to the pattern number you'd find in the store? Thanks.
5/3/10 10:58 PM
brissie71 said...
The dress looks gorgeous, and the review made me LOL. I also love your accessories with this outfit. Very stylish. Luckily, I'm making mine in a stretch cotton (purely by accident. I just really loved the print) so, hopefully, will have extra wiggle room through the hips.
2/7/12 10:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now