SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2449 (Misses' Skirts)

5 more reviews
Viewed 373 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon1952
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon1952star
MA USA
Member since: 7/1/08
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 8:11 PM
Last Updated:4/13/10 8:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It's reviews such as this that make PR so valuable. Thank you Sharon for taking the time to review a skirt you were not ecstatic about. I would have assumed it was a yoked skirt, and been as surprised as you. I like the fabric, and the panels. I wonder if you could make this a little "Boho" with a sheer white blouse? Maybe the Sencha blouse? Shame to waste such a pretty skirt!
4/13/10 10:07 PM
Renren said...
I actually think it looks very nice. The many vertical seam lines do provide a slimming effect, and the elastic waist adds comfort, and Karen Z usually has some interesting designs. I think if you find something that works with this--a blouse as Marec suggested and perhaps some type of vest (I'm not good at this kind of thing)--you might find you have the start to a very nice outfit. Sweet Adeline seems to be quite pleased with it and she seems to have quite discriminating taste based on her fine coat.
4/13/10 11:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks all right to me!
4/14/10 5:29 AM
susiestitcher said...
I think your skirt looks very nice. I love all the fabric gores, but I totally agree about the yoke. I had been looking at this pattern and thinking it had a yoke, same as you. Elastic waists on me are not so great, as my waist is practically larger than my hips. Thanks so much for the heads up on reality! Although I might still like to try the lines of the skirt, I now know I would need to draft or steal a true yoke piece. I think yours is a keeper, maybe with a simple top that sort of flows along with your skirt.
4/14/10 7:08 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks for this review, I definitely would've thought this pattern had a yoke too. The waist construction sound like it is ingenious if you want elastic that isn't obvious... but it definitely could be an unwelcome surprise for those who don't. I agree with the other commenters -- I think the gores are flattering and the finished skirt is pretty!
4/14/10 11:56 AM
sdimuzio said...
Have you tried something long and flowy on top -- a tunic or long blouse with lots of pleats or tucks for ease. Also blouson with the band below the hips, or you could wear with a long jacket or duster. These styles have tremendous camouflage power and you be saving that lovely fabric and lower flare of the skirt. Nice workmanship by the way.
8/6/10 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now