SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2449 (Misses' Skirts)

5 more reviews
Viewed 375 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon1952
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon1952star
MA USA
Member since: 7/1/08
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 8:11 PM
Last Updated:4/13/10 8:16 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sdimuzio said...
Have you tried something long and flowy on top -- a tunic or long blouse with lots of pleats or tucks for ease. Also blouson with the band below the hips, or you could wear with a long jacket or duster. These styles have tremendous camouflage power and you be saving that lovely fabric and lower flare of the skirt. Nice workmanship by the way.
8/6/10 8:16 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks for this review, I definitely would've thought this pattern had a yoke too. The waist construction sound like it is ingenious if you want elastic that isn't obvious... but it definitely could be an unwelcome surprise for those who don't. I agree with the other commenters -- I think the gores are flattering and the finished skirt is pretty!
4/14/10 11:56 AM
susiestitcher said...
I think your skirt looks very nice. I love all the fabric gores, but I totally agree about the yoke. I had been looking at this pattern and thinking it had a yoke, same as you. Elastic waists on me are not so great, as my waist is practically larger than my hips. Thanks so much for the heads up on reality! Although I might still like to try the lines of the skirt, I now know I would need to draft or steal a true yoke piece. I think yours is a keeper, maybe with a simple top that sort of flows along with your skirt.
4/14/10 7:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks all right to me!
4/14/10 5:29 AM
Renren said...
I actually think it looks very nice. The many vertical seam lines do provide a slimming effect, and the elastic waist adds comfort, and Karen Z usually has some interesting designs. I think if you find something that works with this--a blouse as Marec suggested and perhaps some type of vest (I'm not good at this kind of thing)--you might find you have the start to a very nice outfit. Sweet Adeline seems to be quite pleased with it and she seems to have quite discriminating taste based on her fine coat.
4/13/10 11:01 PM
marec said...
It's reviews such as this that make PR so valuable. Thank you Sharon for taking the time to review a skirt you were not ecstatic about. I would have assumed it was a yoked skirt, and been as surprised as you. I like the fabric, and the panels. I wonder if you could make this a little "Boho" with a sheer white blouse? Maybe the Sencha blouse? Shame to waste such a pretty skirt!
4/13/10 10:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1061

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now