Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2449 (Misses' Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 357 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon1952
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon1952star
MA USA
Member since: 7/1/08
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/10 8:11 PM
Last Updated:4/13/10 8:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
It's reviews such as this that make PR so valuable. Thank you Sharon for taking the time to review a skirt you were not ecstatic about. I would have assumed it was a yoked skirt, and been as surprised as you. I like the fabric, and the panels. I wonder if you could make this a little "Boho" with a sheer white blouse? Maybe the Sencha blouse? Shame to waste such a pretty skirt!
4/13/10 10:07 PM
Renren said...
I actually think it looks very nice. The many vertical seam lines do provide a slimming effect, and the elastic waist adds comfort, and Karen Z usually has some interesting designs. I think if you find something that works with this--a blouse as Marec suggested and perhaps some type of vest (I'm not good at this kind of thing)--you might find you have the start to a very nice outfit. Sweet Adeline seems to be quite pleased with it and she seems to have quite discriminating taste based on her fine coat.
4/13/10 11:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks all right to me!
4/14/10 5:29 AM
susiestitcher said...
I think your skirt looks very nice. I love all the fabric gores, but I totally agree about the yoke. I had been looking at this pattern and thinking it had a yoke, same as you. Elastic waists on me are not so great, as my waist is practically larger than my hips. Thanks so much for the heads up on reality! Although I might still like to try the lines of the skirt, I now know I would need to draft or steal a true yoke piece. I think yours is a keeper, maybe with a simple top that sort of flows along with your skirt.
4/14/10 7:08 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks for this review, I definitely would've thought this pattern had a yoke too. The waist construction sound like it is ingenious if you want elastic that isn't obvious... but it definitely could be an unwelcome surprise for those who don't. I agree with the other commenters -- I think the gores are flattering and the finished skirt is pretty!
4/14/10 11:56 AM
sdimuzio said...
Have you tried something long and flowy on top -- a tunic or long blouse with lots of pleats or tucks for ease. Also blouson with the band below the hips, or you could wear with a long jacket or duster. These styles have tremendous camouflage power and you be saving that lovely fabric and lower flare of the skirt. Nice workmanship by the way.
8/6/10 8:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Kwik Sew 3409 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Teeavilnor on 5/30/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-122
photo
Review by Barbara V on 4/8/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3716 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3716 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us