SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8470 (MISSES' DRESS)

13 more reviews
Viewed 509 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/10 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mip said...
Your dress is very pretty, don't give up. I suggest you try a light weight interfacing applied to the modesty pannel, as your fabric is light be careful to shrink the interfacing so that bubbles don't form after you apply it. I hope this helps, so far it is a lovely dress.
4/15/10 1:11 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks for the suggestion, mip. The modesty panel was interfaced. Unfortunately, that bit of fabric is beyond repair right now.
4/15/10 1:18 PM
Christas said...
It looks so gorgeous in the photo. You would never know what a struggle the pattern was.
4/15/10 1:20 PM
manola6176 said...
I am so sorry to hear about your issues with this pattern/fabric It looks absolutely gorgeous on the photo
4/15/10 3:52 PM
sky said...
If it fits well, and you like the rest of the dress, could you just wear it as is? One of the views has no modesty panel (and in your print too! :)). Or if it really is too low, could you just wear a separate cami underneath? It really is a beautiful dress.
4/15/10 7:54 PM
Kayabunga said...
The dress is gorgeous ... I feel your pain. What about using a cool piece of lace as a modesty panel? I have a bra that was designed as a quasi cami and provides this "lace" and is meant to be seen.
4/16/10 7:16 AM
becca a said...
It is so frustrating when a project just won't come together properly. I feel your pain. I have this pattern, but have hesitated to try it given the struggles PR reviewers have discussed.
4/16/10 9:13 AM
Bernadette W said...
This is so fabulous- please wear a cami or lace bra and rock this dress!!!
4/16/10 11:53 PM
BenaeQuee said...
You did such a lovely job so far! What about a different fabric for the modesty panel, like a sassy blue lace? You can rescue this :-)
4/26/10 9:51 PM
LDT2011 said...
I think the fabric is gorgeous. Thanks for the warning must remember not for beginner and pick fabric wisely.
3/9/12 6:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2301

photo
by: thrillme

Review