Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2009-118 (leather shift dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 538 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo
About inkstainstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/10 4:20 AM
Last Updated:4/16/10 4:25 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your version is SO much better than Burda's! I adore sewing with leather but the cost of really nice, buttery leather means a handbag once a year is about all I can afford! Have you got the website address for Fauck so I can dream over his skins? If he doesn't take credit cards, what does he take? Is it European bank transfer only? :( (the UK is on a different banking system and it's a big surcharge to send euros)
4/16/10 6:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive dress, and what a gorgeous colour, too.
4/16/10 7:10 AM
moushka said...
I can't think of a colour that would be more effective in that dress than the gorgeous blue you used. Truly beautiful, you must be so thrilled with the dress and belt. Since I'm in Canada, I will definitely have to look up Mr. Fauck. Thank you for the inspiring review.
4/16/10 7:35 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress...the color is lovely. I like the way you belted it too.
4/16/10 8:55 AM
Natasha B said...
Fabulous dress and really interesting story of the leather.
4/16/10 9:17 AM
MissCelie said...
How beautiful is that? I've never even thought to really make up a garment in leather! Oh, the possibilities!!
4/16/10 9:37 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Great dress, great story. Thanks for the review. Best wishes for the success of your book.
4/16/10 10:09 AM
Karen6790 said...
Lovely. The color is just perfect for that dress, and I was drooling at the idea of a dining room table covered in skins of that quality. Worth the cost - you look expensive!
4/16/10 10:42 AM
Ann Smith said...
You have me drooling here. Love the color and the softness.
4/16/10 11:51 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful dress! and thanks for pointing out this source for fine leather!
4/16/10 12:10 PM
manola6176 said...
This dress is a chef d'oeuvre. I love the color. Thanks for recommending Fauck leather it sounds great to order from them
4/16/10 12:16 PM
becca a said...
What a spectacular dress!
4/16/10 3:01 PM
ALY said...
What a beautiful dress. Sewing a buttery soft, good quality leather is a real joy, but it is really difficult to find. Lucky you to be able to buy from Mr. Fauck.
4/16/10 3:48 PM
Maree P said...
Just stunning Inkstain.
4/16/10 5:02 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That is absolutely beautiful!! I love the color and with the belt it looks so much nicer than the original.
4/16/10 10:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
really classy and gorgeous.
4/17/10 1:49 AM
valerie sews said...
Just stunning. I admire the fact that you could look at the line drawing and the not-very-inspiring dress in the Burda WOF photo and be inspired to come up with this.
4/17/10 7:44 AM
Fran G said...
Congratulations on completing your book project and what a fabulous reward you have provided for yourself! Such a beautiful, classy dress..enjoy wearing it!
4/17/10 8:11 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Just stunning! What a cool story you have with this dress too. Someday I'll bite the bullet and sew with real leather. How did you find out that Fauck supplied Burda? I'm always wondering where they get their beautiful print fabrics.
4/18/10 8:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 11351-1016
photo
Review by Eli on 7/16/08
Read Review

Burda 6953 Pattern
Burda 6953 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6917 Pattern
Burda 6917 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2952 Jacket
photo
Review by KarmenG on 6/14/05
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us