SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2009-118 (leather shift dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 538 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/10 4:20 AM
Last Updated:4/16/10 4:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your version is SO much better than Burda's! I adore sewing with leather but the cost of really nice, buttery leather means a handbag once a year is about all I can afford! Have you got the website address for Fauck so I can dream over his skins? If he doesn't take credit cards, what does he take? Is it European bank transfer only? :( (the UK is on a different banking system and it's a big surcharge to send euros)
4/16/10 6:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive dress, and what a gorgeous colour, too.
4/16/10 7:10 AM
moushka said...
I can't think of a colour that would be more effective in that dress than the gorgeous blue you used. Truly beautiful, you must be so thrilled with the dress and belt. Since I'm in Canada, I will definitely have to look up Mr. Fauck. Thank you for the inspiring review.
4/16/10 7:35 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress...the color is lovely. I like the way you belted it too.
4/16/10 8:55 AM
Natasha B said...
Fabulous dress and really interesting story of the leather.
4/16/10 9:17 AM
MissCelie said...
How beautiful is that? I've never even thought to really make up a garment in leather! Oh, the possibilities!!
4/16/10 9:37 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Great dress, great story. Thanks for the review. Best wishes for the success of your book.
4/16/10 10:09 AM
Karen6790 said...
Lovely. The color is just perfect for that dress, and I was drooling at the idea of a dining room table covered in skins of that quality. Worth the cost - you look expensive!
4/16/10 10:42 AM
Ann Smith said...
You have me drooling here. Love the color and the softness.
4/16/10 11:51 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful dress! and thanks for pointing out this source for fine leather!
4/16/10 12:10 PM
manola6176 said...
This dress is a chef d'oeuvre. I love the color. Thanks for recommending Fauck leather it sounds great to order from them
4/16/10 12:16 PM
becca a said...
What a spectacular dress!
4/16/10 3:01 PM
ALY said...
What a beautiful dress. Sewing a buttery soft, good quality leather is a real joy, but it is really difficult to find. Lucky you to be able to buy from Mr. Fauck.
4/16/10 3:48 PM
Maree P said...
Just stunning Inkstain.
4/16/10 5:02 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That is absolutely beautiful!! I love the color and with the belt it looks so much nicer than the original.
4/16/10 10:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
really classy and gorgeous.
4/17/10 1:49 AM
valerie sews said...
Just stunning. I admire the fact that you could look at the line drawing and the not-very-inspiring dress in the Burda WOF photo and be inspired to come up with this.
4/17/10 7:44 AM
Fran G said...
Congratulations on completing your book project and what a fabulous reward you have provided for yourself! Such a beautiful, classy dress..enjoy wearing it!
4/17/10 8:11 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Just stunning! What a cool story you have with this dress too. Someday I'll bite the bullet and sew with real leather. How did you find out that Fauck supplied Burda? I'm always wondering where they get their beautiful print fabrics.
4/18/10 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now