SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 8084 (Vintage c.1957 Dress)

Viewed 1189 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/10 5:15 PM
Last Updated:4/30/10 5:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said...
Can't wait to see the finished project and thank you SO much for posting a link to that burn chart. SO helpful!!
4/19/10 2:49 AM
lyndle said...
Love the pattern. It's really cool that you have the original fabric to use! thanks for the links and for your tips on storing vintage patterns, very useful.
4/19/10 6:11 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Thank you for the link to www.cemetarian.com. I have a pattern, Butterick 6024, that's from the 50's, but doesn't have the copyright printed anywhere. That website indicates it would be 1951-1958, and the number guide shows 1952. My mom would have been 17, so that's right in line with the teen dress description. The sizing is right too, since I know she got married 6 years later in what was then a size 3. I think I'll give it a try, I LOVE the dress. It doesn't have an instruction sheet, but it looks like a pretty simple arrangement. I love vintage, and I admire your willingness to complete someone else's project. I can't even finish my own..... :-)
4/19/10 7:21 PM
mizvi said...
I think it is really wonderful that you honor an unknow "sewist sister" by finishing her project as she envisioned it. I would like to imagine she continues in this way.
4/19/10 11:04 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, looking forward to seeing the dress. Thanks so much for all the helpful information. This sounds like such a neat project.
4/22/10 3:10 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! How exciting to have the pattern and fabric together. Your dress looks so lovely. It is a wonderful style for you!
4/30/10 5:39 PM
Athene said...
Absolutely lovely on you.
4/30/10 6:01 PM
ingysoup said...
OMG!!!! The best review, and what an amazing dress! How incredible that you honored the former sewist in such a way....
4/30/10 6:27 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a lovely lady you are!! ;) Enjoy feeling pretty & feminine while you receive many, nice compliments!!
4/30/10 7:01 PM
maryfrana said...
A fantastic creation and with such a history. This is so striking and beautiful.
4/30/10 7:38 PM
JEF said...
Great dress and FANTASTIC review! Thank you.
4/30/10 7:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Terrific dress and review. You look gorgeous in it and wear it well! Great job!
4/30/10 8:55 PM
TJSEWS said...
What a beautiful dress and you look gorgeous! Great job! Wow!
4/30/10 10:10 PM
mizvi said...
Magpie, I've been looking forward for the finished product on this project. It exceeds my imagination as a really wonderful outcome. I love this dress. It looks great on you. What an amazingly helpful review. I wand to "save" it for all of its good suggestions. I just love the flower..nice touch that I think would make the original sewist smile. Great job. Great review. Thanks so much.
4/30/10 10:26 PM
Aroura said...
This turned out really beautifully. A very nice and detailed write-up. Thanks for the tips on direction sweing with slinkier fabrics! I've still got so much to learn :)
5/1/10 1:07 AM
tess said...
Your dress (and review!) are amazing, you look wonderful in it!
5/1/10 5:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress! Very informative review and most helpful links.
5/1/10 8:00 AM
Diane333 said...
Beautiful dress and a very thorough and helpful review.
5/1/10 8:31 AM
colorkitten said...
Ooh, finally, I've been dying to see how it turned out -- it's gorgeous! You did Anonymous Seamstress proud. I especially love your pattern envelope poses, they're awesome.
5/1/10 9:14 AM
mchick said...
You are just the right sort of person to wear that dress. It looks amazing, and so do you!
5/1/10 9:22 AM
movac said...
I love this dress. My favorite colors too. You did the original owner "proud".
5/1/10 9:37 AM
K_sew said...
This is a stunning dress on you. Nice that you used the original fabric and your "model" pose is terrific. Thanks for sharing this all with us.
5/1/10 9:57 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, that's just gorgeous. Thanks for the link to the fabric flower brooch tutorial, yours turned out really great. Thanks for the wonderful review and photographing all the steps. You look so "authentic 50s" in that dress. Fantastic photographs!
5/1/10 10:12 AM
Batik said...
Amazing! looks terrific on you. Thanks for sharing the details of the process, so helpful.
5/1/10 10:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look stunning, Maggie! A pattern from the past that you brought back today with lots of fashion sensibility. I also enjoyed your photo album. If Butterick backs this style as a 'Butterick Retro' pattern, YOU should be on the cover!
5/1/10 11:09 AM
jewelsew said...
Wonderful project, and your commentary is quite entertaining as well as informative! Thank you!
5/1/10 11:56 AM
JillyBe said...
Oh my - this might just be the most thorough & helpful review ever! And splendid results - looks fab! I especially appreciate how you are honoring the initial sewist - I'm sure she is smiling now :)
5/1/10 2:32 PM
aireal said...
LOVE the dress and pics, this style was made for you, lovely job. You did the original sewist proud. And thanks for the super informative review.
5/1/10 7:21 PM
m1khaela said...
Oh I love that you had the original fabric--how wonderful! And that you styled it just like the envelope, too. Beautiful.
5/2/10 7:14 AM
woodenheart said...
Wow, you and the dress are both gorgeous!
5/2/10 2:10 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thank you so much everyone for your kind and generous words! It was my pleasure to share this with you!
5/2/10 7:18 PM
AnneM said...
Go dancing! Lovely. And so neat that you had the vintage fabric & the vintage pattern.
5/2/10 9:34 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress, looks great on you! That's so cool that you got the fabric with the pattern. Thanks for posting the link about the fabric flower, too -- very interesting!
5/3/10 1:09 AM
Jatman said...
Your dress is absolutely lovely.
5/3/10 8:40 AM
fourkid said...
This is an amazing dress - I love all the details, the back story, the flower is perfect for it. And you look beautiful!
5/3/10 10:19 AM
oldpatterns said...
Wonderful job on the dress. I just love it when part of the instructions is "missing" :) I love how you matched the pattern pose!
5/3/10 12:07 PM
kusine said...
Lovely!
5/4/10 6:07 PM
kusine said...
Lovely!
5/4/10 6:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Superb dress in a divine fabric. Great job! Loved your review too.
5/4/10 6:56 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
What a beautiful and glamourous dress! I'm sure the original seamstress would be proud.
5/4/10 11:34 PM
Jeffer said...
Wow. What a terrific dress! It is just so wonderful that you have the pattern and vintage fabric to complete a dress that flatters you so nicely. You look gorgeous in it - the poses, your hair style...ready for a night out dancing!
5/6/10 12:21 PM
veritasca said...
I appreciate sharing your journey of finding the pattern and fabric and the many twists and turns in the making of the dress. I feel like I've traveled to some special place and really enjoyed the beautiful ending with the final photos of your finished dress. I sense a lot of care and dedication and presence. It inspires me to do a project with the same attention and passion. Thank you for your wonderful review and for YOU.
5/7/10 1:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
Absolutely fascinating review. The dress looks authentically 1957 and you have the hairdo to go with it.
5/14/10 7:08 AM
Mufffet said...
What a nice dress...it's beautiful and looks so very authentic!
5/18/10 7:15 PM
Joni2 said...
You and the dress look simply divine! What a beautiful piece of work.
6/3/10 11:59 PM
MBPaz said...
The most thorough review I've read here! Fabulous dress and flower pin. THANKS for extremely useful links! Congrats on a winning project!
6/4/10 10:06 PM
Coastal Connie said...
What a beautiful design on you. Nice work...and thanks for all the pictures along the way of your process. Very helpful. Also, love the flower!!
6/12/10 4:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now