Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2107 (Pants and Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 361 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/10 6:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Hilarious! At least you got useful practice and ended up with a wearable garment. Personally I prefer to buy basic items that would be boring to sew (like straightforward, everyday pants in basic colours) and save my sewing efforts for more interesting projects like shirts and dresses in wild fabrics. Another reason few people seem to sew for their partners could be that men are not as into clothes as women and therefore don't appreciate the effort that goes into making something and also don't get the same kick out of wearing something unique.
4/19/10 6:22 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fantastic! Despite the tedium, they look great!
4/19/10 7:18 AM
ClaireEmily said...
FreyaStark - you are so right about not appreciating it until you know how much effort it takes! My sister doesn't really understand why I bother to sew and I finally asked her why - she said she doesn't really like clothes and is perfectly happy wearing jeans and a Tshirt all the time, so why would I put so much effort in? Ce la vie!
4/19/10 8:16 AM
lynne1nor said...
That is funny! My DH would love for me to sew him up some pants, too, particularly something called tactical pants with a double layer of fabric in the seat and knees and special pockets and special fabric and... you get the picture. So hooray for you to give it a try - now you have a pattern you can use in "emergencies" and let's hope our DHs can find an inexpensive source for their favorite pants so we can get back to sewing crazy stuff for ourselves! :) Nice job!
4/19/10 10:53 AM
Mary Nanna said...
very amusing indeed. I commend you for making something for DH. I never sew for mine, except to shorten his trousers which he has purchased elsewhere ... and even that can take me forever unless I barter some kind of treat for myself out of it.
4/19/10 2:50 PM
RLL said...
These look great, you did such a nice job. I know what you mean about all the topstitching and how long it takes. I sew all of my DH's work clothes...casual dress and he actually really appreciates it. And, better yet, he doesn't complain about my huge stash anymore since I'v been sewing his clothes. He even shops with me sometimes to pick out fabric for him. Happy Dance.
4/19/10 5:16 PM
marec said...
This made both my DH and I smile. He's been agitating for some home done cargo pants and I was able to read your conclusion to him. hee hee Congrats on getting through and thank you for all the corrections! (as if I would EVER make them)
4/19/10 5:45 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job, despite the challenges. Yes, men's clothes can be tedious!
4/19/10 11:01 PM
Sharonspils said...
Love your post and thank you for the informative review. I also haven't sewn for DH but I keep getting the feeling that I might LOL.
4/20/10 0:46 AM
treefrog said...
Luv the review, especially the initial thought about not wearing clothes made in a sweatshop - well one in China at least! The pants look great - well worth the effort.
4/20/10 4:40 AM
susiestitcher said...
Great pants! You've inspired me to get going on the pants my DS wants. He enjoys cargo pants so this pattern might be a good choice.
4/20/10 7:07 AM
becca a said...
Great pants! Cargo pants do have a lot of tedious details, but kudos to you for finishing them.
4/20/10 4:57 PM
Fluffy bunny said...
These are great pants! I used to mend my ex-DB's cargos (he is a make do and mend freak), and stitching through four layers of heavy fabric used to make my poor machine groan! So...very well done! They look RTW, and at least you thought of easing the pain of sweatshop workers. Oh...and your review made me laugh..a lot.
9/27/10 4:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by RachelEsq on 2/16/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Chalk Studio No.104 Mail Sack
photo
Review by Annelisa on 7/9/08
Read Review

Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top
Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us