SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2107 (Pants and Shorts)

12 more reviews
Viewed 368 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/10 6:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Hilarious! At least you got useful practice and ended up with a wearable garment. Personally I prefer to buy basic items that would be boring to sew (like straightforward, everyday pants in basic colours) and save my sewing efforts for more interesting projects like shirts and dresses in wild fabrics. Another reason few people seem to sew for their partners could be that men are not as into clothes as women and therefore don't appreciate the effort that goes into making something and also don't get the same kick out of wearing something unique.
4/19/10 6:22 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fantastic! Despite the tedium, they look great!
4/19/10 7:18 AM
ClaireEmily said...
FreyaStark - you are so right about not appreciating it until you know how much effort it takes! My sister doesn't really understand why I bother to sew and I finally asked her why - she said she doesn't really like clothes and is perfectly happy wearing jeans and a Tshirt all the time, so why would I put so much effort in? Ce la vie!
4/19/10 8:16 AM
lynne1nor said...
That is funny! My DH would love for me to sew him up some pants, too, particularly something called tactical pants with a double layer of fabric in the seat and knees and special pockets and special fabric and... you get the picture. So hooray for you to give it a try - now you have a pattern you can use in "emergencies" and let's hope our DHs can find an inexpensive source for their favorite pants so we can get back to sewing crazy stuff for ourselves! :) Nice job!
4/19/10 10:53 AM
Mary Nanna said...
very amusing indeed. I commend you for making something for DH. I never sew for mine, except to shorten his trousers which he has purchased elsewhere ... and even that can take me forever unless I barter some kind of treat for myself out of it.
4/19/10 2:50 PM
RLL said...
These look great, you did such a nice job. I know what you mean about all the topstitching and how long it takes. I sew all of my DH's work clothes...casual dress and he actually really appreciates it. And, better yet, he doesn't complain about my huge stash anymore since I'v been sewing his clothes. He even shops with me sometimes to pick out fabric for him. Happy Dance.
4/19/10 5:16 PM
marec said...
This made both my DH and I smile. He's been agitating for some home done cargo pants and I was able to read your conclusion to him. hee hee Congrats on getting through and thank you for all the corrections! (as if I would EVER make them)
4/19/10 5:45 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great job, despite the challenges. Yes, men's clothes can be tedious!
4/19/10 11:01 PM
Sharonspils said...
Love your post and thank you for the informative review. I also haven't sewn for DH but I keep getting the feeling that I might LOL.
4/20/10 0:46 AM
treefrog said...
Luv the review, especially the initial thought about not wearing clothes made in a sweatshop - well one in China at least! The pants look great - well worth the effort.
4/20/10 4:40 AM
susiestitcher said...
Great pants! You've inspired me to get going on the pants my DS wants. He enjoys cargo pants so this pattern might be a good choice.
4/20/10 7:07 AM
becca a said...
Great pants! Cargo pants do have a lot of tedious details, but kudos to you for finishing them.
4/20/10 4:57 PM
Fluffy bunny said...
These are great pants! I used to mend my ex-DB's cargos (he is a make do and mend freak), and stitching through four layers of heavy fabric used to make my poor machine groan! So...very well done! They look RTW, and at least you thought of easing the pain of sweatshop workers. Oh...and your review made me laugh..a lot.
9/27/10 4:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now