Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design: Summer 3 / 2010 (Groovy Vest) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 291 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 2:16 AM
Last Updated:4/21/10 3:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SilviaS said...
I had the same issues with Ottobre before. The patterns are either huge or way to short ( for tops).....
4/21/10 3:05 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I'm really sorry that this didn't work out for you. I've never tried Ottobre kids patterns myself......
4/21/10 7:15 AM
patternr said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. Looking at the pictures and the technical drawing, I do think this waistcoat is supposed to worn open, or with only the top button closed. The tight waist styling avoids the flowing cape look when worn open. There are sometimes odd style elements on Ottobre patterns, and this just might be one of them.
4/21/10 9:03 AM
Mel.J said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. It's a cute style, I hadn't noticed the button detail. (In case you decide to try another pattern, with Ottobre I go by the chest measurement & then lengthen as necessary. That works for me, I have found their patterns are shorter than I prefer, but otherwise they have fitted pretty well.)
4/21/10 10:07 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow..thanks for this review! This pattern sure seems like one to avoid :( I am surprised because Ottobre sizing is usually spot-on! I've been using Ottobre patterns for years..and even bought all the back issues (from 2001 to 2005 when I subscribed). I've made my 2 nieces (now age 9 and 11) countless Ottobre outfits with great results. But wow this pattern does not seem well-drafted at all..not the norm for Ottobre.
4/22/10 8:17 AM
Christas said...
Wow..... thanks so much for this review. I have been sewing with Ottobre for several years and they are among my very favorite patterns. I have always been so impressed with their very consistent sizing. I have never had anything happen like this with their patterns. So, THANKS! I will definitely avoid making this one after reading your review. This review has been very helpful.
4/22/10 6:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 5177
photo
Review by trinicity on 4/14/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen MN2101
photo
Review by ajhewing on 5/3/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6640 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6640 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6747 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6747 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us