SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2027 (Vogue Individualist-Montana)

Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 4:50 PM
Last Updated:4/21/10 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
What a fantastic review and a beautiful jacket. Everything is great - fabric, buttons, modifications and execution! Glad you enjoyed it so much.
4/21/10 5:34 PM
Annette1 said...
I may be biased -- ha-ha, GET IT? -- but I absolutely LOVE this jacket. I made it YEARS ago (when the pattern first came out), and I wish I'd thought to cut my panels on the bias. However, I know me: I would have NEVER taken the time to figure through it all like you did. (If I were a piece of fabric, I probably WOULD be on the bias, as in har to handle, or a pain in the neck.) I LOVE the dainty little buttons on the sleeve vents, and their addition adds an extra special touch. As for the dreaded IRON, I think we BOTH deserve a new one. I suppose the steam was WORKING in the dreeam -- ha! :o)) It's so neat to see this jacket made up, and your WORTHY EFFORT really does it justice, too. Claude would be proud!
4/21/10 5:43 PM
Annette1 said...
And I forgot to add: GREAT review, so detailed and with LOTS of pictures. I know how LONG that takes. :o)
4/21/10 5:44 PM
Therisa said...
You look lovely in it and did a wonderful job!
4/21/10 5:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
Not only does that jacket look fantastic on you, it takes me back to the 80's. I made that in practically the same color and fabric. Where is that jacket now I wonder? Terrific review.
4/21/10 6:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Terrific job in capturing the original look while updating the fit and creating those wonderful bias panels. It looks fabulous on you and your review was a treat to read.
4/21/10 6:07 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the jacket on you, it is a perfect style and look that you pull off perfect. Sewing is beautiful and the review is fantastic. Love all the pictures!!!
4/21/10 6:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful review and I love this jacket! The fabric and buttons are perfect - and I admire anyone with the patience so sew on that many hook and eyes:) Great job.
4/21/10 6:27 PM
Karendee said...
Your jacket is a perfect style and fit for your shape. It is a glorious adaptation of the original 80's style that is forward thinking right now. The fabric, bias work, buttons, fit --and oh those snaps are just perfect details of the final product. I read then reread your detailed review so thankful that some of you advanced sewists take the time to teach those of us trying to learn these techniques and perseverance for a perfect garment. Thanks again!!
4/21/10 6:46 PM
portercs said...
Thanks for the great review, and it is a lovely jacket.
4/21/10 7:05 PM
Izzie said...
Absolutely beautiful!
4/21/10 7:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful jacket! I adore your modern version of this 80's classic. Annette is just too sweet. You have the knack of creating an outfit that is better than the original. Thanks for an informative and enjoyable review. You are truly an inspiration.
4/21/10 9:16 PM
Nancywin said...
Great review. I love the details of your jacket, and the scaled down version is perfect for today. It looks "vintage" but not "dated" Nice job.
4/21/10 9:58 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review, and could your jacket be any nicer?! I don't think so! It has so many lovely style details. I love the way you took this pattern and adapted it to be a timeless jacket. I can only imagine how long each step took. I am sure you will love this jacket for years and years. Oh, I am also sure this review also felt like it took years to write; you really have written such a detailed and wonderful one! Can I "borrow" your jacket if I ever come to NY ?!
4/21/10 10:34 PM
Mary M. Mohr said...
Sheer genius. Once again, I envision you floating through the Paris passages flashing your Hong Kong seam finishes. You're a joy to read and behold.
4/22/10 0:46 AM
Margie T said...
Beautiful!
4/22/10 0:59 AM
BillieJean said...
Wow! This is one beautiful jacket, and your attention to detail is fantastic. This is no tin soldier look, but a very sophisticated one, even with the jeans. Love it!!
4/22/10 6:17 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Love it!
4/22/10 7:51 AM
Sarsez said...
Wonderful. Lovely to see that pattern again. One of my favourite designers and you have done that jacket beautifully.
4/22/10 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great work and a wonderful review.
4/22/10 8:56 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you all for such nice and entertaining comments. Mary M. Mohr, you have a way with words that sets me dreaming. Lovely! And Christa, you can borrow this ANYTIME :-))
4/22/10 9:03 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, how many ways can I say FABULOUS? I remember this pattern and can't believe all the work you did to update the fit. Beautiful!!!!!!!!
4/22/10 10:25 AM
fryman said...
Somewhere in my stash I own this pattern and it is still unfolded/perfect condition but I can't remember the size. You have inspired me to hunt . The bias tips were excellent and so is your blouse/jacket. Great photos too!
4/22/10 10:28 AM
janet said...
Your jacket is a work of art. You look fantastic in it!
4/22/10 11:11 AM
no7262 said...
Wow! It turned out beautiful! You are so lucky to have Annette as a friend! I love your review, very detailed. Please do yourself a favor and get a new iron! You don't need any more nightmares in your dreams or IRL! Nora :)
4/22/10 11:35 AM
Sana said...
Your version is much nicer than the original.
4/22/10 2:01 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Janie, this jacket is ABSOLUTELY FANTABULOUS!!!! You did an EXCELLENT job on it!! I LOVE the Hong Kong finish!! I just have one question.....when can you make ME one?!?! ;)
4/22/10 3:44 PM
DorothyK said...
Amazing! This is a masterpiece.
4/22/10 6:59 PM
JillyBe said...
Can we have a Pattern Review rating of Very Very Helpful? Fantastic job! Beautiful results, and your detailed explanation of the pattern and the changes you made is inspirational as well as incredibly informative. Now then, I will send you my address, & as soon as you're done w/ the pattern..... :~D
4/22/10 10:01 PM
fryman said...
Somewhere in my stash I own this pattern and it is still unfolded/perfect condition but I can't remember the size. You have inspired me to hunt . The bias tips were excellent and so is your blouse/jacket. Great photos too!
4/24/10 10:59 AM
eugenia123 said...
Stunning jacket!!!! I LOVE the pattern (what a generous gift from Annette!), it is such a wonderful style. Its original 80's extravagant shoulders are great but I think you have scaled the look down so perfectly to give it an amazingly modern look. Your construction skills are suberb, every detail looks immaculate - a real couture piece. Claude Montana himself could not have done it better!!
4/24/10 5:11 PM
momoftallahasseelassie said...
I love this jacket. It is just so beautiful and original. Very chic. Thanks for posting your review with all the details. Just marvelous work.
6/16/10 8:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6209

photo
by: Silviriki

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now