SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7513 (DRESS)

2 more reviews
Viewed 637 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
Friend of PR

About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 394 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 10:00 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Sar sews said... (12/13/10 10:29 PM) Reply
I thought I had commented somewhere at this!! I think it looks great, but how did they ever think it would look 'decent' without the front buttons?!! Would press studs work as well as buttons, or even sewing the front panels to each other? I am going to trial this pattern in a piece of linen picked up at Spotlight.
Noile said... (4/22/10 8:05 PM) Reply
Ann, you could wear a sack and look wonderful with that irresistible million dollar smile of yours! I do agree that the dropped waist doesn't quite work, though, even with the elastic. How does would it look if you belted it, or brought the waist up to your natural waist? I love the buttons you added, which really enhance the style, and overall, I think it looks great on you. Nice choice of color, too!
Christas said... (4/22/10 5:02 PM) Reply
You definitely don't look frumpy! I love the way you have used your accessories (shoes and earrings) - compliments the style so much, and makes a very pretty and unique outfit.
Aixoise said... (4/22/10 12:18 PM) Reply
I don't think it's frumpy at all. With the great shoes and your sunny smile it looks like a slouchy, comfy summer dress - just the thing for warm weather.
MagpieJen said... (4/22/10 12:03 PM) Reply
I know you feel this one is less successful than you wanted - but you really know how to style and wear it :-). Thak you for a really informative and helpful review!
DorothyK said... (4/22/10 11:39 AM) Reply
I think the changes you made were good. You have a smart way of analyzing what's wrong and how to fix it. The dress is probably a little less "cool" than you usually make but, nevertheless, a great one for your hot summer. I think you will actually get lots of use out of it.
JDpenelope said... (4/22/10 8:00 AM) Reply
Ann -- Love the fabric, love your hair, too, and, of course, your smile. The dress? Have to agree with you --and disagree, unfortunately, with others -- that you usually look much, much better in what you make (or otherwise, probably). Eliminating the back zipper was a good idea, if it isn't needed. I hate dresses with back zippers. I really appreciate your reviewing something that you don't consider to be a big success -- It helps as much as a positive review.
FreyaStark said... (4/22/10 7:30 AM) Reply
It looks lovely on you. It's also interesting to see this pattern made up because I've been thinking about it myself.
beth5646 said... (4/22/10 6:48 AM) Reply
Ooo---I think that dress is super cute. I too like the changes you made. thanks for the review.
CynthiaSue said... (4/22/10 1:27 AM) Reply
Who does you hair?;), Love the blonde! Shoes are fab. dress is fab and you are fab.
Barbara V said... (4/22/10 0:13 AM) Reply
Well, I really like this dress and how it looks on you - as a comfortable, casual summer dress. While I don't know how it looked before, I do like your change to elastic at the dropped waist and the color is fantastic on you.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8972

by: mnitts

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Pattern Details
Kwik Sew 2848

by: mchinadoll