SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7513 (DRESS)

2 more reviews
Viewed 628 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 10:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Well, I really like this dress and how it looks on you - as a comfortable, casual summer dress. While I don't know how it looked before, I do like your change to elastic at the dropped waist and the color is fantastic on you.
4/22/10 0:13 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Who does you hair?;), Love the blonde! Shoes are fab. dress is fab and you are fab.
4/22/10 1:27 AM
beth5646 said...
Ooo---I think that dress is super cute. I too like the changes you made. thanks for the review.
4/22/10 6:48 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks lovely on you. It's also interesting to see this pattern made up because I've been thinking about it myself.
4/22/10 7:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ann -- Love the fabric, love your hair, too, and, of course, your smile. The dress? Have to agree with you --and disagree, unfortunately, with others -- that you usually look much, much better in what you make (or otherwise, probably). Eliminating the back zipper was a good idea, if it isn't needed. I hate dresses with back zippers. I really appreciate your reviewing something that you don't consider to be a big success -- It helps as much as a positive review.
4/22/10 8:00 AM
DorothyK said...
I think the changes you made were good. You have a smart way of analyzing what's wrong and how to fix it. The dress is probably a little less "cool" than you usually make but, nevertheless, a great one for your hot summer. I think you will actually get lots of use out of it.
4/22/10 11:39 AM
MagpieJen said...
I know you feel this one is less successful than you wanted - but you really know how to style and wear it :-). Thak you for a really informative and helpful review!
4/22/10 12:03 PM
Aixoise said...
I don't think it's frumpy at all. With the great shoes and your sunny smile it looks like a slouchy, comfy summer dress - just the thing for warm weather.
4/22/10 12:18 PM
Christas said...
You definitely don't look frumpy! I love the way you have used your accessories (shoes and earrings) - compliments the style so much, and makes a very pretty and unique outfit.
4/22/10 5:02 PM
Noile said...
Ann, you could wear a sack and look wonderful with that irresistible million dollar smile of yours! I do agree that the dropped waist doesn't quite work, though, even with the elastic. How does would it look if you belted it, or brought the waist up to your natural waist? I love the buttons you added, which really enhance the style, and overall, I think it looks great on you. Nice choice of color, too!
4/22/10 8:05 PM
Sar sews said...
I thought I had commented somewhere else...new at this!! I think it looks great, but how did they ever think it would look 'decent' without the front buttons?!! Would press studs work as well as buttons, or even sewing the front panels to each other? I am going to trial this pattern in a piece of linen picked up at Spotlight.
12/13/10 10:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 8911

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Merckwaerdigh MIX 30

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now