Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: TL2010-04-20 (Living-room Drapes) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 168 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:tr1c14
photo
About tr1c14star
AB CANADA
Member since: 3/28/08
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/10 2:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
paulakiss said...
I can totally relate to what you've gone through! My first project after being away from sewing for years, was to make curtains and valencas for my 17 windows and closets. I have kitties too. lol. It was such a learning experience. ugh. Oh, and 7 months after I completed everything, we sold the house and moved. lol I still haven't started on window treatments for my new house. lol. You did a fabulous job! They look so professional! Congrats!
4/23/10 0:34 AM
Kayabunga said...
The curtains do look great so be proud :) ... and I can empathize with the process since I've been there too. When it's time to cut the kitchen curtains maybe try this, quilters do this all the time ... fold fabric lengthwise selvage to selvage making sure the fold is laying very flat and is not pulling anywhere. If your fabric is wonky let the selvages be somewhat uneven if you absolutely need to but the center fold must lay flat. Then fold lengthwise again bringing fold to selvage so you have 4 layers of fabric. Smooth it all out on floor or table and using a squaring ruler and rotary cutter (mat too) cut across top edge. Measure the length you need and then cut again making sure you are squaring up against the folded edge. Oh ... lock the kittens in the loo while you're doing this. :)
4/23/10 8:39 AM
wreninrome said...
they look great!
4/23/10 10:17 AM
tr1c14 said...
Thanks for the idea, Kayabunga, I'll have to try that next time. If there's a next time.
4/23/10 1:38 PM
LorrieAnn said...
I see why you just had to have that fabric - and the drapes turned out quite nicely. (And this review was such fun to read!)
4/23/10 1:53 PM
clgangi said...
Very entertaining review! And the drapes look great!
4/27/10 11:24 AM
Karla Kizer said...
"Would you sew it again? Hell no." LOL, trying to keep the panic at bay. I have 20 yards of fabric, a few grommet sources bookmarked, an intense dislike of sewing home dec, and a daughter who needs drapes. HELP. ME. I hope my results are as satisfying as yours. Great review.
4/28/10 7:07 PM
skooze48 said...
I too can relate and I agree with Kayabunga. A good tip once you have folded the flat fabric and have all your fabric folded I use paper binders-they are like paper clips but are metal and you pinch open the ends. Attorney's & teachers use these to hold a lot of paper together. These clips will hold all that fabric secure with out it sliding around! I too have kitties and agree to lock them up. The square too is a very important tool here. I sew a lot of curtains for people and I am am amazed how many have not preshrunk the material! One lady bought me a set of IKEA curtains with grommets at the top, and they were 112" long and you could cut them to order. They were 100% cotton and they said before you cut add 4% shrinkage to the final hem. She wanted them to be 84" long so that added 3 1/2 " more to the total length--since she didn't pre wash them. But most don't want them that long would rather have them at 84". I know from experience after washing them several times they are 3 to 4" off the floor. Why spend all that $$ ? But I also have found though that prewashed fabric is a lot harder to work with than fabric off the bolt because there is so much of it. If my clients are real budget minded, I tell them the cheapest way is to find flat sheets with a print you like. Depending on the window, if it's 84" you have little waste and these sheets are already square and it's a snap to just hem them & takes a lot of the guess work out of how even they will turn out. Also if there is enough fabric they can have a runner for their dresser or some pillows made. Hope this helps everyone. But your drapes do look awesome and unique.
4/29/10 11:56 PM
Kimtabulous said...
Beautiful:)
8/1/12 12:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4443 Dress
photo
Review by fourkid on 8/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6894 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 1/16/12
Read Review

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us