SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> TL2010-04-20 (Living-room Drapes)

Viewed 173 times 
Reviewed by:tr1c14
photo

 
 
About tr1c14star
Member since: 3/28/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/10 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kimtabulous said...
Beautiful:)
8/1/12 12:00 PM
skooze48 said...
I too can relate and I agree with Kayabunga. A good tip once you have folded the flat fabric and have all your fabric folded I use paper binders-they are like paper clips but are metal and you pinch open the ends. Attorney's & teachers use these to hold a lot of paper together. These clips will hold all that fabric secure with out it sliding around! I too have kitties and agree to lock them up. The square too is a very important tool here. I sew a lot of curtains for people and I am am amazed how many have not preshrunk the material! One lady bought me a set of IKEA curtains with grommets at the top, and they were 112" long and you could cut them to order. They were 100% cotton and they said before you cut add 4% shrinkage to the final hem. She wanted them to be 84" long so that added 3 1/2 " more to the total length--since she didn't pre wash them. But most don't want them that long would rather have them at 84". I know from experience after washing them several times they are 3 to 4" off the floor. Why spend all that $$ ? But I also have found though that prewashed fabric is a lot harder to work with than fabric off the bolt because there is so much of it. If my clients are real budget minded, I tell them the cheapest way is to find flat sheets with a print you like. Depending on the window, if it's 84" you have little waste and these sheets are already square and it's a snap to just hem them & takes a lot of the guess work out of how even they will turn out. Also if there is enough fabric they can have a runner for their dresser or some pillows made. Hope this helps everyone. But your drapes do look awesome and unique.
4/29/10 11:56 PM
Karla Kizer said...
"Would you sew it again? Hell no." LOL, trying to keep the panic at bay. I have 20 yards of fabric, a few grommet sources bookmarked, an intense dislike of sewing home dec, and a daughter who needs drapes. HELP. ME. I hope my results are as satisfying as yours. Great review.
4/28/10 7:07 PM
clgangi said...
Very entertaining review! And the drapes look great!
4/27/10 11:24 AM
LorrieAnn said...
I see why you just had to have that fabric - and the drapes turned out quite nicely. (And this review was such fun to read!)
4/23/10 1:53 PM
tr1c14 said...
Thanks for the idea, Kayabunga, I'll have to try that next time. If there's a next time.
4/23/10 1:38 PM
wreninrome said...
they look great!
4/23/10 10:17 AM
Kayabunga said...
The curtains do look great so be proud :) ... and I can empathize with the process since I've been there too. When it's time to cut the kitchen curtains maybe try this, quilters do this all the time ... fold fabric lengthwise selvage to selvage making sure the fold is laying very flat and is not pulling anywhere. If your fabric is wonky let the selvages be somewhat uneven if you absolutely need to but the center fold must lay flat. Then fold lengthwise again bringing fold to selvage so you have 4 layers of fabric. Smooth it all out on floor or table and using a squaring ruler and rotary cutter (mat too) cut across top edge. Measure the length you need and then cut again making sure you are squaring up against the folded edge. Oh ... lock the kittens in the loo while you're doing this. :)
4/23/10 8:39 AM
paulakiss said...
I can totally relate to what you've gone through! My first project after being away from sewing for years, was to make curtains and valencas for my 17 windows and closets. I have kitties too. lol. It was such a learning experience. ugh. Oh, and 7 months after I completed everything, we sold the house and moved. lol I still haven't started on window treatments for my new house. lol. You did a fabulous job! They look so professional! Congrats!
4/23/10 0:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-120

photo
by: style insp...

Review