SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> TL2010-04-20 (Living-room Drapes)

Viewed 176 times 
Reviewed by:tr1c14
photo

 
 
About tr1c14star
Member since: 3/28/08
Reviews: 22 (patterns: 21)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/10 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shoes15 said... (3/13/15 4:31 PM) Reply
I can relate. I learned the hard way how to sew drapes. Here's some advice if you want to try again with long drapes: * Plan for a 4-inch bottom hem. Seems huge, but it's not. You will need the room in case of measuring difficulties, and in case the drapes shrink when you dry clean them. * In addition to the 4-inch hem, cut the length two inches longer than you think it needs to be. It's inevitable that the fabric will draw up a bit with the feed dogs of your machine. You can press this ease out so it's not noticeable along the seam. Once the panels are all sewn and pressed, then cut it to to the desired length. (Plus the 4 inches for bottom hem, plus whatever you need for the top hem for a curtain rod, tabs, grommets etc. * Sew all panels in the same direction to keep the feed dog draw even. * If you have a walking foot, use it! Well worth the investment. * To deal with big print repeats, cut one panel, assemble it, and go from there. Choose a starting place and photograph it, raw and sewn, before you cut out the next piece. Mark up the fabric for the next piece accordingly. Avoid any fabric that's going to have a fussy repeat, or plan to buy 1-2 extra yards. * For lightweight fabrics, use drapery weights in the hem (or sew quarters in there) or use a drapery chain.
Kimtabulous said... (8/1/12 12:00 PM) Reply
Beautiful:)
skooze48 said... (4/29/10 11:56 PM) Reply
I too can relate and I agree with Kayabunga. A good tip once you have folded the flat fabric and have all your fabric folded I use paper binders-they are like paper clips but are metal and you pinch open the ends. Attorney's & teachers use these to hold a lot of paper together. These clips will hold all that fabric secure with out it sliding around! I too have kitties and agree to lock them up. The square too is a very important tool here. I sew a lot of curtains for people and I am am amazed how many have not preshrunk the material! One lady bought me a set of IKEA curtains with grommets at the top, and they were 112" long and you could cut them to order. They were 100% cotton and they said before you cut add 4% shrinkage to the final hem. She wanted them to be 84" long so that added 3 1/2 " more to the total length--since she didn't pre wash them. But most don't want them that long would rather have them at 84". I know from experience after washing them several times they are 3 to 4" off the floor. Why spend all that $$ ? But I also have found though that prewashed fabric is a lot harder to work with than fabric off the bolt because there is so much of it. If my clients are real budget minded, I tell them the cheapest way is to find flat sheets with a print you like. Depending on the window, if it's 84" you have little waste and these sheets are already square and it's a snap to just hem them & takes a lot of the guess work out of how even they will turn out. Also if there is enough fabric they can have a runner for their dresser or some pillows made. Hope this helps everyone. But your drapes do look awesome and unique.
Karla Kizer said... (4/28/10 7:07 PM) Reply
"Would you sew it again? Hell no." LOL, trying to keep the panic at bay. I have 20 yards of fabric, a few grommet sources bookmarked, an intense dislike of sewing home dec, and a daughter who needs drapes. HELP. ME. I hope my results are as satisfying as yours. Great review.
clgangi said... (4/27/10 11:24 AM) Reply
Very entertaining review! And the drapes look great!
LorrieAnn said... (4/23/10 1:53 PM) Reply
I see why you just had to have that fabric - and the drapes turned out quite nicely. (And this review was such fun to read!)
tr1c14 said... (4/23/10 1:38 PM) Reply
Thanks for the idea, Kayabunga, I'll have to try that next time. If there's a next time.
wreninrome said... (4/23/10 10:17 AM) Reply
they look great!
Kayabunga said... (4/23/10 8:39 AM) Reply
The curtains do look great so be proud :) ... and I can empathize with the process since I've been there too. When it's time to cut the kitchen curtains maybe try this, quilters do this all the time ... fold fabric lengthwise selvage to selvage making sure the fold is laying very flat and is not pulling anywhere. If your fabric is wonky let the selvages be somewhat uneven if you absolutely need to but the center fold must lay flat. Then fold lengthwise again bringing fold to selvage so you have 4 layers of fabric. Smooth it all out on floor or table and using a squaring ruler and rotary cutter (mat too) cut across top edge. Measure the length you need and then cut again making sure you are squaring up against the folded edge. Oh ... lock the kittens in the loo while you're doing this. :)
paulakiss said... (4/23/10 0:34 AM) Reply
I can totally relate to what you've gone through! My first project after being away from sewing for years, was to make curtains and valencas for my 17 windows and closets. I have kitties too. lol. It was such a learning experience. ugh. Oh, and 7 months after I completed everything, we sold the house and moved. lol I still haven't started on window treatments for my new house. lol. You did a fabulous job! They look so professional! Congrats!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Go To Patterns Casual Lady

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-5

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Pattern Details