SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7550 (PANTS)

4 more reviews
Viewed 655 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 6:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
Isnt it so disappointing when a pattern just doesnt meet expectations?! While they might not have turned out as you had hoped, they do look fantastic and you did a great job making them. I especially like the zip pockets and the off-white topstitching. I have never made any adults Burda patterns (that I can remember anyway) but I have made a lot of kids ones, and Burda do seem to use generous sizing.
4/23/10 6:22 AM
Rhoda K said...
Sorry you were disappointed with the fit, I too hate when that happens. The pants do look good on you and your topstitching is beautiful.
4/23/10 8:09 AM
EveS said...
It's this type of thing that's STILL making me shy of pants...so much work to be disappointed! Too bad they didn't work as they look fabulous! Can you feel my envy of your impeccable topstitching? You should! :)
4/23/10 8:10 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I agree that description of fit vs. pattern fit/ease often don't match what's inside. The solution ? Before you even layout your intended fabric compare some flat pattern measurements to an article of clothing you already like - or is close to what you hope to achieve. If it is not even close - stop right there and evaluate. Check circumference at key points for the style garment you are making. Regroup and go to plan B if things are not on track. Your pants are really cute, the topstitching looks precise and perfect. Too bad the fashion photo and reality did not jibe. Yours is a most helpful review and I do like your capris a lot.
4/23/10 8:29 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks Nancy. I usually do measure or compare to a TNT pattern or RTW item, except this time I had lost weight, going down a size, and had absolutely nothing to compare against. I was flying blind. One of the joys of losing weight. :) You get to start from scratch.
4/23/10 8:59 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a bummer. All that work and you don't really like them. Thanks for all the helpful info!
4/23/10 10:30 AM
MichelleE said...
Sorry they didn't work out for you but I am glad you posted. This is the type of pattern I've been looking for. I think the baggy fit will be perfect for a pair of mountain biking capris!
4/23/10 11:10 AM
Christas said...
You always do such perfect sewing. I hate that these were too big. You can tell that they are so nicely sewn.
4/23/10 5:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for the review. I wondered about this pattern but now think I will pass on it. Must be why the model is in such a goofy pose to hide the bad fit!
4/23/10 9:55 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I'm sorry you don't like the fit, but I think they are fanastic. Those pockets and your topstitching really make them special.
4/25/10 6:04 PM
callmeRuth said...
Nice work, impeccable. Sorry they aren't right for you.
4/26/10 1:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8791

photo
by: KatC83

Review