Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4249 (Indian/MidEast Costumes) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 386 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/10 1:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
hi there, this is looking good. I'm no expert but it looks like the shoulders are definitely large enough already. Maybe even a bit big looking at the extra fabric between the arm and bust. I am a similar shape to you (but shorter) and I find I need to use a shoulder size based on my high bust measurement, then do a full bust alteration and grade out to a bigger size for waist and hips. If I use my hip size for the whole dress (or try to buy a dress), it falls off my shoulders. Just a thought. I'm sure the experienced people on the fitting issues message boards would have some helpful suggestions. Any this is a nice shape for you so good luck!
4/25/10 2:28 AM
Margaret said...
Congratulations on your zipper and neckline! I agree with lyndie, the neck/shoulder area looks like it fits well, and I'd worry it could get too wide across if you sized up the entire dress. If it's not more alteration than you want to get into at this point, an FBA might be ideal (there are many articles on that in the knowledgebase area of this site). Otherwise, maybe cutting the larger size up to the armhole, then tapering to this original size midway up the armhole would help? (if that makes sense).... Anyhow, I think this version looks very well done -- best of luck with the next one!
4/25/10 2:29 AM
Renren said...
Very nice looking dress and the neckline is especially lovely. Sorry, I can't help with fitting issues, but it looks quite nice and it will be a great style for the Renn Faire dress.
4/25/10 2:43 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/25/10 7:15 AM
dfr2010 said...
I appreciate the feedback, ladies ... checking the pattern tissue, and going up a size would mess up the shoulders in a big way (sigh) although it would fix the bust/underbust issues. Time to play "Frankenpattern" I suppose! I'm going to try using the bottom line on the front bodice from the sz 20, while keeping the topline from the sz 18. I'll need to add a 1/8" to the bottom line on the back bodice to keep it from going all whopperjawed. Adding a smidge to the hips on the skirt pieces is no problem (I hope!!) and the pattern has a funny little flare at the hips/waist that is a big too extreme for my tastes and I intend to soften that curve. I've got the general impression this pattern was made for a more slender figure, then just blown up for the larger sizes!
4/25/10 8:06 AM
whirrclunk said...
Your mock up dress is great! I clicked on the photo and had to do a double-take, thinking, 'hang on, wasn't this a work in progress'? Maybe a few tweaks would improve the garment a little further but the neckline, sleeves, general shape of the dress, and even the fabric, all look really good on you, Did you manage to get it finished on time?
5/2/10 4:01 PM
dfr2010 said...
whirrclunk: the lavendar vesion is still "in progress" although I am wearing the mockup today. I have five days to finish up the lavendar, or just simply wear the mockup. I have to admit, last weekend I was feeling the mockup was a dud ... but both hubby and son have commented on how nice it looks today (in addition to all the positive responses here at PR).
5/2/10 5:02 PM
Therisa said...
I'm liking the work so far. I agree with you that something different needs to happen with the sleeve and armhole. Usually for me, the Simplicity armhole is too low. It's my understanding that the seam is supposed to be about 1" below the armpit - is this where yours is coming? Also, this is not a Middle Eastern costume. It is a South Asian Salwar Kameez, as noted in comments on another review.
5/7/10 12:16 PM
dfr2010 said...
Therisa, I first saw this style in Kuwait and Qatar, where it seems to be quite popular. I don't know how long the style has been in the MidEast ...I didn't have the opportunity to ask at the time ... but I have heard it is originally Indian. I'll amend the title to reflect that.
5/7/10 1:18 PM
Trephas2003 said...

6/9/10 5:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5430
photo
Review by Bonnie O on 6/22/07
Read Review

Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1161 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 10/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us