SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4249 (Indian/MidEast Costumes)

3 more reviews
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/10 1:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...

6/9/10 5:27 AM
dfr2010 said...
Therisa, I first saw this style in Kuwait and Qatar, where it seems to be quite popular. I don't know how long the style has been in the MidEast ...I didn't have the opportunity to ask at the time ... but I have heard it is originally Indian. I'll amend the title to reflect that.
5/7/10 1:18 PM
Therisa said...
I'm liking the work so far. I agree with you that something different needs to happen with the sleeve and armhole. Usually for me, the Simplicity armhole is too low. It's my understanding that the seam is supposed to be about 1" below the armpit - is this where yours is coming? Also, this is not a Middle Eastern costume. It is a South Asian Salwar Kameez, as noted in comments on another review.
5/7/10 12:16 PM
dfr2010 said...
whirrclunk: the lavendar vesion is still "in progress" although I am wearing the mockup today. I have five days to finish up the lavendar, or just simply wear the mockup. I have to admit, last weekend I was feeling the mockup was a dud ... but both hubby and son have commented on how nice it looks today (in addition to all the positive responses here at PR).
5/2/10 5:02 PM
whirrclunk said...
Your mock up dress is great! I clicked on the photo and had to do a double-take, thinking, 'hang on, wasn't this a work in progress'? Maybe a few tweaks would improve the garment a little further but the neckline, sleeves, general shape of the dress, and even the fabric, all look really good on you, Did you manage to get it finished on time?
5/2/10 4:01 PM
dfr2010 said...
I appreciate the feedback, ladies ... checking the pattern tissue, and going up a size would mess up the shoulders in a big way (sigh) although it would fix the bust/underbust issues. Time to play "Frankenpattern" I suppose! I'm going to try using the bottom line on the front bodice from the sz 20, while keeping the topline from the sz 18. I'll need to add a 1/8" to the bottom line on the back bodice to keep it from going all whopperjawed. Adding a smidge to the hips on the skirt pieces is no problem (I hope!!) and the pattern has a funny little flare at the hips/waist that is a big too extreme for my tastes and I intend to soften that curve. I've got the general impression this pattern was made for a more slender figure, then just blown up for the larger sizes!
4/25/10 8:06 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/25/10 7:15 AM
Renren said...
Very nice looking dress and the neckline is especially lovely. Sorry, I can't help with fitting issues, but it looks quite nice and it will be a great style for the Renn Faire dress.
4/25/10 2:43 AM
Margaret said...
Congratulations on your zipper and neckline! I agree with lyndie, the neck/shoulder area looks like it fits well, and I'd worry it could get too wide across if you sized up the entire dress. If it's not more alteration than you want to get into at this point, an FBA might be ideal (there are many articles on that in the knowledgebase area of this site). Otherwise, maybe cutting the larger size up to the armhole, then tapering to this original size midway up the armhole would help? (if that makes sense).... Anyhow, I think this version looks very well done -- best of luck with the next one!
4/25/10 2:29 AM
lyndle said...
hi there, this is looking good. I'm no expert but it looks like the shoulders are definitely large enough already. Maybe even a bit big looking at the extra fabric between the arm and bust. I am a similar shape to you (but shorter) and I find I need to use a shoulder size based on my high bust measurement, then do a full bust alteration and grade out to a bigger size for waist and hips. If I use my hip size for the whole dress (or try to buy a dress), it falls off my shoulders. Just a thought. I'm sure the experienced people on the fitting issues message boards would have some helpful suggestions. Any this is a nice shape for you so good luck!
4/25/10 2:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

More Info