SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 441 times 
Reviewed by:Sofia Lu
photo

 
 
About Sofia Lu
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/10 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
Your jeans look great. It's too bad you had to do so much altering to get the look that you thought you were getting. It will only get easier now!
4/28/10 10:25 AM
marec said...
Good looking jeans. Isn't it annoying to see such design differences on the envelope? Your next pair will be so much more what you want. Thanks for the review.
4/28/10 10:59 AM
Portia Hirschman said...
What I discovered "later" about this pattern (I've made it twice) is that the side seams are 1" to accomodate changes. If you don't note this on your tracing, they will be large. That being said, I like straight legs and I've been pleased with this pattern. I used the contour waistband. Your jeans look great!
4/28/10 11:04 AM
lynne1nor said...
Very interesting review! Jeans look great! Sounds like the pattern had too much ease (amongst other issues).
4/28/10 11:05 AM
Sofia Lu said...
Thank you, all! I know about the wide seam allowance, 1", but they are still too big. Too much ease for my taste. The next pair will be great. I made four muslins before I made this first pair but since the fabrics aren't identical, I ended up with a non-perfect pair och jeans. I didn't use my most expensive denim for this. :-) I believe strongly in the next pair...
4/28/10 11:12 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Your stitching is beautiful! I've made these three times and each time, I've made additional modifications. I do agree that the "boot cut" is not as dramatic as we see in RTW. I plan in giving this pattern one more try and hope to get all the modifications just right. Oh - and so true about the waist band. Skip the straight one all together and only use the contoured band. Oddly, I found that both were longer than needed and did not match up with the appropriate sizing. Great review!
4/28/10 12:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great jeans! I'm sure the next pair will be perfect -but these look pretty good to me! I am currently making these and swapped in the contour waistband in the same size and it approximately fits. I agree that the legs are not a real bootcut!
4/28/10 4:57 PM
GBK said...
The jeans look fabulous, very professional! This pattern is in my stash and having a swayback and large derriere myself, I'd be interested how you have altered the pattern to address that? MANY THANKS in advance! :-)
5/13/10 9:36 AM
Sofia Lu said...
GBK: I'll get back to you.
5/16/10 2:18 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Beautiful embroidery job on those pockets!
5/26/10 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: Nanax4

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now