Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5142 (The Perfect Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 439 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Sofia Lu
photo
About Sofia Lu
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/10 8:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
Your jeans look great. It's too bad you had to do so much altering to get the look that you thought you were getting. It will only get easier now!
4/28/10 10:25 AM
marec said...
Good looking jeans. Isn't it annoying to see such design differences on the envelope? Your next pair will be so much more what you want. Thanks for the review.
4/28/10 10:59 AM
Portia Hirschman said...
What I discovered "later" about this pattern (I've made it twice) is that the side seams are 1" to accomodate changes. If you don't note this on your tracing, they will be large. That being said, I like straight legs and I've been pleased with this pattern. I used the contour waistband. Your jeans look great!
4/28/10 11:04 AM
lynne1nor said...
Very interesting review! Jeans look great! Sounds like the pattern had too much ease (amongst other issues).
4/28/10 11:05 AM
Sofia Lu said...
Thank you, all! I know about the wide seam allowance, 1", but they are still too big. Too much ease for my taste. The next pair will be great. I made four muslins before I made this first pair but since the fabrics aren't identical, I ended up with a non-perfect pair och jeans. I didn't use my most expensive denim for this. :-) I believe strongly in the next pair...
4/28/10 11:12 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Your stitching is beautiful! I've made these three times and each time, I've made additional modifications. I do agree that the "boot cut" is not as dramatic as we see in RTW. I plan in giving this pattern one more try and hope to get all the modifications just right. Oh - and so true about the waist band. Skip the straight one all together and only use the contoured band. Oddly, I found that both were longer than needed and did not match up with the appropriate sizing. Great review!
4/28/10 12:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great jeans! I'm sure the next pair will be perfect -but these look pretty good to me! I am currently making these and swapped in the contour waistband in the same size and it approximately fits. I agree that the legs are not a real bootcut!
4/28/10 4:57 PM
GBK said...
The jeans look fabulous, very professional! This pattern is in my stash and having a swayback and large derriere myself, I'd be interested how you have altered the pattern to address that? MANY THANKS in advance! :-)
5/13/10 9:36 AM
Sofia Lu said...
GBK: I'll get back to you.
5/16/10 2:18 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Beautiful embroidery job on those pockets!
5/26/10 3:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5533 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by marec on 10/31/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-104 skirt
photo
Review by olgarosita on 2/17/13
Read Review

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us