Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8048 (MEN'S VEST, TIE AND BOW TIE) thumbsup - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 301 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:RobinMCPA
photo
Friend of PR
About RobinMCPAstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/13/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 6:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Mens    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
You both look stunning. I love that you made him the vest and tie to match your dress. Very classy!
4/25/10 7:33 PM
ryan's mom said...
Okay. Really, who's going to be looking at the tie and vest when you two make such a striking couple :) ! And yeah, great tie and vest!!
4/25/10 8:53 PM
voet said...
You did a great job. You are correct about the lack of good menswear patterns. All of the pattern companies used to have a small but varied line of patterns for men. Today Kwik Sew, Burda and Islander are about the only ones who seem to be making new patterns for men. I hope you are not discouraged from making your DH another vest. Once you learn his "hot button" issues, hopefully it will get easier for you. Also, all of you talented women out there in Pattern Review land, make something for the men in your life every once in a while. It may encourage the pattern companies to reissue some of their older patterns and maybe even create some new ones.
4/26/10 8:59 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! You both look so good together! I would never be brave enough to make the tie! I can't even tie a bow! Well great job!
4/26/10 9:11 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Thanks to everyone for your comments. I had a long talk with my DH about the vest and tie and it turned out his only real issue was the size and stiffness of the buttonholes. I had been paranoid about making the buttonholes too large and also having the silk dupioni fray, so I overcompensated with too small of buttonholes and too much Fray-Check. I will watch that tendency in the future. Also I should probably have lengthened the back waist belt because I had added to the front side seams even though I didn't increase the size of the back pattern piece. I think this would have given a smoother fit in back (which I didn't show, but was just OK.) So the short answer is, I will be making this again in the future. Voet - thanks for the comments from a male perspective. That is always interesting to hear and also thanks for the compliment on how the vest and tie turned out! RLL, Ryan's mom, and Mhk3boys - thank you so much. I really appreciate the nice compliments! Mhk3boys - I was really nervous about the bow tie as I had no clue how one went together. But actually the instructions were very good and walked through step by step what to do. At first I was overwhelmed, but I found that when I just took it a step at a time, it wasn't hard at all.
4/27/10 11:47 AM
MissCelie said...
You're right. Menswear patterns are awfully hard to come by. It's too bad! You guys look stunning. And, I may try this in the future. I hate those rented tie and vest combos. Bleh. This, though, looks excellent.
5/13/10 7:18 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent vest. Yes, it is hard to find good patterns. I'm so thrilled to hear that you figured out what your DH's concerns were, because it certainly looks great on him.
6/5/10 9:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 6120
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 9/4/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paco Peralta Chinese Jacket Chinese Jacket
photo
Review by marthamyer... on 1/24/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us