Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5321 - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1113 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:vande
photo
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/10 4:57 AM
Last Updated:5/5/10 8:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
I would love to be able to see the photos of this dress, it sounds divine but when I click the links it wants me to sign in to a website I am not a member of. Is there anyway you can link so we dont have to be logged in to see them?
4/26/10 5:27 AM
svetlana said...
I made this skirt 3 times last prom season. Thankfully this years client did not want a skirt with pick ups because I think I would scream if I had to do that one again for at least another couple of seasons. No matter what the material you use or how much horsehair, you need a petticoat underneath to give it the total full look. The weight of the skirt makes it fall in on itself. I also liked the horsehair application and have added to the dress I made this year even though it didn't call for it. Much nicer definition.
4/26/10 8:28 AM
sewrelaxed said...
I made this dress for my son's girlfriend for prom last year. Yes it does need a petticoat to achieve the look. I ended up using yards & yards of horsehair; I also attached a tulle ruffle to the bottom of the stay. We also decided to add a few more pick ups here and there. And just for her convenience I added a zippered pocket to the skirt lining for her essentials for the evening (she didn't want to hassle with a purse).
4/26/10 3:12 PM
Re Becca said...
That bodice really fit well! If I were you, I would find a place to rent a petticoat instead of making one and attaching it.
5/2/10 10:09 AM
Yu Kikuyu said...
Wow. I love this bodice. The dress is gonna be gorgeous!
5/3/10 11:02 AM
Re Becca said...
It looks fabulous! This was really worth all your hard work, the fabric choice and the skirt all look perfect.
5/5/10 10:54 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just stunning, what a beautiful dress!
5/5/10 11:37 PM
Paris75008 said...
Love the black bias velvet at the top of the bodice. It really gives the dress a special touch. The dress came out lovely. What a shame the pattern companies don't give enough information as to how they achieve the look in the pattern photo. That doesn't happen in food photography.
5/6/10 6:19 AM
JEF said...
Stunningly beautiful!
5/6/10 7:14 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
Beautiful! I also love your use of black on the bodice. Sounds like the dress was a bit of a pain, but the end result is really incredible. :)
5/6/10 9:46 AM
RLL said...
Absolutely beautiful. Lucky girl!
5/6/10 11:57 AM
vande said...
Thank you all for your kind comments and suggestions. Yes, Svetlana and Sewrelaxed - it really does need a petti - and I think (if I had time that the ruffle would have helped as well. Re Becca - renting was a good idea - there just wasn't anywhere handy in time - so I had to plough on regardless, with what I had or could manufacture in the timeframe. Overall, the pattern was good - shocking waste of fabric with the cutting - I just think that perhaps I wasn't quite ready to tackle such an advanced pattern - and I would really like to have them put on the envelope what else would be needed to make the dress like the picture (ie underpinnings). Once again, thanks for your kind comments!
5/6/10 5:17 PM
carolynw said...
You did a fantastic job - it is a really beautiful dress and I am sure the young lady was pleased and happy as all get out to be wearing it. Congratulations on a job so well done
5/6/10 9:34 PM
MagpieJen said...
This is a super-helpful review! Despite the challenges, the end product is stunning! A very special dress I'm sure she'll always remember fondly.
5/7/10 12:53 PM
Jea1978 said...
Wow - you did an amazing job on this dress! It looks gorgeous.
5/8/10 11:04 AM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful! I will add this pattern to my wish list....never know when I might need something like this.
5/19/10 7:51 PM
AnneM said...
I suspect this style will always use a lot of fabric. But very nice results. Congratulations.
6/5/10 9:36 PM
ElizabethDee said...
beautiful gown, and such a wonderful review. i can't imagine making such a garment. what skill you have.
6/10/10 1:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
Simply breathtaking, and flawlessly executed. Bravo!
6/10/10 1:57 PM
Christas said...
This dress is amazing. The bodice fits so perfectly. I'll bet she felt like a princess at the prom!
9/29/10 8:32 AM
saramiriam said...
Hi! These comments are so helpful! I was thinking of purchasing this pattern to make just a skirt. And I also do not want it floor length...but around calf length. Does anyone know how this will play out, with the tacks and all? It's for my dd's friends wedding, so I dont want her wearing a maxi, since she's not part of the bridal party, but i do like the tack-look, with the poofs and all. Any pattern recommendations? - Miriam
9/4/11 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us