SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 0653 

Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews: 92 (patterns: 90)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/10 3:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said... (5/7/10 8:36 AM) Reply
Really, it's a very good looking muslin. You just need to gain a lot of weight and grow taller. Just kidding, but it does look like a child trying on a grown-up's pair of trousers! You've had such great results with Marfy before; it's too bad you have a dud with this one. I love Marfy's drawings, but the stylized pictures don't always show how a normal person would look wearing the clothes when assuming normal postures. If you had measured the pattern flat, do you think it would have helped you avoid the oversizing? I never think to do that...
Squeezylemon said... (4/27/10 8:58 AM) Reply
Lovely trousers Jenni, but I know you are very slim in real life so it could be just that you needed to use a much smaller size to achieve the same look as the drawing. But they still look good on you as far as I can see! Great project as usual.
susiestitcher said... (4/26/10 11:36 PM) Reply
Sorry that you didn't achieve the pants that you wanted. I have to agree with Nancywin though. The illustration of the pant does look slim, but the technical drawing, as it were, looks more like what you sewed. It looks like a much wider leg to me. Are you sure you started with the right size? From all your fitting issues, could you have needed a much smaller pattern size to start with?
Nancywin said... (4/26/10 10:57 PM) Reply
Well, I think you're right about the drawing, but if you look at the drawing next to the one pictured on the drawn model, it does look much wider. Also, overall, these may just be too big for you. Sorry these didn't turn out as you had hoped.
Re Becca said... (4/26/10 10:23 PM) Reply
You are right, the pattern drawing looks really cute. Sorry that it didn't work out like that.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6110

photo
by: Danmar

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details