SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5282 

1 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo

 
 
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/10 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TheaBerlin said...
Wonderful job! You really look like a movie star ;-)
4/27/10 0:19 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look stunning, a gorgeous dress in a gorgeous colour and it works really well as a formal ballgown with the full petticoat underneath. Just thinking about hemming it gives me a headache!
4/27/10 1:55 AM
mm said...
I hope you had a great time at the ball. You certainly look the part.
4/27/10 4:50 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Gorgeous. This dress is great on you.
4/27/10 7:20 AM
Re Becca said...
Wonderful job, that is so incredibly flattering! You make this look so glamorous!
4/27/10 7:54 AM
Gelbean said...
Your dress is stunning and the color looks so beautiful on you. It's definitely a movie star dress.
4/27/10 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - you look so regal in it!! Love the color. Great review
4/27/10 9:06 AM
Babe B said...
Elegant! Great review also.
4/27/10 1:21 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I've been hoping someone would review this dress. I have just begun making it for a bridesmaid in a gorgeous purple jersey. I'm a bit worried that the weight of the skirt might pull the whole thing down in a weird way - we shall see. I have also made a muslin, so far just of the bodice, and it seemed much too large - I am going to have to go down a size. Loved your idea of the tube instead of a buckle - my girl is searching out a buckle as we speak - at least I hope she is.
4/28/10 8:49 AM
Acient3 said...
Your work is beautiful, you look stunning, you made me want to make that dress for myself.
5/6/10 7:40 PM
annie11 said...
Love the color- it looks stunning on you. Thanks for the tip about the FBA.
5/13/10 4:43 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Hello Pitty Pat. I am making this dress and about to do the zipper. Any hints on how to handle all the layers of gathering? Much appreciated.
5/14/10 0:43 AM
PittyPat said...
Christmas Hills, to keep the gathering on the midriff in place before you insert the zipper, baste the gathers to the midriff stay about 1/2" in from edge. That is the only gathering that is involved in the zipper/center back seam. I used an invisible zipper as it is applied on the rightside of the fabric - so did not have to deal with the fold-over sections that a regular zipper would have. Then after the invisilbe zipper was sewn in, I hand-stitched the lining [back top and midriff] into place keeping it back from the teeth of the zipper. Really went in easily. Oh...one other thing, I did lighten the presser foot pressure one notch. Good luck on your dress.
5/25/10 8:22 PM
nightmoon said...
I, too made this dress. I loved it so much I made it in two colors, deep forest green and deep purple. I wish i would have thought of making a fabric 'slide' instead of sewing in a buckle because I too wanted to wear a pin.. oh well, next time. I think if you make a toil of muslin as on comment mentioned, it will fit much differently than the stretch knit meant to be used. altogether a fabulous dress.
1/23/11 1:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8469

photo
by: SewMeLove

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-123

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now