SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5282 

1 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo

 
 
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/10 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nightmoon said...
I, too made this dress. I loved it so much I made it in two colors, deep forest green and deep purple. I wish i would have thought of making a fabric 'slide' instead of sewing in a buckle because I too wanted to wear a pin.. oh well, next time. I think if you make a toil of muslin as on comment mentioned, it will fit much differently than the stretch knit meant to be used. altogether a fabulous dress.
1/23/11 1:07 PM
PittyPat said...
Christmas Hills, to keep the gathering on the midriff in place before you insert the zipper, baste the gathers to the midriff stay about 1/2" in from edge. That is the only gathering that is involved in the zipper/center back seam. I used an invisible zipper as it is applied on the rightside of the fabric - so did not have to deal with the fold-over sections that a regular zipper would have. Then after the invisilbe zipper was sewn in, I hand-stitched the lining [back top and midriff] into place keeping it back from the teeth of the zipper. Really went in easily. Oh...one other thing, I did lighten the presser foot pressure one notch. Good luck on your dress.
5/25/10 8:22 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Hello Pitty Pat. I am making this dress and about to do the zipper. Any hints on how to handle all the layers of gathering? Much appreciated.
5/14/10 0:43 AM
annie11 said...
Love the color- it looks stunning on you. Thanks for the tip about the FBA.
5/13/10 4:43 PM
Acient3 said...
Your work is beautiful, you look stunning, you made me want to make that dress for myself.
5/6/10 7:40 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I've been hoping someone would review this dress. I have just begun making it for a bridesmaid in a gorgeous purple jersey. I'm a bit worried that the weight of the skirt might pull the whole thing down in a weird way - we shall see. I have also made a muslin, so far just of the bodice, and it seemed much too large - I am going to have to go down a size. Loved your idea of the tube instead of a buckle - my girl is searching out a buckle as we speak - at least I hope she is.
4/28/10 8:49 AM
Babe B said...
Elegant! Great review also.
4/27/10 1:21 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - you look so regal in it!! Love the color. Great review
4/27/10 9:06 AM
Gelbean said...
Your dress is stunning and the color looks so beautiful on you. It's definitely a movie star dress.
4/27/10 8:59 AM
Re Becca said...
Wonderful job, that is so incredibly flattering! You make this look so glamorous!
4/27/10 7:54 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Gorgeous. This dress is great on you.
4/27/10 7:20 AM
mm said...
I hope you had a great time at the ball. You certainly look the part.
4/27/10 4:50 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look stunning, a gorgeous dress in a gorgeous colour and it works really well as a formal ballgown with the full petticoat underneath. Just thinking about hemming it gives me a headache!
4/27/10 1:55 AM
TheaBerlin said...
Wonderful job! You really look like a movie star ;-)
4/27/10 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info