SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 5940 (One-Piece Dress ca. early 60s)

Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 296
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 275
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/10 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/18/10 2:24 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a really nice job on this dress - color, fit, everything. Inspiring!
5/17/10 1:12 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks!
5/8/10 12:21 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! I love the style and the color. Great job!
5/7/10 9:14 AM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
5/6/10 1:37 PM
JillyBe said...
This dress looks stunning on you! Very nice, thorough review :)
5/4/10 1:07 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Your fitting skills are wonderful -- and your dress is GORGEOUS! Thanks for a great review.
5/4/10 12:55 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you! For me fitting is one of the most interesting parts... so I'm glad all the detail on that can be useful to some, even though every figure is different!
5/4/10 11:36 AM
graustark said...
This is a gorgeous dress, and the fit looks perfect -- as its creator, you may be able to find ways to improve it, but I don't think others will! Thanks for going into your alterations in detail, it was a good learning experience.
5/3/10 8:52 PM
Camerio said...
Stunning dress.
5/3/10 8:48 PM
fourkid said...
This came out so beautiful - you are so much more patient than I in fitting it correctly. This looks modern and classy - great job!
5/3/10 8:32 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a style for you. The 60s & 70s styles aren't usually my fav, but that one is spectacular. Congratulations.
5/2/10 7:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Distinctive and stylish! You achieved a superb fit, congratulations!
5/2/10 12:59 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I just love this dress. It looks terrific on you, and you did a wonderful job. What a great pattern!
5/2/10 1:41 AM
Margaret said...
Denise, thanks!! I didn't realize Cemetarian.com had year lists. I'm going to check out my other patterns there!
5/1/10 11:26 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Cemetarian.com indicates 1963 as well. Very cute dress - I really like the way it wraps in the front. Unique - which is one of the main reasons we all sew, right? Good job!
4/30/10 5:32 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
4/30/10 12:13 PM
Marie_P. said...
Very flattering dress. You look fab.
4/30/10 11:51 AM
Kayseri said...
Wonderful dress. Beautifully made and really suits you.
4/30/10 7:42 AM
colorkitten said...
that crossed bodice is such a great detail! it looks fantastic!
4/29/10 2:17 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all your very kind comments! I really appreciate them, and hope some of you who have not sewn vintage patterns before will try it. :) Kay, yes, I may wear this to the PR weekend. It depends on what else I make by then, but I'm pretty happy with it!
4/28/10 7:31 PM
whirrclunk said...
You look fabulous in this dress. Better than the envelope!
4/28/10 4:03 PM
Kay Y said...
Super nice! Will we be seeing this at the PR weekend???
4/28/10 2:53 PM
MagpieJen said...
So fabulous! I love this polished look. You worked hard on the fitting (thank you for all the great details on that!) and it really shows in this fine garment!
4/28/10 1:21 PM
Obrooks770 said...
CUTE! That really looks good on you!
4/28/10 1:11 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress. It looks really good on you.
4/28/10 8:16 AM
wreninrome said...
wow! amazing dress and review
4/28/10 4:11 AM
Laurasews said...
Awesome on you! Love the pattern and great review.
4/28/10 0:08 AM
Lisette said...
Very beautiful!
4/27/10 10:14 PM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the cross on the front,it fits you very well.
4/27/10 6:48 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really cute & pretty!! The DRESS, too!! ;)
4/27/10 5:07 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Lovely and a great choice of fabric!
4/27/10 4:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you look absolutely fabulous in this dress--wonderful job!!! The fit is perfect.
4/27/10 3:40 PM
maryfrana said...
Vintage forever. This is lovely and modern. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/10 2:40 PM
Mermie said...
I love this dress! It looks great on you.
4/27/10 2:09 PM
RLL said...
This looks super good on you.
4/27/10 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-129

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

More Info
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info