SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7847 (Very Easy Vogue Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/10 12:47 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Very cute dress. I love the color. I remember Sandra's comments also but I think she said to iron it with high heat first, before washing. Could that be right?
5/2/10 1:21 PM
neufy said...
I HAVE the pattern and was thinking about it a few days ago. Lovely!!! Will have to get on this.
5/2/10 1:37 PM
Christas said...
Very cute dress on you! I love how you accessorized it! I NEED your shoes and necklace. LOL!
5/2/10 3:25 PM
khunter said...
so cute!!!! I wish it were mine!!
5/2/10 3:45 PM
magoe6217 said...
Everything you make looks wonderful on you. Another highly successful project and finished in plenty of time to enjoy this summer.
5/2/10 4:02 PM
blue mooney said...
cool and classic!
5/2/10 4:30 PM
MNBarb said...
You can't miss with linen, and how smart of you to get dolled-up for the photo. The dress looks great on you, hand-fashioned rather than homemade. Thanks for the review. Even though the pattern is not longer in print the finished result is inspiring.
5/2/10 4:31 PM
marec said...
ooohhh, I have nothing but pattern lust now! That dress is perfect for you. Love the sleeve detail, and the D ring belt.
5/2/10 5:24 PM
Kim12469 said...
So cute! I just bought this pattern on ecrater a couple weeks ago. I'm so glad you reviewed it. It looks wonderful.
5/2/10 5:38 PM
LynnRowe said...
Sandra's tip would have been: press with hot iron *before* tossing into washer & dryer. Anyhoo, gorgeous dress, perfect for summer days!
5/2/10 5:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, smart but relaxed at the same time.
5/2/10 6:11 PM
sew2little said...
A wonderful dress for hot Valley days! Marci
5/2/10 6:30 PM
denese said...
Now that is a me dress Barbara perhaps if we google it we may find it, Can you lengthen it could one use a stretch jersey
5/2/10 7:38 PM
denese said...
ecrater a couple Kim mentioned this site re the patern i tried to google it but nothing cam up. ???
5/2/10 7:43 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the comments!....Ann and LynnRowe your correction is appreciated on the order of treating the linen. Next time I will do it in that order, in the meantime I'm searching for my notes taken in Sandra's class. denese, I found it....just type in this URL...www.ecrater.com and put in your search item. Also denese, sure, longer would be nice too. As to stretch jersey, probably not with the button holes. A more stable knit without much stretch, plus good interfacing down the front probably would work. Barbara
5/2/10 8:09 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I like the easy fit and I love the sleeves. It looks great on you. I always put vinegar in the wash water to set the color of new fabric. I don't know if it's an old wives' tale, but it seems to work for me.
5/2/10 11:10 PM
tess said...
Really lovely dress, the style and colour really suit you!
5/3/10 5:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
This dress is great, very chic and simple. Your alterations with the belt positioning turned out very well.
5/3/10 6:46 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is such a flattering style - looks great on you. I'm just disappointed that the pattern is OOP!
5/3/10 3:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress on you! I especially love the sleeves and that little peek of skin.
5/7/10 0:50 AM
sfshaza said...
Really cute dress, Barbara! It looks great on you! Yes, Ann and Lynn Rowe are right about Sandra's recommendations. If you look at any of the linens for sale on Marcy Tilton's site, she mentions this recommendation. However, a couple folks I know who have tried this tell me it makes no difference, so YMMV. Anyway, another winner!
5/11/10 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Simplicity 2767

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now