Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7847 (Very Easy Vogue Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 478 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/10 12:47 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Very cute dress. I love the color. I remember Sandra's comments also but I think she said to iron it with high heat first, before washing. Could that be right?
5/2/10 1:21 PM
neufy said...
I HAVE the pattern and was thinking about it a few days ago. Lovely!!! Will have to get on this.
5/2/10 1:37 PM
Christas said...
Very cute dress on you! I love how you accessorized it! I NEED your shoes and necklace. LOL!
5/2/10 3:25 PM
khunter said...
so cute!!!! I wish it were mine!!
5/2/10 3:45 PM
magoe6217 said...
Everything you make looks wonderful on you. Another highly successful project and finished in plenty of time to enjoy this summer.
5/2/10 4:02 PM
blue mooney said...
cool and classic!
5/2/10 4:30 PM
MNBarb said...
You can't miss with linen, and how smart of you to get dolled-up for the photo. The dress looks great on you, hand-fashioned rather than homemade. Thanks for the review. Even though the pattern is not longer in print the finished result is inspiring.
5/2/10 4:31 PM
marec said...
ooohhh, I have nothing but pattern lust now! That dress is perfect for you. Love the sleeve detail, and the D ring belt.
5/2/10 5:24 PM
Kim12469 said...
So cute! I just bought this pattern on ecrater a couple weeks ago. I'm so glad you reviewed it. It looks wonderful.
5/2/10 5:38 PM
LynnRowe said...
Sandra's tip would have been: press with hot iron *before* tossing into washer & dryer. Anyhoo, gorgeous dress, perfect for summer days!
5/2/10 5:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, smart but relaxed at the same time.
5/2/10 6:11 PM
sew2little said...
A wonderful dress for hot Valley days! Marci
5/2/10 6:30 PM
denese said...
Now that is a me dress Barbara perhaps if we google it we may find it, Can you lengthen it could one use a stretch jersey
5/2/10 7:38 PM
denese said...
ecrater a couple Kim mentioned this site re the patern i tried to google it but nothing cam up. ???
5/2/10 7:43 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the comments!....Ann and LynnRowe your correction is appreciated on the order of treating the linen. Next time I will do it in that order, in the meantime I'm searching for my notes taken in Sandra's class. denese, I found it....just type in this URL...www.ecrater.com and put in your search item. Also denese, sure, longer would be nice too. As to stretch jersey, probably not with the button holes. A more stable knit without much stretch, plus good interfacing down the front probably would work. Barbara
5/2/10 8:09 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I like the easy fit and I love the sleeves. It looks great on you. I always put vinegar in the wash water to set the color of new fabric. I don't know if it's an old wives' tale, but it seems to work for me.
5/2/10 11:10 PM
tess said...
Really lovely dress, the style and colour really suit you!
5/3/10 5:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
This dress is great, very chic and simple. Your alterations with the belt positioning turned out very well.
5/3/10 6:46 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is such a flattering style - looks great on you. I'm just disappointed that the pattern is OOP!
5/3/10 3:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress on you! I especially love the sleeves and that little peek of skin.
5/7/10 0:50 AM
sfshaza said...
Really cute dress, Barbara! It looks great on you! Yes, Ann and Lynn Rowe are right about Sandra's recommendations. If you look at any of the linens for sale on Marcy Tilton's site, she mentions this recommendation. However, a couple folks I know who have tried this tell me it makes no difference, so YMMV. Anyway, another winner!
5/11/10 2:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2008-108:Blouse Blouse
photo
Review by CatMukai on 3/20/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4760
photo
Review by smarttart on 9/26/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us