SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7847 (Very Easy Vogue Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 484 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/10 12:47 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sfshaza said...
Really cute dress, Barbara! It looks great on you! Yes, Ann and Lynn Rowe are right about Sandra's recommendations. If you look at any of the linens for sale on Marcy Tilton's site, she mentions this recommendation. However, a couple folks I know who have tried this tell me it makes no difference, so YMMV. Anyway, another winner!
5/11/10 2:44 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress on you! I especially love the sleeves and that little peek of skin.
5/7/10 0:50 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is such a flattering style - looks great on you. I'm just disappointed that the pattern is OOP!
5/3/10 3:35 PM
Rebecca D said...
This dress is great, very chic and simple. Your alterations with the belt positioning turned out very well.
5/3/10 6:46 AM
tess said...
Really lovely dress, the style and colour really suit you!
5/3/10 5:29 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. I like the easy fit and I love the sleeves. It looks great on you. I always put vinegar in the wash water to set the color of new fabric. I don't know if it's an old wives' tale, but it seems to work for me.
5/2/10 11:10 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the comments!....Ann and LynnRowe your correction is appreciated on the order of treating the linen. Next time I will do it in that order, in the meantime I'm searching for my notes taken in Sandra's class. denese, I found it....just type in this URL...www.ecrater.com and put in your search item. Also denese, sure, longer would be nice too. As to stretch jersey, probably not with the button holes. A more stable knit without much stretch, plus good interfacing down the front probably would work. Barbara
5/2/10 8:09 PM
denese said...
ecrater a couple Kim mentioned this site re the patern i tried to google it but nothing cam up. ???
5/2/10 7:43 PM
denese said...
Now that is a me dress Barbara perhaps if we google it we may find it, Can you lengthen it could one use a stretch jersey
5/2/10 7:38 PM
sew2little said...
A wonderful dress for hot Valley days! Marci
5/2/10 6:30 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, smart but relaxed at the same time.
5/2/10 6:11 PM
LynnRowe said...
Sandra's tip would have been: press with hot iron *before* tossing into washer & dryer. Anyhoo, gorgeous dress, perfect for summer days!
5/2/10 5:52 PM
Kim12469 said...
So cute! I just bought this pattern on ecrater a couple weeks ago. I'm so glad you reviewed it. It looks wonderful.
5/2/10 5:38 PM
marec said...
ooohhh, I have nothing but pattern lust now! That dress is perfect for you. Love the sleeve detail, and the D ring belt.
5/2/10 5:24 PM
MNBarb said...
You can't miss with linen, and how smart of you to get dolled-up for the photo. The dress looks great on you, hand-fashioned rather than homemade. Thanks for the review. Even though the pattern is not longer in print the finished result is inspiring.
5/2/10 4:31 PM
blue mooney said...
cool and classic!
5/2/10 4:30 PM
magoe6217 said...
Everything you make looks wonderful on you. Another highly successful project and finished in plenty of time to enjoy this summer.
5/2/10 4:02 PM
khunter said...
so cute!!!! I wish it were mine!!
5/2/10 3:45 PM
Christas said...
Very cute dress on you! I love how you accessorized it! I NEED your shoes and necklace. LOL!
5/2/10 3:25 PM
neufy said...
I HAVE the pattern and was thinking about it a few days ago. Lovely!!! Will have to get on this.
5/2/10 1:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very cute dress. I love the color. I remember Sandra's comments also but I think she said to iron it with high heat first, before washing. Could that be right?
5/2/10 1:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5519

photo
by: caper81

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1000

photo
by: cimmanon

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now